RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Not completely cycling-related...(12 posts)

Not completely cycling-related...Teach
Apr 10, 2001 6:25 PM
but I've gotten so much encouragement here that I had to share. I hit 101 lbs lost this week! It's taken a little over 2 years (though actually I've lost about 60 of it in the last 8 months), but it's coming off. 30-40 more lbs to go! I'm riding 2-3 mph faster than last year, climbing hills better and just generally stronger. I rode in the Ride for the Roses on Sunday and felt great! Looking forward to my second MS 150 coming up in less than 2 weeks.
Sound cycling related to me...biknben
Apr 10, 2001 6:38 PM
Loosing weight, getting in better shape and riding your bike are all relavent here.

A year and a half ago I weighed 55 lbs heavier. I am a completely different person on the bike and off. I'm sure you feel the same.

Congrats!!!
re: Not completely cycling-related...Made in Taiwan
Apr 10, 2001 10:20 PM
congrats. i havn't loose anything, but then again, i eat more now
re: Not completely cycling-related...MeDotOrg
Apr 11, 2001 6:52 AM
Congradulations! Cycling helps proper diet become its own reward: You eat it, you carry it. When I'm confronted with a food choice I try to remember what it feels like to climb a hill.

I started cycling 7 months ago. I've lost 40 pounds (205-165). I was taking high blood pressure medication - but no longer. My blood pressure is back to normal.
im always telling my fat parents to start ridingjohn de
Apr 11, 2001 7:10 AM
and then they can still sit around, watch tv, and eat junk..atleast to a certain extent you can eat what you want if you ride enough
that's one heck of an accomplishment!Haiku d'état
Apr 11, 2001 10:10 AM
keep it up. i would agree that the weight is astonishing difference on the bike. wonder how much you've lost in weight in actual "fat", considering muscle weighs twice that of fat, and with all the riding, you're bound to have gained some muscle mass/weight in those legs. i've been wondering that about myself...how much weight lost versus how much muscle mass gained?

funny to think about, isn't it? i've lost 40 pounds since 9/00 (235-195), weight i'd been carrying since 1993/4. it's amazing to consider now -- my son is almost one year old, and he weighs between 25 and 30 pounds. i can carry him from the car to the mall, then from store to store and get tired after awhile. granted, i'm carrying his weight in my arms, but that's still less than i was carrying around EVERY DAY prior to 9/00. it would be like packing a backpack full of sand to 40 pounds and riding around with it. consider the number of bricks you'd have to carry in that backpack to equal 101 pounds!

you've made one major life change of which many consider themselves incapable. just do it, huh? heckuva job!!! congrats!

ps: aren't clothes EXPENSIVE!?! i've had to have my belts stamped with more holes and buy new jeans, plus have been able to pull out old clothes from the closet that i couldn't fit before. and, that's only after 40 pounds! 101!?!?!?!
Diet only you lose about equal muscle and fat, but ...Humma Hah
Apr 11, 2001 12:27 PM
... I've been trackin my progress quite closely, using a bodyfat scale backed up with an initial hydrostatic immersion test. By increasing my cycling intensity while switching to a slow weight loss diet, I've put myself on a 2-pound/month weight loss, the numbers say its all fat plus I HAVE put on some muscle at the same time.

(Actually, the linear curve fit of my weight loss since January says I'm not quite on 2 lbs per month, and need to eliminate 31 calories per day. I could either do 3 minutes more exercise or eat 2 tsp less sugar, for example, and I'll be on target. So this week I've cut back calories slightly and I'm trying to up my mileage a little.)

Normally, dieting triggers an energy conservation response in the body -- it sheds muscle to avoid losing more fat. That's why combined diet and exercise (including resistance or weight training to promote at least muscle perservation and preferably some muscle gain) is so important. To lose fat, you would like to burn more calories, and than means using, not losing, muscle.

And cycling is DEFINITELY doing the job for me.
what bodyfat scale are you using, and...Haiku d'état
Apr 11, 2001 1:30 PM
has it been pretty accurate?

also, i've tried to be very careful with the word "diet". for the first few months over the winter, watching the weight come off i was motivated by relatively fast (weeks and months) progress to be very stringent with the extraneous parts of my daily intake--sweets, extra helping after dinner, etc. Also began counting calories, but only to see that i was at or below my daily requirement (not including those expended for exercise). "diet" to me means what you typically eat, not a regimen of changes to affect your overall weight in a finite amount of (calendar) time. though the first-thirty-pounds motivation waned a bit, and i'm now a little more liberal with what i've been eating, i'm not back overboard as before! maintaining at this point, for me, is sufficient whilst i pack on the miles between now and november. then, it's back to the gym and closely counting calories so i can drop a few more (in lieu of gaining across the holidays) before DST next year!

thanks -- and in advance for your suggestion/report on the BF scale. i've been interested in one for quite some time.
Let's politely say it is of some limited use ...Humma Hah
Apr 11, 2001 2:56 PM
I've got a Tanita 612. I looked up their website, saw what they had to say about the accuracy and methods they used to test it, and understood the limitations. I also read some sorta favorable independent reviews (the reviewers liked it more than Tanita, but I doubt the reviewers used it very long).

A few months ago, the Tanita said I was 23% BF. I got a good hydrostatic dunk test done for $40, which said about 24%. That's pretty close -- Tanita says +/- 5%. The Tanita cost a little over 2 dunk tests.

The other method was a caliper test performed by one of the PT's at the gym. Those were difficult to schedule -- I had to have no exercise before the test, and the PT's frequently cancelled appointments, and when they showed up, they spent half an hour trying to sell me a pile of suppliments and a training program.

You need to really be consistent in reading methods. Measure in the late afternoon, maybe 6-8 pm, or the BF readings are sky-high. Be well hydrated but with an empty bladder, and don't exercise before a reading. I measure before going to the gym in the evening.

Even then, I take lots of weight and BF readings, maybe 2-3 a week, and enter them in a spreadsheet. They scatter quite a bit, but I use a linear curve fit to have the computer plot a line thru the mess, and given a few months you CAN tell what the trends are doing. I'm definitely losing bodyfat, but it takes months of consistent use to get a clear trend.

And the Tanita measures electrical resistance thru the legs and lower body. It is over-sensitive to leg muscle condition -- it rewards cyclists heavily for building leg muscle -- you may get a rapid initial bodyfat drop indication as you step up training, and then wonder why it does not continue, or during a winter layoff the readings may increase rapidly. Putting on muscle in the chest and shoulders will end up reading as fat.
Dieting as defined by me ...Humma Hah
Apr 11, 2001 3:12 PM
... means eating an intelligent, balanced diet and reasonable portions.

And eliminating the junk. Chocolate was my downfall. 35 calories a bite for the little Hershey's Dark's I favored. My weight gain was perfectly explained by the excess calories of the chocolate I was eating.

I don't count calories. I observe weight and bodyfat, and how my clothes fit and how many belt holes I have left (I just bought a new belt and already it needs another hole punched). If my weight was rising, I note the rate. Knowing a pound of fat is 3500 calories, I calculate how many calories per day are causing the rise. I figure out about how much food that is, find something I can cut in the diet, or add exercise (usually BOTH). To lose weight, I pick a rate that I want in pounds per month and per day, calculate that amount of calories, and adjust diet and exercise to accomplish that. It seems to be working like clockwork.

I don't believe in rapid weight loss diets unless its a medical emergency. I was never THAT fat, just edging out of the government's "healthy" range for my age bracket. My target is the government's idea of ideal weight and BF for my height (those numbers converge for me -- I have the right build for them).

I've found that my appetite has gotten saner due to my improved eating habits for the last year or so. I CAN'T pig out any more. I stop eating when I've had enough, and anything more feels unpleasant.
Wonderful -- here's something to compare it to ...Humma Hah
Apr 11, 2001 12:19 PM
A year and a half ago I was about 18 pounds heavier than now. Last fall my wife started a diet and has lost something like 20-30. So you've done over twice as well as both of us put together.

Both of us still have a way to go, also. Between us, we've probably got nearly twice as far to go as you do.

I've yet to ride a 150. I might have picked up 1 mph in the last year.

So I hope this adds to your sense of accomplishment. I'd say it QUITE an achievement.
Thanks!Teach
Apr 11, 2001 6:51 PM
Thanks, Humma! I always enjoy the things you have to say. You ought to do a 150 - lots of fun. The one from Houston to Austin is the largest one in the country and is extremely well-organized and well-supported.