RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


filing nubs off fork drop outs(12 posts)

filing nubs off fork drop outsbianchi boy
Mar 30, 2001 10:53 AM
Is there any reason why I shouldn't fit the nubs off my front fork drop outs? By nubs, I mean the little metal things that keep the wheel from falling off the fork when it's not tightened down. These things drive me crazy because I carry my bike alot on my truck rack and I'm always having to loosen the wheels a whole bunch to remove them, and then tighten it back up rather than just using the quick release. I asked my LBS about this and he discouraged me from filing them off because they are safety features intended to keep the wheels from coming off. But I can't imagine a situation in which I wouldn't tighten down my quick releases enough where this could happen.

BTW -- It's great to have "View All" back on the board. Way to go site administrator!
DO IT!! DO IT NOW!!!!!curtiso
Mar 30, 2001 10:59 AM
Best thing I ever did. Took about 5 min per side with my Dremel and no more headaches. I can't believe your LBS guy is so anal about lawyer tabs (face it, that's what they are. Some bonehead who didn't know how to use a QR lost a wheel, sued, got a big judgement from his braindead peers in the jury box and now WE suffer for it). Get rid of them now! I guarentee your quality of life will increase at least 50x.
it'll probably void the warrantyscrublover
Mar 30, 2001 11:19 AM
no big deal, unless you think you may trash the fork, or need to use the warranty. most companies won't cover anything that happens to the fork if you've "modified" it. i did it anyhow, and have had no problems on 3 forks.
how spacey are youjohn de
Mar 30, 2001 12:10 PM
my cousin (hes very spacey) forgot to tighten the wheel down and lost 3 teeth and his face isnt the same...im not taking mine off
File themBipedZed
Mar 30, 2001 12:33 PM
Short story - up until about 10 years ago, forks never had retention tabs. They started appearing because novices didn't know how to use a quick release correctly and manufacturers wanted to avoid lawsuits. The post above illustrates this very clearly.

The first thing I do to all my bikes is file off the tabs so my quick releases function like they are supposed to. Tullio Campagnolo, the inventor of the quick release in the late 1920's would be proud of you.
File 'em if it bothers youDaveG
Mar 30, 2001 3:16 PM
My current bike does not have lawyers tabs and I haven't died horribly yet. Should not be an issue if you use the quick release correctly. However, I will say that the lawyer tabs on my last bike never bothered me much. I just got used to spinning the QR a few more times. If you file, take it slow - you can't put back any excess you file
re: filing nubs off fork drop outsIan
Mar 30, 2001 3:28 PM
You say you can't imagine a situation in which you wouldn't tighten down your quick releases. Well, that is the problem. You won't imagine it. Is is one of those things were you say, I would never do that. But, one day you will forget, or not make them quite tight enough and they will rattle loose. And then you will be very sorry. I vote that you leave them.
If you can't learn....curtiso
Mar 30, 2001 5:38 PM
...how to use your QRs, buy yourself a Huffy or a Murray with threaded skewers and those safety washers that attach above the dropouts. Those make it nearly impossible for the wheel to fall off.
Thanks for your sarcasm.Ian
Mar 31, 2001 9:25 AM
The poster asked for an opinion, and I gave mine. No need for you to stoop to the level that you did. And I do have a reason for my opinion. On a Sunday morning ride, I headed out with the pack. Thirty miles later at our reststop, I noticed my rear quick release was open. I had closed it, but I suppose not tight enough. It scared the shit out of me, thinking what would have happened had the wheel come out. Anyway, sure I'll agree it is a little bit of a pain going aroung the nubs eveytime. But, we could say the same about a seatbelt in a car. And I hope you are not ready to cut that out because it gets in the way. I stand by my position, you may never need those nubs, but if you ever do, you will be damn glad they are there.
You mean the lawer tabs. Yes, get rid of them pesky things. nmHighgear
Mar 30, 2001 6:18 PM
nm= NO Message
Is it ironic or is it just me?donalson
Mar 30, 2001 8:45 PM
my road bike has em...but for some reason my MTB dosen't? lol

you'd think they would be more worried about the bikes that the tire comes off more offten, (the mtb due to flats and such)

mark
re: filing nubs off fork drop outsWalter
Mar 31, 2001 11:32 AM
I've been riding roadbikes with QRs since the 70s and have never had a wheel fall off. That includes some cheapos from when I was a poor kid. I've had rear wheels pull over against the stays (horizontal dropouts) and while irritating it is not disastrous.

I ran across this "innovation" when I bought a new fork for an older Italian frame. I filed them off with a clean conscience. Yes, they might protect us from ourselves but to me they represent yet another attempt to create a "safe" world devoid of accidents ......and fun.