RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


This might be ridiculous, but...(15 posts)

This might be ridiculous, but...BikerDrew
Apr 17, 2001 7:11 AM
...If I keep my '98 Lemond Zurich (Ultegra grouppo) in the same room as my brother's drum set, is it possible that the vibrations from the drums could cause the various fasteners on the bike (derailure & brake aadjustment screw, etc...) to loosen? Since I began keeping the bike in that room, I've noticed that both sifting and braking has been negativly effected, but this could be caused by the age of the componantry. Any thoughts?

Thanks a lot,
-Drew
either ridiculous or scaryDog
Apr 17, 2001 7:29 AM
The bike has to tolerate extreme vibrations and jolts on just an ordinary 30 mile ride; I would think many magnitudes more in amplitude and length than sitting in a room with a drummer.

If your screws are loosening from being around the drums, I'd hate to think what would happen on the road.

Just a guess, but I doubt there is any connection. Maybe one of our resident engineers can chime in.

Doug
He doesn't need an Engineer, he needs an Exorcist.(nm)WCC
Apr 17, 2001 11:44 AM
nm
DangerousHap
Apr 17, 2001 7:36 AM
I wouldn't recommend keeping your bike in the same room with a drummer as drummers are known to have a propensity for spontaneous combustion. If you must, then see thread bellow on insurance.

;)Hap
lol...too true. nmBikerDrew
Apr 17, 2001 5:40 PM
re: This might be ridiculous, but...Pulver
Apr 17, 2001 8:00 AM
You might be on to something here BikerDrew. Might I suggest that the bike be moved to a room where there is light classical music playing, the lights are slightly dimmed and in the afternoon you could serve up Earl Gray Tea. Then you would be assured that your various fasteners aren't coming lose.
LOL (nm)Haiku d'état
Apr 17, 2001 9:32 AM
nm
re: This might be ridiculous, but...NumbNuts
Apr 17, 2001 9:17 AM
That's not at all ridiculous BikerDrew. We live in an area of very heavy traffic and the fasteners on my bike loosen up if we don't keep the windows closed.
re: This might be ridiculous, but...BikerDrew
Apr 17, 2001 5:41 PM
Thanks for the support,
-Drew
I would not worryDean
Apr 17, 2001 12:03 PM
I am a drummer and I don not think it should be a problem. I have more problems with my subwoofer from my home stereo vibrating things on shelves. The kind of low frequency that a sub puts off is more sustained and will move things. But the drums should not be an issue. The highs from the cymbals are not strong enough to vibrate the bike and the lows from the bass and toms are not sustained for a long enough period of time to mess with your bike. Give the bike a tune up and see how it is in another few hundred miles. Maybe it just needs some work.
It's the snare, with the vibrating springs, that rattlesbill
Apr 17, 2001 1:18 PM
the fillings.
I was more interested in what the brother was doing when he wasn't playing the ol' skins. Amateur wrench/professional brother and mischief-maker?
It's the snare, with the vibrating springs, that rattlesBikerDrew
Apr 17, 2001 5:45 PM
Na, he's not wrenching, the kid couldn't figure out what to do to mess things up.

I like the way you think,
-Drew
Randy CastilloBreck
Apr 17, 2001 2:24 PM
re: "Give the bike a tune up and see how it is in another few hundred miles."

what tune would you suggest to give-up?

mebbee his bro's a hard hitting skin playing wild man.

could be a tune he's playin' resonates at some un-screwing frequency, esp considering the ultegra-ty of the group-po and if the playing is LOUD.

sh!tt happens.

cheers
Thanks a lot Dean,BikerDrew
Apr 17, 2001 5:47 PM
I was hopping to find a drummer on this site.

-Drew
just the usual Zurich shimmy :-)ET
Apr 18, 2001 5:13 AM
You don't even have to be on that bike for it to shake. :-)