RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Do you ever really wonder what a bike is?(13 posts)

Do you ever really wonder what a bike is?Breck
Mar 28, 2001 7:04 PM
Does it seem odd to anyone but me that if you take a cross section of the Earth at its center and scale it down you have a perfect wheel; scale the earth down and you have a perfect bearing; scale the planets down and around the Sun and you have a perfect nine bearing hub.
Our mind provides the frame; the Solar System the wheel; Quantum Mechanics the crank; the space warped path of our Galaxy the route. Like riding a Cosmic Bike guiding us through the Galaxy, a path through the stars and into the Universe of our goals. Among the stars of the Universe other planetary bikes wander through other Galaxies. We are in a race to meet at the center of our being, the center of our souls. Why does the bike, an invention of minds within the One Mind, choose to mimic the creation that we began with. Is God the UCI making up the rules what we shall ride and where. The Solar System our Bike; each generation a Stage of THE TOUR. You and me, each taking a new challenge each day as the goals of the Tour brings us closer to our goals. The same route but slightly different paths.
Some retire early; others late. Individually we give it all we have then move on, each on his own day. Where we don't know. Maybe another stage at another level. What will our next bike life be like. Maybe we won't have to pedal at all. The bike will just know where we want to go with out steering and turning the cranks over. But here today on Earth we gotta ride. Sure as the planets and Solar System continues to make it's way through our Galaxy, so do we. Do you ever really wonder what a bike is?

Ahhh, must be the Folgers as don't smoke, drink, nor have any bad habits.
Cheers,
bgcc
re: Do you ever really wonder what a bike is?Skip
Mar 28, 2001 7:09 PM
Now, grasshopper, if you aren't smoking or imbibing any mind altering substances, your journey through the mind and cosmos may be premature. Enlightenment is lesson 9.

Skip
Enlightenment ...Breck
Mar 28, 2001 7:55 PM
I hear you, Master Skip (or is it Po?).

Chapter Thirty-Three ...
Knowing others is wisdom;
Knowing the self is enlightenment.
Mastering others requires force;
Mastering the self needs strength.

He who knows he has enough is rich.
Perseverance is a sign of will power.
He who stay where he is endures.
To die but not to perish is to be eternally present.

-- Tao Te Ching of Lao Tsu, sixth century BC,
translated by Gia-Fu Feng and Jane English.
Vintage Book edition, September 1972.

cheers
bgcc
No drugs? You might want to check your house for a gas leak ;-)mike mcmahon
Mar 28, 2001 7:18 PM
nm
Wood burning stove only ...Breck
Mar 28, 2001 7:50 PM
Am ahead of the curve with power and gas company, and have my own water well and 5K gallon storage tank.

Mebbe if we could design a bicycle powered solar generator/ wind trainer ... we could qualify for an energy rebate.

cheers
bgcc
Do you have a carbon monoxide detector?Humma Hah
Mar 29, 2001 10:44 AM
Actually, I saw a really clever use of an exercycle a few years ago. A guy had rigged one to power a 12 V automotive alternator that was used to run his television. If the kids wanted to watch TV, they had to be pedaling the whole time! A cyclist does produce sufficient power to run a portable TV.
You get the prize...Dog
Mar 29, 2001 5:39 AM
Prize for the most bizarre post of the year, thus far, must go to you, bgcc. If you didn't note otherwise, I'd say you were under the influence.

I've had such thoughts on long rides, maybe an endorphin rush, but usually forget them before arriving home. You must be feeling well. :-)

Doug
Mutual Admiration Society ...Breck
Mar 29, 2001 6:04 AM
This is a MAS believe me as have read your fine posts and others who pay close attention too ... names to remain un-mentioned.

It hit me yesterday riding the Klein MTB up around Big Laguna Lake. If I had walked there and back to the trail head would have taken two hours or more. Yet, with the bike could do a 15 mile route, enjoy the scenery, take it all in, return and be little tired. Today will take the road OCLV out to the desert high way near Borrego and blow out some cob-webs.

I truly do wonder what the bike represents to the Board. A mixed bag of transportation, racing, fitness, status, need to communicate with like minds, finicky-ness bordering on Persig's "Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance", etc.

Figuratively, if not literally, to me a bike does reflect society with words like integration, gruppos, color matched, etc., aside from it's utilitarian purposes.

Am not all that serious,
cheers
bgcc ... bubble gum cigar club.
Is that Columbian coffee?pmf
Mar 29, 2001 7:30 AM
Know where I can score a pound of it?
Buddha lives ...DaveG
Mar 29, 2001 4:14 PM
on a bike somewhere in the USA. Wade, I've read your post several times and I still don't have the foggiest idea what you are talking about. I've tried listening to New Age music, meditating, burning incense, reading Deepak Chopra, crystals and even watched a Shirley Maclaine movie but I'm still baffed. I was always under the impression that a bike was just some metal and wheels that gets you places. You are clearly thinking a bit deeper. Enjoy the road
To me, a bike is...E3
Mar 29, 2001 6:03 PM
... a real good thing that does alot of stuff and junk. I think bikes are real neat and everything. I like to go riding on them real good. Bikes are really just really neat things.

And...

My rear hub bearings earlier this year resembled the planet (?) Pluto and the dog Pluto.

Soy milk, Jolly Ranchers, beer
And I thought I had good $hit (nm)fuzzybunnies
Mar 29, 2001 8:27 PM
TTFN
No, but why does my butt hurt after 5 hrs in the saddle?nmOutWest
Mar 30, 2001 11:24 PM
nm