RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is anyone else addicted...(12 posts)

Is anyone else addicted...Bob in Indiana
Apr 21, 2001 6:42 PM
I just recently found this site...hmmm let's see, immediate answers to what I thought were difficult questions, great info if you choose to read a bunch of inquiries, and even some (sometimes decent) humor if you dig deep enough...no wonder my wife now thinks I've decided to look at online "girlie pics"...

Has this happened to anyone else?

P.S. LOVE the site, hope I can contribute someday!
Yes.E3
Apr 21, 2001 7:09 PM
I've definitely learned plenty from frequenting this board. I recently built up a frame for the first time and utilized good advice from others here. It's a fun, informative place where the decent folks far outnumber the hotheads and idiots.

I spend enough time here that my wife would probably rather that I surf porn!
Yes.AD14
Apr 22, 2001 4:54 AM
No question. It is compounded by the fact that I have had some stomach problems that have allowed me only three rides this year. In addition to postponing a new bike purchase I have logged on six or seven times a day while so many of you have been riding. At least it sounds like a good reason to my wife, who has some trouble understanding how good cycling makes me feel.
Posibly, lets ask to all: how many times a day do you logon?Bruno S
Apr 21, 2001 7:11 PM
I believe during a workday where I have internet access at work and then at my home, I must logon about 4-6 times a day.
Posibly, lets ask to all: how many times a day do you logon?LLSmith
Apr 22, 2001 2:01 AM
I probably visit the site an average of 2.5 times per day. Have picked up some great information here. Larry Smith
re: Is anyone else addicted...STEELYeyed
Apr 22, 2001 7:33 AM
I just started road riding last year,I get most of my info from online sites there are not many road cyclists in North Central Iowa,but we have miles of paved county roads that lead to small bedroom communities that have small retired populations. The roads are very lightly travled,I have ridden hundreds of country miles without seeing another cyclist for days. This site has been a Godsend for me I log on 5 or 6 times daily,thanks to everyone that has answered questions and solved problems, my opinion of roadies has definitly changed,I'll do my best to portray cyclists in a good light,for I am one.
STEELYeyed
Many of us may not want to ADMIT it, but...boy nigel
Apr 22, 2001 7:45 AM
I think it's pretty safe to say that a good deal of us RBRers are, to a degree, "addicted." :)

I'm on the boards several times during the day, reading and replying here and there. Kind group of folks for the most part, and we've got everything from experienced racers to fierce "recreational" riders to brand-newbies (who often post as such). Many good questions, and a mix of answers to choose from. Plus, the product review section can be big-time helpful.

My wife questioned my Web-surfing at home (with sort of a wink and a nudge), but she's seen me on the board for chunks of time at a sitting, and I've shown her what the board's about. She now understands that there's a lot going on here and a lot to check out. She's happy that I'm happy, and appreciates my "addictions."

Welcome aboard, Bob in Indiana.
Nigel
yep!4bykn
Apr 22, 2001 9:04 AM
I work second shift, so have all day to log on, and I do so probably twice a day. You CAN contribute, a lot of the questions are opinion-based, and everybody has an opinion. This is a very useful site, I've made some friends here and learned a thing or two. Call me "Mike in Illinois".
Yep...Dinosaur
Apr 22, 2001 3:56 PM
Yes, I'm addicted. I'm retired, when it rains and I can't ride, I spend a lot of time on the internet. This is my favorite site. If they keep on pumping out game shows on T.V. such as "The Weakest Link", I'll probably spend even more time. At least when I type, or read, I am using a few brain cells.
A lot of good information here, sometimes it can get confusing, but at least we agree on one thing, we all love riding. I have met a lot of imformative folks here, I'm glad to say I'm at the point in life where I found out I really don't know anything....
im recoveringjohn de
Apr 22, 2001 5:20 PM
the flame doesnt burn so bright for me anymore...i come every other day or so though, where else is there to go..i do the email, play chess, rub one out and then im done...now the porn thats another problem but the woman will return soon...ill bet you didnt want to know so much..
oh yeahfuzzybunnies
Apr 22, 2001 6:22 PM
I show up atleast twice a day during the winter and try to appear once a day during the summer but once the weather gets nice I just gotta get out and do something other than stare at a computer screen. TTFN
re: Is anyone else addicted...James
Apr 23, 2001 11:23 AM
IT IS THE HIGHLIGHT OF MY EVENING, JUST TO SIT AND LOOK. I'VE LEARNED ALOT FROM THIS SITE. I SWEAR I WAS ALITTLE GRUMPY AT NIGHT WHEN THE SITE WAS DOWN FOR ME(LAST FEW DAYS)

THANKS FOR EVERYONE'S HELP AND ADVICE!!!!