RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How to STOP Siatic Nerve Pain in the back?(16 posts)

How to STOP Siatic Nerve Pain in the back?JDL
Apr 24, 2001 10:34 AM
How do I prevent Siatic Nerve Pain in the back. It seems to get worse when I ride? It was started when I bought a new bike, but now that I've irrated it, it won't go away even when I ride my old bike.

In the past it took 6 months to 1 year for the pain to go away by not riding. I can't afford to stop riding right now.

What can I do?

JDL
You, too. Pop some Alleve and go to a doctor. You may needbill
Apr 24, 2001 10:37 AM
something heavier. You've got to reduce the inflammation. Then worry about strengthening the area and correcting the lousy fit or whatever it is that caused the problem in the first place.
abdominal work and stretchingRoger
Apr 24, 2001 10:46 AM
you need to strengthen your trunk area to eliminate future pain. Plenty of proper streching will help to alleviate the pain. You may also want to begin stretching properly prior to riding, good luck. I went thru this about 5 years ago but not as a result of riding. Riding in fact helped it. The best advice is to see a doctor they'll give you close to the same thing we're all saying, but they'll also give you a list of simple type exercises, which at the time of doing them don't seem like much but really do help.

Good luck, I hope it goes away fast.
Can you explain siatic nerve pain?Groucho Marx
Apr 24, 2001 12:04 PM
Can you explain what siatic nerve problem is? and what it feels like. Sometimes when I do stretches for prolonged periods of time, I end up having sharp pains in my back when I try to straighten up. What does siatic nerve pain usually feel like? Is that due to siatic nerve? I've never had it happen while on the bike.
the so-called sciatic nerve is actually a bundle of nervesbill
Apr 24, 2001 12:16 PM
that pass from the trunk of your spinal cord down your lower extremities, one on each side (left and right; your LE being your legs, actually) through notches in your hipbones (one on each side) known as the sciatic notch. Because of the way the bundle passes through your anatomy and because of its significance as a bundle of important peripheral nerves, it is relatively exposed to irritation and transferred pain from muscular aches and spasm, although simple stress can set it off.
This is undoubtedly not entirely medically and anatomically accurate, but it is close enough for the likes of youse guys.
read this bookHank
Apr 24, 2001 1:56 PM
check out this book. I've been riding and racing (road and mtb) for 15 years but was off the bike for 2 years with awful back pain. Saw every doc, PT, chiropractor, etc., got the "lower disc" diagnosis, did all the exercises, have great stomach muscles, etc, nothing helped, I was ready to shoot myself and then found this book and it curd me in 2 WEEKS. No joke. Read through the reviews. Good luck.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0446392308

ps back racing and riding, no problems for the last two years since I read this book.
Amenmoneyman
Apr 24, 2001 2:08 PM
I posted a message almost identical to the one in question in January, 2000 and it must have been you who responded in the same way. I bought both of Sarno's books, and I am back in the saddle enjoying riding again. The surgeons DO NOT know it all!

$$
great!!!Hank
Apr 24, 2001 3:13 PM
I'm like a broken record with the Sarno books. Glad it helped. Keep spreading the word.
read this booknc
Apr 25, 2001 3:24 AM
What a load of rubbish. If it is so good, give briefly in a paragraph

an explanation of how it is supposed to work and end all pain.

Pain is a warning that you could be causing further

injury to your already imperfect lower back and many riders

do just that.

There is an instant and complete cure for even the worst cycling

related lower back pain. It is a complete change of pedalling

technique to that which was used by J Anquetil. Instead of placing

all the unavoidable or necessary strain in the lower back as the

normal pedalling does, it transfers all strain to the hips where

it can be safely absorbed. It is the constant strain that causes

the pain if your lower back is not in perfect condition to

withstand it and no book will ever change that.
read this bookmoneyman
Apr 25, 2001 7:02 AM
The pain in one's back is a result of the misplaced anger and rage that is going on in one's life/mind. You don't even have to know that it is there to have the pain, because it manifests itself in your back without your permission. Once you know about it, you can do something about it. There are tens of thousands of people who have discovered the truth of this through the Sarno books. This is not some kind of psychobabble, either. I can attest personally to the effectiveness of what he has written.

I have several friends who, in the last twelve months, have undergone surgery/epidurals/physical therapy for back/sciatic pain. The last was my sister, who spent six hours in surgery while the surgeon took part of her hip to fill in the holes of artificial titanium disks, which were to replace the "degenerative" disks that were supposed to be causing all the pain. I'll bet you $100 today that her pain is back in six months. Only half of back surgeries work. And to a person, all the others I mentioned are facing additional surgeries/epidurals.

I sat in a disability hearing last Thursday as a hearing officer, taking testimony from a 56 year old woman in a neck brace with a left arm that was shaking constantly, in chronic pain, unable to, in her own words, even cut up her own steak. She has had three surgeries conducted by a neurosurgeon. We had to award her a full disability. I'll bet another $100 that she is back with a different surgeon scheduling another surgery within the year.

I understand the intense amount of pain that comes from these things, as I suffered from it for the better part of six months. I tried everything short of the epidurals and surgery. I was, however, scheduled to have the epidural and was quite willing to go to surgery to relieve the pain. I took the steroid dosepak and flexoril to relax the muscles. All it did was give me diahhrea and make me goofy. Finally went to an accupuncturist and had six treatments, which allowed me to ride again. But it wasn't the accupuncture that did it. I was finally ready to deal with the anger confronting me that took care of it.

I know it sounds like rubbish, but the cost of the cure using Sarnos methods is about $30 for two books. What is the cost of surgery and epidurals, both in dollars and in associated physical maladies? I think anyone with back pain owes it to themselves to try the Sarno method.

I respectfully disagree with your thesis. You should read the Sarno books and see for yourself.

$$
well said (nm)Hank
Apr 25, 2001 2:37 PM
nm
J AnquetilHank
Apr 25, 2001 2:42 PM
J Anquetil is cool and all, and there are lots of ways to avoid pain and injury on the bike through proper setup, but severe chronic pain is a whole other deal. I am an experienced rider with very good technique (have been riding and racing for 15 years) -- my back pain (now gone) had nothing to do with form, fit or posture.
J Anquetilnc
Apr 26, 2001 3:21 AM
I am referring to cycling related lower back pain only. If a rider
who was forced out of the sport by this severe cumulative pain when
riding the bike but who could walk pain free, came to me, I could
guarantee that by explaining the objective and demonstrating the
technique (free of charge), this rider would be pedalling completely
pain free before he left for home. Could you guarantee the same
results. If not, you are supporting those who cash in on the suffering
of others.
Very complicated issue, I speak from experience.J.S.
Apr 24, 2001 2:08 PM
Firstly you need to be diagnosed correctly so before you do anything see a doctor, a real doctor, not a chiropractor. Back pain can stem from a myriad of problems and a clear diagnosis is where to start. I battled true sciatic nerve problems for over a year and it wasn't until I literally threatened my HMO doctor with violence that I recieved an MRI, was diagnosed with a degenerated disc. I recieved two Cortisone epiderals and the problem was solved, for now, time will tell for how long.
Similar diagnosis for me.E3
Apr 25, 2001 5:39 AM
I've had moderate lower back pain for 12 years, but last year it worsened considerably. I had an MRI that was read as "normal" and was prescribed Vioxx, which was like a miracle drug. I rode more miles last year than ever before.

However, last fall my back felt lousier than ever and has only worsened since. I can't stand more than an hour at a time on my upright bike, so I'm relegated to my recumbent. Another doctor reviewed my MRI and x-rays and diagnosed damaged lower discs. He has scheduled me for the epidurals. It's encouraging news that this worked for you, as I fear that my "gonzo" riding days are over and that I'll spend the rest of my life on a recumbent.
Be careful, it happened to me.SLM
Apr 25, 2001 6:59 AM
Back in '92, I thought I had hurt my leg because of shooting pain down it. My PCP said I probably pinched a nerve, and to just take it easy for a while. The Doc did not want to do a MRI because of HMO and costs. Well I thought this meant I pinched a nerve in my leg and should stop running (due to the impact) but I continued to ride and lift weights. Within a month my toes were virtually paralyzed. I had an emergency surgery on two ruptured discs that were squeezing some spinal nerves. Long story short: Neurosurgeon said he did his best, but there was a lot of nerve damage. Today I take all sorts of meds, been diagnosed with "arachnoiditis" - (look it up!) and still have loss of muscle function in my legs and feet. Next step is a possible spinal cord stimulator implant. So... Be careful.