RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Curious about Road Bikes(12 posts)

Curious about Road BikesStephanie
Apr 11, 2001 11:37 PM
As a student at the UW I see tons of people racing around on road bikes. They look like a lot of fun but trying to figure out what bikes are good vs. those that are not so good is incredibly daunting.
Does anyone know of a good entry to mid-level bike that can fit into a college students budget?
Thanks!
Stephanie
re: Curious about Road BikesMade in Taiwan
Apr 11, 2001 11:57 PM
flag down one of the guys and ask him. if you flag me down i'd be happy to tell you all about it :)
re: Curious about Road Bikesuwgrl
Apr 12, 2001 3:54 PM
From Seattle?
nah, so cal NMMade in Taiwan
Apr 12, 2001 10:06 PM
NM
UW-->Univ of Wisconsin??DG
Apr 12, 2001 1:38 AM
If it is Univ of wisconsin, make sure you attend the regional collegiate championship this weekend near Madison. You'll have plenty of folks from all over midwest with their bikes. You will see a lot of suffering too-the course seems to be a killer. I may be there and would gladly answer any questions:)

But in case I don't see you, here are some options:
Check the bike reviews on this site.

Entry level
------------
Biamchi Brava-$700
KHS flite 300-$600
Fuji Ace-$500
Univega Modo vivere-$770
Lemond Nevada City-$880

Mid-level
-----------
Bianchi Veloche-$1350
Terry Precision Cycling symmetry-$1050
Trek 2000 WSD-$1200
Cannondale R800 Feminine-$1629

Goodluck!!
UW-->Univ of Wisconsin??Kristin
Apr 12, 2001 6:25 AM
DG - do u have a link with info on this event. I have no plans for Saturday and since I'm still bikeless, perhaps I'll drive up and watch.
UW-->Univ of Wisconsin??DG
Apr 12, 2001 8:04 AM
Sure, the link is below. To other folks who live in Wisconsin, it would be a great idea to drive down to these races (Mens A, B, C, and women's A, B). The course looks great and collegiate racers ride hard and display skills/performance at all levels.

http://home.bluemarble.net/~mwccc/flyers/wisconsin/flyer.htm
UW-->Univ of Wisconsin??uwgrl
Apr 12, 2001 3:53 PM
Sorry, it's the University of Washington.
re: Curious about Road Bikestester
Apr 12, 2001 4:53 AM
testing
re: Curious about Road Bikesdrew
Apr 12, 2001 8:39 AM
Look to the KHS Flite 300. I was stuck between this one and the Fuji Finest. I could get the KHS for $500 and the Fuji is around $650. Both bikes spec out just about the same, so I couldn't justify the extra $100-150 for the Fuji. Both bikes get real good reviews.

Drew
Buy usedKerry Irons
Apr 12, 2001 5:33 PM
With all those other college kids around, someone is always selling a bike to get some cash. You'll get a lot better value for your money on almost anything under $1K. $600 will buy a pretty good 4 year old bike, such that you would notice immediately when riding it compared to a $600 new bike. Ask around for advice on brands to avoid, but most bikes at a given price point are pretty much the same.
avoid four-year-old used alumininumDG
Apr 12, 2001 9:12 PM
For someone buying their first bike I would advise against going for a used bike. There are so many variables that you need to consider when buying a used bike that I think it is a hassle for a first-time buyer who may not know much about frame materials and components. I am speaking from my personal experience.

If buying used, avoid buying four year old aluminum bikes. If they've been raced hard they may be at the end of their "fatigued" life. One or two year old alum may be a good idea. I may be wrong, but I doubt you will get STI shifting on four year old bikes. Four year old titanium, steel or sometimes carbon (Kestrel) may be in good shape. Components may need upgrading.

Goodluck!