RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What gives?(11 posts)

What gives?mike mcmahon
Mar 29, 2001 9:55 PM
Recently, I've seen a couple bikes posted in the photo gallery with rave reviews from the owners, only to see the bikes in the classifieds not long after. This happened with a Carrera Hercules RC a few months back. Now, the same guy who recently posted a picture of his new Colnago Dream Plus saying: "As impractical as some folks think Colnago's [sic] are, I always wanted one, and I couldn't be happier with this one" has the bike listed in classifieds and is "willing to trade for: Litespeed Arenberg, Litespeed Tuscany, Steelman 525 Stage Race, IF Crown Jewel, Waterford 2200." The photo gallery post doesn't seem to be marketing ploy; the fact the bike is up for sale isn't mentioned in the description. I don't get it.
re: What gives?/Marketing 101 technique I think?TC
Mar 30, 2001 5:33 AM
the 'ol bait and switch in a revised way I'm guessing?

TC
" True Romance? " ...Breck
Mar 30, 2001 6:04 AM
Some ideas ...

Typical modern bike romance ... Guy falls madly in love with bike then dumps her; even shows her off a bit before. Use and abuse, then toss aside.
Next?

Maybe a wild fling. Short honey moon, gone in a month .... happens.
How long have you been dating, or married to, your bike?

Maybe he just wanted a ride to show off but never took her home to mom and dad. Does your mom and dad know what bike you ride? You know the type: sexy as hell; nice shifters; great BB; great set of wheels; slim and trim; can even cook (!) ... but a bit on the finicky side and needing way too much attention. Good bikes are hard to find.
Have you found yours?

Likes others to covet his bike but has wandering eye himself. Guilty as charged.
Are you guilty of this?

Not really ready to settle down ... still playing the field.
How about you?

Maybe just fickle and it's as simple as that.

cheers
bgcc
Feeling guiltytommyb
Mar 30, 2001 6:33 AM
I have had a monogamous relationship with my bike for 12 years, never even looking at other bikes with wander-lust. This winter, I was tempted by a new frame. Pretty young thing, just the kind of trophy to shut up the guys making fun of my old steed. The temptation was just too much to resist.

After the first few dates with the new bike, I'm convinced that this is not just a summer-time fling. She's been added to my life as a keeper. Unfortunately, my commitment to the old love is still equally strong. I feel a little guilty when I see her sitting alone, in need of loving attention. So, this weekend, I promised to give the old girl a complete make-over, treat her to some fancy new baubles and trinkets, and see if I can make her as shiny as when we first met.

Then, the hard part. I may have to double my weekly mileage to keep them both happy. The good news is that my wife sees how hard it is for me to keep up a relationship with two bikes, and she knows I would never, ever even consider another woman. Way more effort than even the most high maintenance bike love.
Good postDaveG
Mar 30, 2001 9:00 AM
I think I can use some of this to convince my wife that its in her best interest for me to get another bike - although she already believes I treat my bikes better than her!
Dang, now I'M feeling guilty.nigel
Mar 30, 2001 11:09 AM
I "replaced" my old blue Atala (my first love/bike) with a new TCR recently. I say this because the old girl (never thought of it like that) was getting to cost too much to upgrade (downtube shifters, 7-speed gearing, heavy frame and wheels, etc.). I thought of saving her for foul-weather rides, but may just sell her to a messenger. Now, I don't know WHAT to do. The thought that it/she may feel left out, old, or unwanted has me reconsidering.

The new one's here to stay, but maybe if I convince her that it's a "he" (El Gigante: "The Giant" in Spanish), she'll feel young and vital again. Now if only I could get her to lose some weight! ;)

Though the wife sees how much attention I pay the new "boy," she knows she'll always be number one. She approves of the new addition, since it makes me so happy. (Heck, she even gave me almost half towards it as different gifts, including some "just because" gifts. Now THAT'S love.)

:)
Here's a strange story.Guilty
Mar 30, 2001 6:23 AM
I have to admit to doing a similar thing on MTBR.com. Over there the photo gallery seems to get a huge amount of traffic and I was getting very little response from the classifieds. I tried posting the bike picture in the photo gallery along with a caption saying that it was for sale, but apparently the photo was rejected by the filters over there. Perhaps I should have stopped there.

I posted the pic sans advertisement, saying what I honestly thought about the bike (I love the it). Part of me was hoping to find out what kind of response the bike would generate. Then, after someone posted a message asking "Isn't that bike for sale?" I responded affirmatively. I got a very good response after that.

And, in another twist to this already twisted (sordid?) story, I was eventually convinced- by the same people who were making bids on the bike- that I really don't have a good reason to sell it. It was causing me to lose sleep :) So I sent e-mails to the folks who placed bids apologizing for my reversal. Nobody seemed upset. I was happy.

Why did I do that? Because I wanted to get a road bike. I still don't have the road bike, but at least I'm sleeping better...and riding the heck out of the bike I do have...and vicariously having the road bike experience through forums such as this. Keep posting!

cheers
That's acceptable behavior in pursuit of a road bikemike mcmahon
Mar 30, 2001 6:36 AM
Clearly this is a case of situational ethics. Had you been using this ploy to sell a road bike in order to buy a mountain bike (or anything else), it would have been morally reprehensible. When attempting to obtain a road bike, keep in mind Malcolm X's credo: By any means necessary. ;-) Sleep soundly and enjoy the road bike when you get it.
Whew...1EyedJack
Mar 30, 2001 7:05 AM
Thanks. I can't wait, although I'm thinking of going for a full face downhill helmet after reading the faceplant thread.

1EyedJack (the real Guilty one)
nobody wants to dis their high-zoot bikeDaveG
Mar 30, 2001 8:27 AM
Unless its a scam, which I doubt, I chalk it up to the inability us humans to admit (publicly) that our very expensive purchase is not the perfect choice. If you peruse the reviews here, its rare that anyone does anything but rave (me included) about their steed. This seems to get more pronounced as the price tag goes up. Once the reality sets in, you move on to the next trophy.
Notice what he wants now.Cpt. America
Mar 30, 2001 10:56 AM
It's a simple case of yet another person buying into Colnogno's mystique/hype and discovering that just that. Now that he's seen the other side, he's decided that an American steel bike is superior.