RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Local Frame Builder Wanted(22 posts)

Local Frame Builder Wantedgimmeaminute
Apr 6, 2001 2:27 PM
Who is really worth buying from? Who is good in your backyard? Any suggestions?
Where is local?look271
Apr 6, 2001 3:30 PM
Here in central PA, there are several Jack Williams framed bikes riding about. Everyone who has'em loves'em. Guy does a pretty sweet job and will spend HOURS with you until he finds about how you ride and what tube-sets are best-suited to you.
How long is a piece of rope?grz mnky
Apr 6, 2001 3:35 PM
What a stoopid question.
I see your glacoma treatments are going well, grz mnky.gimmeaminute
Apr 6, 2001 3:40 PM
Know and frame makers in your town that have less opthamolic disease than you?
Have you stopped beating your wife?grz mnky
Apr 6, 2001 3:48 PM
Naw, but at least they can spell and complete a rational thought.

Lemme see, Bontrager, Calfee, Sycip, Specialized, Steelman, etc. Bunch of nobody's really....

You aren't going to buy a custom bike from a small unknown builder across the country when you can do the same thing locally. If you buy from a builder that's not local you're going to go with a recognized name. So what's your point?

Gotta love prop. 217
She's not my wife. Having problems making friends?gimmeaminute
Apr 6, 2001 3:59 PM
Well, let me thank you for your concern with regards to me spending my $$ and from the rest of the posters, the pathetic lesson on your version of consumer economics.

My point? Find someone better than the last guy who made me a frame.

I'm still willing to hear your opinion. I'm not into production frames. Call me a patron of the arts.
Yes, but mostly with dopes.grz mnky
Apr 6, 2001 4:28 PM
Oh, on the beating thing - I guess that must have been your mother then.

Borrowing a line from you, I'd discuss the whole subject of micro and macro economics from the perspective of an MBA, but I don't want to make things too complicated for you. This was one of your posts paraphrased from the topic of brakes. I'm also a mechanical engineer - BFD.

Bontraeger, Sycip, Steelman, and Calfee all do custom work in addition to their prodcution models, but you knew that right?

As far as I'm concerned Ben Serotta does a fine job, but he's not local. His trained and certified fit specialists do an excellent job. I have yet to hear of a negative experience with Serotta - most are wildly enthusiastic with the fit and the ride.

Who made your last custom frame that you're so dissapointed with - we should make sure that NOBODY ever buys a bike from them. Seems only reasonable, or are you only interested in positive gossip?

Have a nice day.
I can't imagine a human achievment less importantAlex R
Apr 9, 2001 8:14 AM
than earning an MBA. Please find a new way to toot your own horn.

Which begs the question, how could you possibly find a new way? We are aware that you are an engineer with a materials background, having been involved with high performance sailing craft (a defining foray into advanced composites for the young grz monkey). You are deeply in love with your serotta, althoug haunted by the inadequacy of your OCLV. We are also aware of your knowledge of the physical laws of the universe and how they apply to the rotating bicycle wheel. Profound understanding of other diverse fields such as philosophy, mathematics and sarcasm, lives within you.

I doubt I've even scratched the surface of your achievment, for which I apologize. I trust you'll correct the error in due time.

Humbly,

Alex
You are one surly fellowmike mcmahon
Apr 6, 2001 3:59 PM
Do you have a large collection of George Carlin records? ;-)
OK, who brought the 12 pack of Ad Homs'?gimmeaminute
Apr 6, 2001 4:05 PM
Any frame builders too turn me on to?
http://www.strongframesmike mcmahon
Apr 6, 2001 4:08 PM
I got my Columbus Foco bike from Carl about a month ago and am very happy with it. As you will see from the web site, Carl works out of Bozeman, Montana and builds in steel, ti, and aluminum.
Thanks.gimmeaminute
Apr 6, 2001 4:24 PM
Good one about GC.
OK, who brought the 12 pack of Ad Homs'?gimmeaminute
Apr 6, 2001 4:06 PM
Any frame builders I can check out?
Thank You.grz mnky
Apr 6, 2001 4:31 PM
Carlin is not nearly caustic enough. I own none of his albums. I come by my cynicism honestly, I was in the military.
Thanks grz mnky!look271
Apr 6, 2001 4:42 PM
You just made my point of asking where the guy was from or couldn't you figure that out? Why tell him about my "local" guy when he might live the whole way across the country?
i dont understand youjohn de
Apr 6, 2001 10:20 PM
does it matter where anyones backyard is, you can always mail it...what is prop 217
Prop 217mike mcmahon
Apr 7, 2001 5:05 AM
http://www.ss.ca.gov/Vote96/html/BP/217.htm

Maybe grz is saying that he saved so much money in taxes under Prop. 217 (being in the top tax bracket) that he was able to stay in California and, therefore, away from people in other states who ask "stoopid" questions. Anyhow, that was the best I could do on a rainy morning at 6:00 a.m. with my limited imagination.
i dont understand youlook271
Apr 7, 2001 11:16 AM
Yes, you can, and you can get sizing info over the phone, internet, or whatever. Even Cannondale will build "custom" frames to your sizing. However, this all depends on you getting the measurements. Some builders (Jack Williams), prefer to have their clients at their shop so that the builder can get a btter idea of ho you ride, how you sit on the bike, etc. THAT was my whole point about locality.
http://www.rexcycles.com/shmoo
Apr 6, 2001 4:54 PM
Steve Rex out of Sacramento, CA. I don't have personal experience with his stuff, but know a few locals who give rave reviews. Nicely finished bikes.
Brewjs
Apr 7, 2001 3:52 AM
www.brewracingframes.com BTW, why is grz mnky being such a DlCKHEAD?
re: www.anvilbikes.com.....nmMy 'Local' Guy
Apr 7, 2001 6:51 AM
nmnmnm
Can We All Just Get a Bong?gimmeaminute
Apr 9, 2001 7:38 AM
Alot of views, but the info just didn't flow. Maybe I'll lay off the caffine.....