RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


LeMond 2001 Zurich vs 2001 Serotta Colorado III(12 posts)

LeMond 2001 Zurich vs 2001 Serotta Colorado IIIlott
Apr 3, 2001 9:48 AM
I'm looking into buying either the Lemond(Basic setup: Ultegra, Rolf wheels, etc.) or Serotta(built up with Campy Daytona, not sure what wheels) both are steel bikes. My dilemma is this. I realize that the Serotta frame is better then the Lemond but by how much. I believe I can get the Lemond for about 2000 out the door and the Serotta for about 3000. Is the frame,ride, or other tangibles of the Serotta worth the extra 1000??? I'm not a racer type but someone who likes to ride about 100 miles a week(I do like climbing hills though). I'm 5'8" and 150 pounds if this makes any difference. Any opinions??? Thanks!!!
re: LeMond 2001 Zurich vs 2001 Serotta Colorado IIIDean
Apr 3, 2001 10:01 AM
The Zurich made it my short list also. I decided against it though after a test ride. I was able to produce chain rub while test riding it, plus the Vector Comps seemed to have a lot of lateral flex. You may not have this problem because I am 5'11" and around 225 pounds. I have never ridden a Serotta, so I cannot say anything about them. I ended up with a Landshark with Chorus 10 speed and then bought some Vector Pros. I could not be happier with my decisions. Total spent on what I ended up with was around 3100, and I have 2 sets of nice wheels. I got my Landshark through GVH, it would be well worth your time to check out what he has.
the LeMond is real 853, the Serotta "proprietary" (nm)ET
Apr 3, 2001 12:03 PM
.
Mass Poduced or Small Batches?Bill B
Apr 3, 2001 3:09 PM
Do you want to buy a mass produced bike built by assembly line workers or would you rather ride a bike built by a small group of master craftsman constantly striving to produce the ultimate ride?
Oh sure, vanilla is wonderful and there certainly is a place for baige but wouldn't you rather have what everybody WANTS rather than what everybody has?
Mass Poduced or Small Batches?AD14
Apr 3, 2001 6:14 PM
Or you could put together a custom like a Teesdale foco or Steelman 853 bike with record for the money the Serotta costs.
Mass Poduced or Small Batches?AD14
Apr 3, 2001 6:22 PM
The colorado 3 is steel as well. For the money you would spend on a serotta you could get a custom aluminum frame from a reputable builder and put record on it.
Mass Poduced or Small Batches?lott
Apr 3, 2001 7:39 PM
I'm not as much interested in having a "Unique" bike amongst the other riders but I bike that is reasonably priced, durable, and has a pretty good ride. The Lemond sounds like a decent enough bike from the reviews and for the price it sounds even harder to pass up. I'm planning on getting fitted and hope to test ride a Lemond to see if everything meshes up.
Is the Serotta automatically better?ET
Apr 4, 2001 12:38 PM
Maybe it's my imagination, but it seems people come out of the wordwork to defend Serotta more than any other company. There's enough alternatives out there that I don't exactly see everyone riding a Lemond on the roads. In fact, on these boards, Serotta seems less original than Lemond.

Sure, Serotta builds great bikes. But its Colorado III is for those who want a Serotta but can't pay more for a better Serotta. Its steel frame material is proprietary, meaning you don't know exactly what you're getting. Under those conditions, I think I'd prefer a custom steel from an individual framebuilder for the same money. The Lemond is a great bike, and the price should not be belittled. Price is important to many of us. Also, without paying extra for custom (and it will be extra for the Colorado III), if one needs a slacker seat tube angle and longer top tube, he gets it with the Lemond.
the LeMond is real 853, the Serotta "proprietary" (nm)Aer Jer
Apr 4, 2001 1:59 PM
sure - big deal. Serotta is proprietary 853.
proprietary 853?ET
Apr 4, 2001 2:07 PM
I don't get it.
"better ... but by how much"jacu
Apr 4, 2001 12:30 PM
I think your initial premise is a little skewed when you ask the question, "is a Serotta that much better than a Lemond?" The answer is probably not. Both are very good bikes. With the Serotta, you are buying an artisan's approach to framebuilding. For some people, this is more than the extra money, for others not at all. With the Lemond, you are buying a production bike that comes off a production line. Is this bad? No, I don't think so; just different.

I think that if you want a bike just to ride, and the bike is simply a tool for riding, than go with the Lemond (assuming it fits; a very big assumption). It will serve you well for a long time.

If, on the flip side, you consider your bike to be a tool and something more, almost something like sculpture, than get the Serotta.

I don't think either will have much of a true impact on the riding experience. It seems to come down to esthetics and your view of what a bike should be.

Good luck, and have fun.
Ride 'em Bothgrz mnky
Apr 4, 2001 2:15 PM
You're the only person who can decide which is better for you and how much it is worth. Serotta does have a demo program and with a little bit of luck you can take one for a spin.

Having said that I was blown away when I rode a used Serotta that happened to be for sale. I dumped my trusty OCLV like a bad habit and bought the Legend in a heart beat.

If you can feel the difference you will be unable to deny yourself. Otherwise save the $1,000 and look for some undervalued stocks.....

Chances are if you buy the Lemond you'll always wonder about the Serotta (not that there's much wrong with it). If you buy the Serotta you will never regret it once you get over not being able to take that trip to Maui this year.