RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone use Vittoria clinchers? Opinions?(16 posts)

Anyone use Vittoria clinchers? Opinions?Largo
Apr 10, 2001 10:08 AM
I have been a die hard specialized team turbo guy, but am thinking of getting some of the Vittoria ultraspeeds, or the all-weathers. Anyone use these tires? Flat resistance?
Thanks
re: Anyone use Vittoria clinchers? Opinions?pulver
Apr 10, 2001 10:28 AM
I use the CX Open Corsa (I think that is the exact name). From a performance perspective I am very pleased with them though I am only comparing them to Michelen Axial Pros. The open Corsas are somewhat prone to cuts (as any tire is of course) but even with the Kevlar they can get cut up a bit in time. I get about 1500 to 2000 miles on them and then after a couple of flats and attemts through taping the inside of the tire to extend their life, I replace them. Overall, I have been pleased.
Open CorsasMikeC
Apr 10, 2001 10:32 AM
I also use the Open Corsas. They handle great, and I've not had a penetrating wound in two sets. I replace after about 1,000 miles due to wear, though.
Open CorsasWilliam
Apr 10, 2001 10:50 AM
I used to use the Specialized team turbo for just about everything, then I got the open corsa cx TT, a really, nice tire - rolls smooth, supple, but you don't feel like you're totally stuck to the ground - however, for racing I use the Specialized SWorks tires - I don't know why. it's just a difference.

-chris
Open CorsasKen56
Apr 10, 2001 10:54 AM
I have the Open Corsa CX also, but I can't really give you a review on them as I rode them for the first time last evening. They handled very nicely, but only time will tell. I had the Specialized on there before, and couldn't really tell any difference after only one ride. I was debating whethere to go with the Michelin Axial pros or the Vittorias. the V's were on sale at Colorado Cyclist, so I bought them.
two thumbs down for the action hsdHaiku d'état
Apr 10, 2001 11:05 AM
perhaps i got a bad set, but they lasted less than 300 miles and i suffered several flats. i put the specialized turbo sports back on (they're getting long in the tooth at about 1200 miles) and no problems. guess i know what'll be replacing them...
Mine have not been badDaveG
Apr 10, 2001 3:52 PM
I have Action HSDs now (because they came with the bike) and I think they are OK. Ride quality and traction seem good and flat resistance seems average (not a good as my old Specilaized Armidillo's though). I have about 2500 miles and they seem to have much more life left. I'm not sure they are any better than the Conti's or Specialized's I've been using though. What happened to you that they lasetd only 300 miles?
well...Haiku d'état
Apr 11, 2001 6:05 AM
again, several flats (more than usual), and sidewall tear with the tube poking out, plus threads coming loose from where the blue/color section meets the white sidewall.

sounds like you've had good luck on them!
well...DaveG
Apr 11, 2001 8:12 AM
I scanned through my cycling log database and I had a total of two flats (over 2500 miles) on the Actions, which is reasonable to me. From the posts here it appears that they may have some production/quality control issues. I'll count myself lucky on this issue.
Ditto on the action hsd'sAFred
Apr 10, 2001 7:01 PM
I had a pair mounted on Ambrosio Balance rims for about a month. Nothing but flats, especially near the sidewalls. Pop for the extra bucks and go for the Michelin Axial Pros. They are the best rolling clincher out there.
Rubino's suckMade in Taiwan
Apr 10, 2001 12:03 PM
got the rubino's for my front and had two tears on the wall within 150 miles (riding on same exact routes) no more vittorias for me, they're made in Thailand
Too bad..yapsaw
Apr 11, 2001 12:22 PM
I think most of the models are made in Thailand. Just one of those days maybe. I haven't tried Vittorias (use Hutchinson) but have good reviews of them thru friends.
re: Anyone use Vittoria clinchers? Opinions?look271
Apr 10, 2001 4:12 PM
I used Vitt Techno-twins about 2 yrs ago. Worst tires I have ever had! I'll never buy Vitt again.....
My Techno Twins had 9 livesSlow Ned
Apr 10, 2001 7:14 PM
I had a set of non-folding, 25cm Techno Twin Tread clinchers that were great. They were cheap, but I got 3 seasons out of them. Of course, in the 3rd season, they were really sorry looking, but they just wouldn't die. I am not a small dude and am very hard on equipment. To this day, I have not had a set of tires last longer. My experience w. Vittoria's has been very positive (also riding a set of Open Corsa's ride now).
Interesting....look271
Apr 11, 2001 6:58 AM
I had the exact same tires; 25 with a wire bead. Punctured easily and didn't last a full season!
Interesting....Aer Jer
Apr 11, 2001 12:08 PM
I have the same Twin Techno and have nothing but good things to say. They are like the energizer bunny in that they just keep going and going and... I moved up last year to open corsas and they wore out real fast and talk about puncture flats. I got real good at fixing flats on the roadside. I was running 700x20 so that may have had something to do with it. I do like being back on 700x25 as I am just as slow with either width and the 25's sure soak up more.
Take care