RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


lights requirements for 300 qualified brevet??(9 posts)

lights requirements for 300 qualified brevet??cyclopathic
Apr 23, 2001 10:39 AM
checked the list and my gosh you have to dress up like a Xmass tree!
any "low budget" solutions?
Which one are you doing?Cartman
Apr 23, 2001 2:18 PM
I'm planning on doing the Boston series. I've got an illuminite vest, and one tail light to start. I'm planning on getting another couple tail lights, and I'm going to look into a hub generator for the front lights. Hopefully that will be enough.
Re: Which one are you doing?cyclopathic
Apr 23, 2001 5:33 PM
PPTC Wash DC area on May 5th

I have checked list and it calls for reflectors /excuse me!/, and all kind of back ups (2 spare bulbs, etc).
Not really THAT bad ...Humma Hah
Apr 23, 2001 2:40 PM
... I don't believe you absolutely need the lights for a 300k if you are sure you can finish during daylight (faster riders should be able to do this). You do need a high-visibility vest, but that's not expensive.

I believe the requirements, if you will need lights, are a light with a couple of spare bulbs, or two lights and at least one spare bulb, but not much said about the power required. I believe my little $18 6W Serfas, which will run a couple of hours on 4 AA alkalines, would be acceptable, although you would probably want better. I'd go for a nice light with some serious capacity, like maybe a NightRider, with two spare bulbs.

It looks like an LED taillight is acceptable, but it must have a steady setting so you don't annoy anyone riding behind you if you paceline. Most LED taillights have a steady setting.
re: daylightcyclopathic
Apr 23, 2001 6:12 PM
Sure there're guys who can ride double century in 10hrs

I finished 200k under 9hrs total (7:30 riding time), so 14hrs look real for me and hey this is daylight (6am-8pm).

I more worry about "inspection". I dont know how formal they gonna be checking lights (2 back ups for head/tail light, common!). No one checked my bike, so I could drop a diff engine, they wouldn't care..

btw it was 200km from Warrenton /I think you posted you wanna ride it next year/. I still have the map/directions, so if when you back to area give me a call I am a game.

The whole thing was much more fun then I thought it would.
I lost and walked a couple climbs.
Those suckers were vertical or they seemed so @ ~95mi on with 39/23 granny gear cramping legs and blown knees.
It took me ~2hrs for last 20mi, and they weren't bad miles.
I had a pipe dream of picking cell phone (conveniently left in car) and getting a taxi.

There was a guy who did it on single speed (dont know what gearing he had, probably 2:1) and another one on fixed gear, running 40/16.
I've talked to the fixie that ran itHumma Hah
Apr 24, 2001 12:29 PM
... he posted in the MTBReview Singlespeed forum. Randoneering is a very traditional cycling event. I gather it started on fixies, probably on dirt roads, explaining the fact that the time allowances are so generous even my cruiser could handle the shorter formats.

I looked up the route description for the 200k out of Warrenton. Goes down to Madison, if I recall, and has four challenging hills in a row near the end, with about 6900 ft of climbing overall. I've ridden more than 200 km in a day before, but never with that much climbing. I rode 104.4 mi with 5900 ft of climbing a little over a month ago (had to push a few hills, myself) but a 200 k with 6900 ft would probably be the most challenging ride of my life, close to my endurance on the cruiser.
re: randoneeringcyclopathic
Apr 25, 2001 3:24 AM
not sure that's how it started
time looks pretty generous if there weren't as much climbing.

I've done century solo in minutes above 5hr (it's pretty flat around here).
on War brevet I came ~ 1hr after first finishers, about 1hr before fixie, was in first wave on last check point.

what kills you is not the climbing (some of those rollers I made in big ring) and I know that I would climb all if fresh.
they steep, some of them longish and come so late. you need all your fitness and concentration to make it. 39/23 was not enough to make it sitting and my legs were cramping if I stood up for more then 1-2min.

I am posting the detail route. if you attempt doing it on cruser, try first the part from mile 68 (72.5?) to 96 that was the worse I recall good luck.

Not really THAT bad ...ixiz
Apr 24, 2001 5:06 AM
Im planning to ride the GRR
http://davisbikeclub.org/goldrush/default.htm

I completed last year brevet series and completed BMB 1200 (my first time) Our series here in GA and SC would require an average rider to carry lights for the 300km because the start times are predawn (6am) and because the terrain we have selected is somewhat hilly
www.geocities.com/garandon - georgia randonneurs (now Audax Atlanta) and it also links to my website www.geocities.com/goixiz

Our 400km starts this saturday at 6am and it has over 17000 ft of elevation gain, there fore several sets of batteries will be required and the final downhill will be in the dark so a minimum 5w would be safe.
re: lights requirements for 300 qualified brevet??Spoke Wrench
Apr 24, 2001 7:23 AM
I asked that question to a couple of customers who did Paris-Brest-Paris the last time around.

They said that most riders alternate between two headlight systems. A low powered one with replaceable batteries that they use on the uphill sections, and a higher powered one, with rechargable batteries for use on the faster, downhill sections. The high powered systems don't have enough "burn" time to last all night.