RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Paint my Ti frame white, red, or orange?(17 posts)

Paint my Ti frame white, red, or orange?Zorak
Mar 28, 2001 6:20 AM
I had a black bike and thought it was a pain to keep looking sharp, and I wouldn't do black again...

Thinking of doing my Serotta Ti frame in 1/2 paint of pearl white with red decals, or red with white decals. Also considering orange with silver or black decals, since there are so few orange bikes it'd be unique.

One of the guys at the dealer recommended against white bikes, not sure whether he just hates white, or if it looks dated or is hard to keep up the finish...

So, leave it bare Ti, or go for the color? If color, which of the above sounds good?

Opinions appreciated!
dependsColnagoFE
Mar 28, 2001 7:55 AM
the biggest advantage of TI is slight weight loss and easy maintenance, but you lose some of that if you paint it. Serottas are pretty heavy anyway for a TI bike. How much weight do you lose compared to a CSI? If none or little why not just get a CSI. Probably will ride better even. You notice how Serotta always compares the ride of the Legend TI to steel? Personally I'd stay away from orange. Red is always a classic color and is "faster" than any of the other colors (really!). White is probably the most classy looking IMHO. How about a fade? I have a black/white fade on my colnago and I think it looks sharp. With all the options you have painting a serotta think about multi-color.
dependsZorak
Mar 28, 2001 8:01 AM
Heavy? A Legend frame in an average size is in the 2.7 lb range, hardly heavy. Not sure where you got the 'Serotta Ti is heavy' idea from. They are built solid, and ride solid for Ti because of the flared tubeset. The CSI is lugged and weighs easily a pound+ more, is maybe a hair stiffer at the BB, but isn't as smooth. This is according to Serotta, not just me.

I agree, red is hard to beat, and pearl white looks sweet.
not actually heavyColnagoFE
Mar 28, 2001 11:45 AM
but once you add that "boat anchor" F-1 fork it isn't all that much lighter than most steel bikes. and you pay PLENTY for a Legend TI. Not to say it's not a nice frame...just that for the $ I'd go for a CSI which is every bit as good of a ride.
F1Zorak
Mar 28, 2001 11:57 AM
People make too big a deal of weight as it is. The F1 is an amazing riding fork and worth every penny, really solid under any circumstances.
It's about the ride, I don't care if the bike weighs 17, 19, or 21lbs. Besides, the new F1 Ti is in the league with other carbon forks, though still on the heavy side @500g. People wouldn't notice another 200 grams added to their frame (or taken away) IMO.
rightSteveS
Mar 28, 2001 12:28 PM
You are right, it is about the ride. I could easily have had my Spectrum either made from lighter tubing or put the lightest parts on it, but that wasn't my primary game plan. Ride and durability were.

With titanium you shouldn't have too much to worry about with either ride or durability. Last Easter two things convinced me to paint my Zeppelin; about 20 percent of the riders (it seemed, maybe not) in a century were all riding titanium frames,unpainted. Supremely boring no matter what brand decals they were showing. Gray, blah, matte, brushed, or polished, no big difference, still gray. Then, I saw a Serotta Legend Ti, half painted, hailed the rider down to inspect his bike, which he did. The best looking titanium frame that I had seen to date, candy blue with half polish ti. So, I had my bike painted in a similar manner.

Personally, I am not a white paintjob fan, kind of a lack of color. Some of the metallic or candy orange colors are nice. Take a look at the frames in Co-Motion's gallery and Airglow (?). There was a great red/half polished Legend Ti in the gallery here, check it out. Enjoy the ride and the looks of your new frame.
re: Paint my Ti frame white, red, or orange?ScottV
Mar 28, 2001 7:58 AM
I would stay away from white. I have had two white bikes and they were a a pain to keep clean. Showed every little grease mark and drible of sports drink. I also found that grease was hard to get off if left to long. The orarge and silver sounds cool.
re: Paint my Ti frame white, red, or orange?Dan BB
Mar 28, 2001 8:39 AM
I am having a Legend Ti built and went with the natural polish. Although 1/2paint, 1/2 polished does look cool, a fully polished Legend with black accents (lettering etc) can't be beat, in my opinion. The weight of my frame (I'm 5'6", 142lbs)is approximately 2.75lbs....(yes, I weighed with a digital scale), lighter than my CAAD4 frame. Good luck and congratulations...
Dan
re: I vote red!Morgan
Mar 28, 2001 9:24 AM
I am voting red with the tail unpainted which I think would look very cool. I had a perl white and red colnago. Looked cool put it was a pain because the white shwed everything. I am not a fan of orange.
Au natural.E3
Mar 28, 2001 10:50 AM
I think ti should be bare or at least partially bare. I love the rich silver/gray sheen and satin-like feel of plain ol' ti. You'll never have to worry about paint chipping or scratching. Plus, natural ti fits any color scheme you choose for the rest of your equipment. You're not locked in to the same scheme.
Best one I ever sawpmf
Mar 28, 2001 11:46 AM
Was a white Basso where someone had small painted a picture of Calvin and Hobbes hauling down a hill on they're sled yelling YEEEE-HAAAA. It looked like Watterson himself had drawn it. I miss that strip.

What about white with flames? Or Black with flaming white skulls?

Personally, I'd just leave it the way it is and save the money for your next bike.
Orange, definitelyLazy
Mar 29, 2001 6:24 AM
Or some combination of Orange/natural/white. Orange bikes look REALLY cool, and there's definitely something to be said for being unique.
PINK!Jiggy
Mar 29, 2001 8:01 AM
Just think of all the fun you will have beating guys on a pink bike! Or maybe you won't/can't, in which case you can say "so what, you beat a guy on a pink bike".
None of the above.grz mnky
Mar 29, 2001 9:09 AM
My polished Ti Serotta looks awesome w/out any paint after 5 years and a hard life. Chips and scratches aren't a factor. Talk about minimal maintenance..... IMO it's a shame to paint a ti frame - you're giving up one of the advantages of the material. Check out the subtle sand blasted logo area if you want something unique. If you have to go for paint then check out the Harlequin color series.

In any event you should try applying some Pedros Bike Lust frame polish to bare or painted frames. It gives the frame a really nice polish and makes it hard for the dirt and grime to stick.
Thanks...Zorak
Mar 29, 2001 9:29 AM
I'm with you grz mnky, ended up ordering my Legend polished with Ti/char decals. The matte/polish was a little TOO subtle for me.

For one thing, I can always paint it later, but once painted there is no going back, unless you go matte, which is not too pretty.

I like to be able to sweat and spill sports drink on the bike and not care, low-maint is where it's at, more time to ride. I think painted Ti looks nice, but I'm going with practicality and I think in a few years I'll be glad I did. It even saves a few grams.

Tailwinds!
Right On!grz mnky
Mar 29, 2001 1:33 PM
Yup, you're going to love the low maintenance/no worries aspect in addition to the outstanding ride quality. I agree with you on the paint/polish/matte issue - you can always do it later. the Bike Lust is kinda like a teflon coating - nothing much sticks to the bike - do it before you bike is built to make things really easy on yourself, but afterwards is no big deal.

When do you take delivery and do you have a name for yours?
Right On!Zorak
Mar 29, 2001 2:29 PM
Should have it here in about two weeks, it's in polish now...
No, haven't named it yet, but I suppose I should since I plan to have this one for a looooooong time.

I chose it over the CSI not so much for light weight, but I figure that it'll hold up a long time, and no worries about rust or paint.

I've got some Bike Lust in the garage now, I'll be sure to coat the frame right away.