RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Pre-Flight(9 posts)

Pre-FlightSkip
Apr 24, 2001 8:19 PM
Just curious - How many preflight (check over) their bikes pre-ride, post-ride, or both?
re: Pre-FlightTonyBlair
Apr 25, 2001 12:57 AM
No need - if anything is gonna fail you will find out about it soon enough. Flatter tires are better for training too - more resistance.
Pre-Flight Checklist?Hap
Apr 25, 2001 6:09 AM
I think everybody does some "pre-flight" inspection. A better question might be how much pre-flight. For me, it is pretty much just a tire check and quick visual check for daily training rides. Longer weekenders get chain/derailler exam, brake check, wheel true check, plus quick check for loose parts. How about others?

Hap
re: Pre-Flight-shame on mejbrown2036
Apr 25, 2001 8:13 AM
I must confess that I do no pre-flight other than tire pressure and making sure my quick release levers are tight, but on the other hand I do a bike wash and inspection at least twice a week.

Not that I don't trust my bike, I'm just a geek:)
Squeeze the tires and light the fireCory
Apr 25, 2001 8:39 AM
That's pretty much it for me...if it worked when I got off it Saturday, I don't expect anything to go wrong in the garage by Sunday morning.
re: Pre-Flightsimstress
Apr 25, 2001 9:47 AM
Pump up tires, check QR, make sure brake QR's are closed, squeeze brakes. If nothing happened during the ride, I just rack the bike up.
I pre-flight an airplane like my life depended on it ...Humma Hah
Apr 25, 2001 1:56 PM
I'm a sight pre-flighting a Cessna 152 or 172 -- its practically a 100-hour inspection. I've made a study of all the bad things that can happen to a Cessna (subscribed to "Aviation Safety" and "General Aviation Airworthyness Alerts"). The planes I fly are rentals or Civil Air Patrol, flown by many people, and who knows what they've done to the poor, tired things.

I usually hop on the bike without a second thought. If something is amiss, I'll notice it and either stop immediately to fix it or make a mental note to correct it before riding again.
Airplanes are just differentDCP
Apr 25, 2001 7:47 PM
Apples to oranges. Very bad things can happen in the air with just one bad part. Not the case with a bike. I check air pressure, but its a performance and flatting thing, not a safety thing, at least not much. After all, who even bothers to check air pressure on a car but once in a while.
Your life does depend on it! (nm)Erik W
Apr 25, 2001 8:49 PM