RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Michelin Axial Super comp--What's your view?(8 posts)

Michelin Axial Super comp--What's your view?DG
Apr 4, 2001 9:41 AM
Do you guys have an opinion on Michelin' Axial super comp? Anyone here used it before? It looks similar to the Axial Pro, how does it compare?

thanks
re: Michelin Axial Super comp--What's your view?TC
Apr 4, 2001 11:31 AM
I've had a set for 1 year and use them in conjunction with AP's. I really can't tell that much of a difference in the 2. Last time I was in the LBS, the good one in town, a Michelin rep was in there and I was talking to him about there tires and he recommended the AP's for racing and the Super Comps for training. About the only difference I can tell is that the AP's "feel" a little stickier and seem to be a little better in the corners.

For the $$ I think the SuperComp's are a better value IMO.

TC
just got someclimbo
Apr 4, 2001 12:50 PM
they feel great, one race so far on them, handled well, very smooth ride so far. Not ridden in the wet where they are supposedly a bit dicey but, hey, I upgraded from the $6.99 closeouts on Bi-Sports so I'm happy. Good price too compared to the Pro's
Michelin Axial Super comp, Axial Pro are the same, but..keith m.
Apr 4, 2001 5:16 PM
the super comp has an added belt. Makes it alittle heavier, and alittle stiffer riding, but alittle more durable. All for alittle less money. I have been riding a set of these for about 800 miles with no complaints.
re: Michelin Axial Super comp--What's your view?Cliff Oates
Apr 5, 2001 4:51 AM
The only time I crashed on my bike was 5 minutes after putting a pair of these tires on it. I hit a turn hard (as usual), there was no traction from the tires, I slid, came down with road rash and got to visit the urgent care folks. They wore out quickly and were replaced with Axial Pros. These tires are on sale because no one wanted to pay $35 for them. $25 is still too high for me. $10 for the back wheel on the trainer maybe. I like AP's a lot. Never again will I ride on Super Comps.
They are on sale for $17.98 at Performance!!!!!DG
Apr 5, 2001 8:16 AM
The reason I asked was to find out if they were duds or worthy tires. At $17.98 you can't go too wrong! They are cheaper if you buy 3 tires--@$49.99
that's what I said tooclimbo
Apr 5, 2001 11:30 AM
and the only negative was Cliff who crashed, but he wore them out so he must have kept them on even after the crash.
that's what I said tooCliff Oates
Apr 5, 2001 11:56 AM
Heck, they only had a mile or so on them -- I'm not throwing away $70 worth of tires. Bad enough I had to throw away $100 worth of shredded lycra. I just rode carefully on them from then on, and I was pleased when the back tire fell apart at 1100 miles.

Check the product reviews for other reviews of this tire. Most folks are pretty ambivalent about them.