RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Which bike stand to get in the $100-$150 range?(12 posts)

Which bike stand to get in the $100-$150 range?boy nigel
Apr 6, 2001 8:44 AM
Hey all,

My birthday's coming up, and family's been asking me what I want. Since I just got a new bike and have been learning to take great care of it myself, I'm looking for a solid repair stand for it.

Don't want to give people a $225 Park stand to aim for, but I want something reliable, "flexible" (folding), and with a good clamp.

Who's got what, how much they go for, and what works well?

Thanks,
Nigel
re: Which bike stand to get in the $100-$150 range?Underdog
Apr 6, 2001 8:55 AM
Park's least expensive one folds down some and is around $150-$160.
It has worked well for me and the price was right.
re: Which bike stand to get in the $100-$150 range?Gary M
Apr 6, 2001 9:03 AM
I just got Performance's "Spin Doctor" and it seems to work really well for $50. Plus it folds up for real easy storage, a key consideration in my garage.
check out pgs. 81-83 of the March issue of...ET
Apr 6, 2001 9:14 AM
that worthless piece of British $h1t (if you haven't already used it for firewood).:-) It rated 10 of them. The Wrench Force Workstand, at 119.99 pounds sterling, had comparable ratings (9 out of 10) to the super-expensive ones. With a favorable exchange rate, it would be just a tad over your $150 upper bound.
Yes, of course, ET, I saw those...boy nigel
Apr 6, 2001 11:11 AM
but again, some were either overseas brands or units I just haven't seen on these shores. Buying overseas shouldn't be a big deal, but it just seems easier and less of a consideration to buy on these shores.

Easy there, ET. :) Down, boy.

Cheers.
does the word "xenophobia" mean anything to you?ET
Apr 6, 2001 11:58 AM
IMHO you're way behind the curve on ordering from overseas (loads here are doing it for all kinds of things), but fine. And "some" is not all. Wrench Force is Trek. You can get it right here in good ole US of A. Check out the reviews here:

http://www.mtbreview.com/reviews/Tools

And oh yes: woof! woof! (Who let the dogs out?) :-)
ET, you're killing me.boy nigel
Apr 6, 2001 12:19 PM
I remember my initial thoughts on glancing at the C+ reviews of workstands. It immediately SEEMED (Can't rememeber EXACTLY, though, at this moment) that the only stands that really got great reviews were the pro-level, big-bucks stands. I recall thinking, "Gee, so they're basically telling us that the only worthwhile stands for home use are the really expensive ones." The other stands (lesser-known brands to me, anyhow) got low marks and had comments like unsuitable for this or that, unstable, not worth the money, etc.

I'm really looking for something I can easily find from Colorado Cyclist, Performance, Excel Sports, or even Nashbar. (Companies I've ordered from -- with success -- in the past.) So shoot me. Also, brands I figured most people on this board would recognize and/or use. I've never even SEEN a Trek stand, nor half of the stands in the C+ article. Maybe in bike shops, but I rarely go into them. I'm looking also to give some less-resourceful family members easy choices for purchasing me a gift, without having to consider overseas shipping and conversion rates. Give me (and them) a break, please.

One more thing, Elliot (ET). You've pulled the "xenophobe" thing with me in the past, and I duly resented it (and said so). I'm hardly a flag-waving, "good ole US of A"-type guy (I live in the West Village of NYC, and embrace people as they are), and you're once again taking my view on ordering domestically entirely the wrong way--and generally being silly. Nothing against Brits/Europeans (my family's from over there). Looking to make a simple purchase or recommendation.

I'm tired of your ridiculous taunts, fanaticisms, and suggestions of my being a true-blue American consumer. Give it a rest, mate; it's dead already. I really thought better of you. Let's cool it, and either agree to disagree or just sod off and forget the whole thing. Cheers.

Nige
my vote STILL goes for the Ultimate ProHaiku d'état
Apr 6, 2001 9:35 AM
but it may be just out of the range you listed. not sure what it retails for, got a steal on mine...aluminum, relatively light, folds down to a portable size, durable, and jacks WAY up to allow tall folks to work on their bikes. >;-)

good luck.
Park PCS-1 Consumer StandBipedZed
Apr 6, 2001 11:46 AM
It's what I have used for the past 2 years and it's excellent. I'm 5'8" and have no problems with the height. The clamp isn't as easily adjustable as the higher priced stands, but you should be clamping the seatpost anyway, and that's the default setting. Get the $20 tool tray for the stand also.

I'm biased to Park because that's the bike shop standard. Some people like Ultimates, but those wide tripod legs take a lot of floor space and get in the way. Ultimate stands may even be discontinued now as they were being closed out last year. Wrench Force (Trek) stopped rebranding the Ultimate and went with a folding design similar to the Park PCS-1 with some height adjustability.
re: Which bike stand to get in the $100-$150 range?Ian
Apr 6, 2001 12:04 PM
I have the PCS-1 currently. After using it for nearly five years and comparing it to a Ultimate consumer, I would go with the Ultimate. I am not crazy about the spinning clamp on the Ultimate, but it is more adjustable than the PCS-1. And the Ultimate folds up and gives an adjustable work height.
Ultimate Pro12x23
Apr 6, 2001 7:08 PM
I have a Performance Ultimate Pro and an older Park consumer stand. The adjustable height of the Ultimate Pro allows me to stand while working. With the older stand I would sit on the garage floor to work with the drivetrain. For me this was well worth the difference in price.
GOTO EBAYdonalson
Apr 7, 2001 3:35 AM
check out ebay...seems to be a good slection there, also check the internet clasifieds and such, :)

caio
mark