RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Sidi Energy SDS shoes - opinions wanted(8 posts)

Sidi Energy SDS shoes - opinions wantedcgary
Apr 18, 2001 3:28 PM
Greetings,

It's time for a new pair of road shoes, and I've been considering the Sidi G3s. They seem to be well regarded here. The Sidi Energys aren't a whole lot more expensive, but they haven't been reviewed by anyone on this site. Any opinions would be greatly appreciated (ie. do the twisty-fishing-line buckles really work, and is the adjustable-stiffness sole just a gimmick).

thanks.
-craig
re: Sidi Energy SDS shoes - opinions wantedLazy
Apr 18, 2001 7:43 PM
The twisty fishing line buckles do work, they're pretty neat in fact. As for the sole, I couldn't tell you all that much about it as I haven't experimented with it much. Very nice shoes, and the fact that you can replace just about every single part on them is cool. I love 'em.
re: Sidi Energy SDS shoes - opinions wanteddustin
Apr 18, 2001 8:50 PM
i got a pair of MTB shoes about a week ago. i was considering the SIDI's and the Specialized Pro Mtn, but when i tried on SIDI, i didn't like how narrow they were. well, when compared to the Specialized. i don't know if the road shoes are like this, though...
re: Sidi Energy SDS shoes - opinions wantedGW Rider
Apr 19, 2001 5:38 AM
I love my SIDIs. I have very narrow feet so the SIDIs seem like a nature choice. They are a little big in the heel and across the midsection but I'm assuming that they will conform to my feet the more that I use them.

Very stiff yet comfortable and I like the fact that the heel pad is replaceable, well most of the shoe is replaceable.

Keep the shiny side up and the dirty side down.
re: Sidi Energy SDS shoes - opinions wantedgunter kampitsch
Apr 19, 2001 5:55 AM
I have this shoes for 3 month. I like it very much. I see no difference with the variable stiffness sole. The shoes fit very good. I would get them.
re: Sidi Energy SDS shoes - opinions wantedJava
Apr 19, 2001 9:33 AM
I've enjoyed mine through a full season now. Great microadjustability, quite stiff, not too sure if the sole stiffener really does anything though (I've tried it both ways and haven't noticed any difference) unless you're a powerful sprinter. That said, I'm finding that these shoes don't stretch like my Sidi mtb shoes did, which would have been a good thing except that I was anticipating some stretch and it didn't happen, so I now find myself with a shoe that is a half size too small. Nothing I can't live with, but somewhat annoying nonetheless. Luckily for me, they fit my wife perfectly. ;)

So I'm looking at new shoes too and from what I've heard, if you're into racing (or love high performance) you might want to consider going with a carbon-soled shoe such as Shimano or Northwave (carbon sole purchased separately). Apparently more and more of the mtb racers are using carbon-soled road shoes on non-technical race courses (those which are rideable throughout) FWIW.
Check the new Nike PoggioJ.S.
Apr 20, 2001 7:31 AM
A very cool shoe with a carbon sole and extremely light.
re: Sidi Energy SDS shoes - opinions wantedIan
Apr 21, 2001 2:22 PM
Great shoes. The "fishing line buckles" really help dial in the fit. I never knew a shoe could be so comfortable until I tried Sidi. I would highly recommend them.