RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


opinion on Elite Patao cage?(12 posts)

opinion on Elite Patao cage?Haiku d'état
Apr 4, 2001 11:41 AM
anybody used one? thx.
just seen 'em in lbsschmoopy
Apr 4, 2001 11:45 AM
small, hard plastic valve, and there is no way it holds as much as a regular bottle. also, cage won't work with any other bottle and bottle is too small for any other cage. a true waste of cash for the real rider/non-poseur.
re: opinion on Elite Patao cage?mon t
Apr 4, 2001 12:34 PM
they do look cool and the pro's use 'em and all, but.... did you know that they use an 'off' size, dedicated bottle? now then. how often do you lose, crush, bend , other otherwise render a bottle absent or unusable? i lose/lend/ leave them out in the yard all the time. no problem, grab another- NOT SO FAST with the pateo. if you lose a bottle you have an unusable cage. for all that, they are not even all that light. there are plenty of cheaper, lighter cages.
nope, i didn't realize the bottles were a different size (nm)Haiku d'état
Apr 4, 2001 12:45 PM
nm
they look cool butColnagoFE
Apr 4, 2001 12:49 PM
you are stuck using their bottles which is a big negative in my opinion.
ok, so how about elite ciussi cages, stainless or alloy?Haiku d'état
Apr 4, 2001 12:56 PM
opinions/experiences?

catalog says the stainless have buttons lined with copper...hmmm...
ok, so how about elite ciussi cages, stainless or alloy?mon t
Apr 4, 2001 1:03 PM
i have both. the stainless are the sweeter units by a good margin. thin, light, handsome, and bendable. there is no finer cage, really, unless you count thoe 50 dollar ti jobs, IMHO
ok, so how about elite ciussi cages, stainless or alloy?moneyman
Apr 4, 2001 1:19 PM
Very nice. Light, strong, won't leave black streaks on your water bottles, holds them well, too. Have a macthing set, and I wouldn't use any others.
i have 'emColnagoFE
Apr 4, 2001 1:27 PM
on my colnago and they look cool, but i think the best cages i ever had were stainless steel king cages. held bottles much more securely. they also make a ti version.
I like thempmf
Apr 4, 2001 1:33 PM
They don't look as clunky as the elite painted al cages. The buttons do get a little green over time, but its very hard to notice. They hold bottles in pretty well. A little pricey, but sturdy.
re: opinion on Elite Patao cage?look271
Apr 4, 2001 1:35 PM
Some things can't be improved upon and I think that H20 bottles/cages are one of them. As was stated,why spend more $$ on a cage that is not the lightest and uses dedicated bottles? While all cages aren't equal, there are plenty out there that are cheaper, lighter, and do the same job. (My favorites are American classics.)
How about Tacx Allure cages?blackjava
Apr 7, 2001 7:22 PM