RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


LeMond, C'dale.. Which bike for a new road rider??(12 posts)

LeMond, C'dale.. Which bike for a new road rider??notes_clp
Apr 20, 2001 12:32 PM
I am looking to trade in my knobby tires for some slick road tires and I need some help on my bike choice. Looking to do just basic road ridding for fitness and club rides, no racing in my immediate future. Price range is $1300 +/-, so far I have ridden a C'dale R400 with a carbon fiber fork (it was a special model 400 that come with the carbon fork) and cad 3 frame and was surprised at the roughness of the ride. From the research I have done it appears that is to be expected with a aluminum frame. I have been told that the cad 4 frame found on the R600 should ride better, any comment on that? As I have been told a steel frame should ride better I am also looking at a LeMond Buenos Aires any comment on that bike? Lastly how about up keep of these two bikes, I will be storing my bike in an outside storage building, due to the possibility of rust should I stay away from a steel frame?

Thanks for any input.
Thought about mail order?pmf
Apr 20, 2001 12:42 PM
The Fuji Team that Colorado Cyclist sells is an awesome deal. A friend of mine got one and is real pleased. Mucho better deal than the Cdale or Lemond you're looking at. Do they have full Ultegra, pedals, fancy wheels and a carbon fork? The Fuji does.

No, steel bikes are not going to rust on you. Don't worry about that.
Thought about mail order?markedman
Apr 20, 2001 1:01 PM
Yea, I concur. I checked out that deal and had correspondence with buyers of that package. Apparently, that package rides real good for AL. Hell, that Ultegra group would cost you $900 in most places. This is a great bike for a new roadie..especially one that has prior experience in the dirt. I think the weight is something like 18lbs. My recommendation is DON"T buy Cannondale..for many reasons. You found one reason..they ride like *hit. Even the CAAD4's ( I'll tick off someone with that ).

Myself? I opted for a Dedi zero uno custom steel frame with a Campi Daytona grupo. Total cost $1700 with Time fork. I came in a little over 18lbs, but it'll be bombproof! I decided that the Fuji would be a throw away frame after a couple years. But the Ultegra stuff is always usable on your next frame!

One note: because of the way Fuji measures their frames, you have to buy one size bigger. They measure to top of seatpost for some reason. Colocyc will guide u through this.
Thought about mail order?pmf
Apr 20, 2001 1:10 PM
I disagree that its a "throw away frame". It'll probably handle more abuse than most people here can dish out. I don't think there is any reason to suspect that it will not be functional for years and years.
Thought about mail order?markedman
Apr 20, 2001 2:20 PM
Yea, maybe you're right. Just a gut feeling on my part, and the fact that I don't trust Fuji because of bad press they got a couple years ago..frames falling apart. Compliance/stiffness is a good mix on this frame/fork combo by all accounts. It's a rockin deal for $1400 complete.

One complaint I heard is the paint job is the cheapest looking and least resilient possible. It's been reported to look gainy and actually flake off! But if you were looking for something that looked sexy, you wouldn't be buying a Fuji, would you?
Thought about mail order?JohnG
Apr 21, 2001 7:36 AM
Actually, my Caad5 rides VERY nice.... slightly livelier than my 853 custom but not harsh (or $hit) like my old Dale. I was a big Dale basher until I got a test ride on this new frame.... blew me away! I also test rode an OCLV at the same time and that frame was definitely smoother.... albeit a bit less lively/responsive. Depending on your weight and preference the new Dales can be a good ride. I.e. I would tend to recommend that lightweight ( <140# ) riders avoid the Dale.

I will agree that the Dale factory bikes are NOT a good buy. I built mine from a bare frame with Record/Chorus and high end components. Very nice bike and the total price was quite good ( <$2300 ). Shop smart and you can build a very good bike for a good price.

Not ticked off
JohnG
re: LeMond, C'dale.. Which bike for a new road rider??LBS Guy
Apr 20, 2001 7:00 PM
I own a C-dale R800 with a caad4 frame, obviously pmf has never ridden one because they handle alot better, the older c-dale were harsh but this is nothing like them, i've owned plenty of steel bikes, and none have ridden as well as the caad4 frame. And again yes steel rusting is something you will have to worry about again something pmf doesn't know very much about. If you want a long lasting, very compliant yet very stiff frame, go with the c-dale they've made many improvements which have turned the bike around from riding like a brick. Plus lifetime warranty on frame, and its made in the US, not off in Korea or China. Later man, hope this helps
P.S. yeah pmf you did piss somebody off with that caad4 comment especailly since not a bit of it was true, later keep on riding.
And remember its not the bikes fault that you can't ride worth a sh*t
Same boatDCP
Apr 21, 2001 8:24 AM
I was exactly where you are in December. I bought the LeMond BA (2000) over the Dale primarily to get steel, but I liked the handling of the Dale slightly better and I think its lighter too. Having gone from a steel MTB to an AL MTB not too long ago, I didn't really want an AL road bike. I suspect that the AL road bikes probably handle the vibration problems better than the MTB's where it doesn't matter much and so I would suppose little design time is put into reducing it. Steel is great, but at your price point, it is heavier. I think my BA is about 20 lbs without the pedals (isn't is amazing how many LBS scales are broken when you ask a salesperson to weight the bike you are looking at?)

The group issue is problematic. You'll find a lot of "you gotta get at least Ultega." 105 has the same features and (I'll bet) is equally functional and durable for a 1/2 lb. penalty. What is Ultega worth? You have to decide. Personally, I wish I had bought Campy, not because its better but because of the blasted shifter rattle, which may have been solved, or at least reduced, with the 2001 models.

The 2000 BA frame differs from the 2001, but for what its worth, I like mine quite a bit.

I stored my steel MTB in the garage for years. It started rusting at the top tube and seat tube weld, but nowhere else. I don't think that came from the storage, but instead from sweat. I am now fairly careful to wipe down my BA prior to putting in away.
Cannodale CAD4+ rides like a dream...DG
Apr 21, 2001 11:28 AM
gvhbikes.com has great deals on cannondales with Campy daytona and no CODA parts. I bought mine from him and am very satisfied. He has some great deals on Italian steel bikes too. If you aren't into racing, I would suggest that you consider a steel bike. The weight-penalty shouldn't be an issue if it's going to be used mostly for training. Steel bikes will last longer too. Coming from full-suspension MTB background, you may appreciate steel's plush ride.

Goodluck!
re: LeMond, C'dale.. Which bike for a new road rider??BrianU
Apr 21, 2001 12:35 PM
After 12 years of mountain biking, I discovered that I actually enjoyed long rides through the country side on my old Cannondale SR800. Being able to just walk out the front door of my house and take off in any direction was a pleasant change to having to drive to the same old local trails. Anyway, it didn't take long to decide that I should get a new road bike. I test rode a 2000 Cannondale R1000 which had the cad 4 frame and was really surprised. I'm sure some people consider it a rough ride, but it sure felt sweet compared to my SR800. However, especially considering Cannondale uses alot of in-house parts, they are pricey. I also checked out Trek, GT, Giant and Lemond. I did not consider mailorder because one of my complaints with my old Cannondale was that I felt that it didn't fit right, so I wanted to make sure my next bike felt good before I took it home. I ended up with a 2001 Lemond Buenos Aires. Lemond's geometry felt spot on for me, something you definately want to consider because Cannondales and Lemonds do have different angles and fit entirely different. I also have a soft spot for a fine steel frame, my first real mountain bike being a steel Specialized Stumpjumper. I never had problems with rust on my Stumpjumper, so I did not even consider that when I bought the Lemond. As far as 105 versus Ultegra, I personally have no experience with Ultegra, but the guys at the bikeshop were impressed with how well it functioned. They said that for what I planned on doing with the bike, which sounds similar to your needs, I would be perfectly happy with the 105 group. If I had the money, I probably would have bought the Zurich, but I was digging real deep into my pocket as it was and I just couldn't justify the additional $450. I bought my bike last fall and last week while shopping around with a friend whose looking for a new bike, I noticed some minor changes on the Buenos Aires in the shops. The shifters are slightly different and it looks like the rattling that others mentioned should not be an issue anymore. One more thing, you might want to hold on to that mountain bike. I found that alternating the mountain biking and road riding keeps both more fun. All those miles on my road bike has also made me a whole lot faster on my mountain bike. I hope this helps. Good luck and let us know what you decide.
I prefer the LeMondAndy
Apr 21, 2001 8:24 PM
I owned a 2000 LeMond Buenos Aires triple for ten months and it rode like a dream. I test rode several alum bikes and none of them rode as well as the LeMond. The only reason I sold it was because I upgraded to a higher quality racing bike.

I was a little concerned about rust so I treated the inside of the frame with a product called FRAME SAVER. It's supposed to prevent the unpainted parts of the frame (inside) from rusting. Later I found out there was an even better anti-rust product than FRAME SAVER. I don't remember what it was called but I read about it on this web site. I think it was in a mtn bike discussion.
re: LeMond, C'dale.. Which bike for a new road rider??egw
Apr 21, 2001 9:37 PM
One of the benefits, or distractions, of ending your request with "Thanks for any input," is that you are likely to get any. I recently went through the same process that you are dealing with. Go to bed determined to get aluminum, wake up thinking steel. Go into your lbs and notice everyone test riding Cannondales, walk outside and see everyone riding up on their Bianchis. I ended up getting a Bianchi Veloce because I liked the stability of the campy brakes while shifting. I'm not stressed about ounces and feel that I have a comfortable bike that will last a long time. I just noticed that the mail order shop Supergo (supergo.com) has a KHS flite 800 for $1200. It has a light weight steel frame with lots of high end parts. Read the reviews on this bike and you might consider this over the Lemond.