RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How many miles yet this year?(31 posts)

How many miles yet this year?peloton
Apr 19, 2001 4:30 PM
How far have you ridden so far? Just curious as to how much everyone rides.
1051, only ride on Sat and SunBruno S
Apr 19, 2001 4:46 PM
Should be better soon. With better weather and more daylight I will start riding during the week as well.
Around 1200 as of last weekend,Humma Hah
Apr 19, 2001 6:22 PM
.... about 900 on the cruiser (and two centuries), 300 on the MTB. I've averaged 70.2 miles per week since January 1, higher than my target set at the start of the year.

I know most of you do twice that much or more, but I got a head start on a lot of you due to the nice weather here.
April's weather has been tough in San Diego...Bruno S
Apr 20, 2001 5:36 PM
tomorrow could be the second time this month the club ride gets cancelled due to rain. Why does it always have to rain on Saturdays?
What wimps ...Humma Hah
Apr 20, 2001 6:22 PM
... Its supposed to rain maybe from midnight to 6AM, then taper off til about noon. I'll be putting the bike in the back of the truck around 10 AM, taking the truck to the shop for new tires, and from there taking the bike on a nice ride, rain or shine.

And Sunday I'll ride the wheels off of it, my last full riding weekend in San Diego before moving back to Virginia, where I'll rediscover what "rain" means.

Go RIDE! Worst case, you have to dodge a few showers!
2000SimpleGreen
Apr 19, 2001 8:08 PM
Crossed 2000 just a few days ago. This is about normal for me. I tend to ride about 6000 miles per year. Riding is fun :)!

Just ordered a pair of Giordana shorts to keep my bum comfy. Ok, time to get lost in the neighborhood.
1309 as of this AM (nm)zelig
Apr 20, 2001 12:35 AM
~3400 so farDuane Gran
Apr 20, 2001 3:47 AM
I'm a little surprised, but the weather has permitted me to ride about 200+ miles a week mid January. My goal is to ride 8-9k this year.
About 840 milesHoward
Apr 20, 2001 4:58 AM
Weather here in Baltimore has not been all that inducive to riding this year. Hope to log at least 4000 miles this year.
re: How many miles yet this year?DCP
Apr 20, 2001 5:27 AM
1100. Work too much to do much more.
847 so far, 3000 goal, not incl. trainer time (nm)Haiku d'état
Apr 20, 2001 5:57 AM
nm
Less than 100.milsk8
Apr 20, 2001 6:48 AM
I've ridden less than 100, and I'm supposed to do a team time trial next weekend.
1397 as of this AM(nm)Dave Hickey
Apr 20, 2001 6:51 AM
nm
505 road 280 MTB 250 trainerRick S
Apr 20, 2001 8:39 AM
The season never really ends in the Seattle area. Lots of organized rides from April on, so I expect to significantly increase my road miles in the next few months.
800 plusPaulCL
Apr 20, 2001 8:43 AM
Lousy weather, a week's vacation, and more lousy weather has kept me indoors this year. This number will ramp up dramatically since I am doing a century the weekend of May 5th and one the next weekend. My goal is to do 3500-4000 this year.
200 mi. tbese past couple of weeks.Brian C.
Apr 20, 2001 8:44 AM
Last November's snow didn't completely melt till tne end of March. Now, the sunrises are earlier and there's more time in the mornings to go a bit farther afield.
re: How many miles yet this year?ScottV
Apr 20, 2001 9:53 AM
I don't ride no stinking miles ;). We use km. I've only done 600km this year due to the crappy weather we go in the spring (Dam snow). Should ramp up quickly now that it's nice out.

That doe's not include spinning all winter and working out on my fluid trainer.
re: How many miles yet this year?Cliff Oates
Apr 20, 2001 1:25 PM
1450 so far, with 2 centuries rained out. I have centuries planned for each of the next 5 weekends, add 65-100 miles of commute each week to the mix, and the miles will be piling up quickly enough.
2353 mi since january 7-2001 (nm)dash
Apr 20, 2001 2:59 PM
I'll have over 400 by the end of the weekendlook271
Apr 20, 2001 3:37 PM
Not including trainer time. Weather around here has been less than conducive to riding-rode home from work last night and it was only about 30f and this is mid April!
Ride log says 452 right now. Should be 520+/- by Monday.shmoo
Apr 20, 2001 5:20 PM
Slow start this year. Way off pace for my goal of 3500 miles for the year, but still doable. I'm sure I don't have 100 miles on the trainer (I hate that thing).
2,038 as of this afternoon!DT
Apr 20, 2001 5:33 PM
...but it will go down drastically now since I started USAF pilot training last week...12+ hour days, plus studying at home after that! Gotta show those Navy pilots how to avoid the chinese! :o)
+/- 600...Geez, now I really feel like a slacker!Timmer
Apr 20, 2001 6:20 PM
but in my defense...winter in CT was pretty brutal, and it's just starting to lift now, so hopefully that number will increase drastically. Now I just wish they would sweep up all the f#$%*@^ sand they threw all over the roads this winter!

Tim
1520 miles during 2001ARod
Apr 21, 2001 3:46 AM
I live in the southwestern part of New Mexico and have been riding at least 3 days per week since January 1, 2001. My total mileage for this year is 1520 miles. I will be leaving for Tucson, Arizona this morning to take part in the Tucson Tour of the Mountain metric century tomorrow morning.
re: How many miles yet this year?Cartman
Apr 21, 2001 5:35 AM
446. I know that it is not a lot for a yearly total, but here in Northern MA, the roads have been terrible. In my defense, acording to my log book, I gave up with the spin classes (about 50 this winter) and I started riding exclusively on April 9. I only got out for 2 or three club rides this winter due to the sh*&$y roads. Spinn class made a big difference in my abilities this spring. I think my shortest ride has been 32 miles, and I feel really strong going up the hills. Post this question again in a month or two...I should be way over 1000
re: How many miles yet this year?DERICK
Apr 21, 2001 8:37 AM
1156 miles on the road plus another 300 or so on the mountain bike.
1400 on the road since the end of january after the docmondo mike
Apr 21, 2001 3:41 PM
said i could ride again after breaking my collarbone, and 600 on
my mountain bike, and my hours on my track bike
Take your time, we should be getting back to work anywayJim A
Apr 20, 2001 6:02 AM
Buy the way, nice job your doing for us here on roadbikereview. Thanks for [viewall]. I'm sure you weren't pressured into it, and did it because it was the right and just thing to do. With viewall, I can now goof-off more efficiently and spend more time at my job!
a side note...Kristin
Apr 20, 2001 9:44 AM
Gregg,

Do you know what might have changed early last week that would cause my load times to increase so drastically. It takes 30-60 seconds to load any page on consumerreview.com. Roadbikereview.com is fine. I checked with my guys and no "improvements" were made to our firewall or topo. It's definately a wholesite issue--affecting everyone behind my firewall visiting Consumerreviews' site. Any ideas???

Reading is difficult and posting painful (then again, so are some of the replies :)

Thanks!
Kristin
My Jonada's fine...Kristin
Apr 20, 2001 11:50 AM
Gregg,

Thanks for the quick response. Funny, but my HP Jornada works fine. I just got the network card working and I'm posting on it now. Same firewall--must be a client thing.

Thanks again, you're awesome!
Kristin
re: RoadbikeREVIEW down for some, MTBR down for most...DrD
Apr 20, 2001 1:46 PM
I think most people can get here if they use the actual address (64.124.36.89) rather than the domain name... at least that works for me...