RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How much does your bike weigh? (nm)(28 posts)

How much does your bike weigh? (nm)Keri
Mar 24, 2001 5:51 AM
A lotDaveG
Mar 24, 2001 8:31 AM
My steel Marin probably weighs 23lbs (59c-c). I am definitely not a subscriber to the "light is always better" theory. The weight is just not a factor in my enjoyment of cycling. Comfort and handling do matter to me, though. My current bike weighs close to 2 pounds more than the bike it replaced and I like it better. However, I don't intend to criticize those who enjoy the pursuit of light bikes; different folks have different priorities and interests.
re: How much does your bike weigh? (nm)JBergland
Mar 24, 2001 1:00 PM
1999 LeMond Zurich 20.15 lbs.
1996-97 Bianchi Campione 24.75 lbs.
1996 Trek 8000 25 lbs.
1993-94 GT RTS-1 27.75 lbs

All bikes mostly stock.
re: How much does your bike weigh? (nm)Tom
Mar 24, 2001 1:07 PM
3 of 'em: 1982 Rossin Record SL 19.5 lbs
1998 Bianchi Campione 20.5 lbs. This one's been re-worked
1986-87-88? Schwinn Traveler 23 lbs. My new beater. I haven't ridden anything else yet this spring and frankly if I suddenly lost the other two I doubt I would miss them all that much.
re: How much does your bike weigh? (nm)Mel Erickson
Mar 24, 2001 1:50 PM
1996 Softride Solo - 21#, pretty stock w/Ultegra 9spd
re: How much does your bike weigh? (nm)Too Lite
Mar 24, 2001 4:32 PM
I weighed my 95 Trek at the LBS last week.

54 cm Trek OCLV
Nimble Fly tubular wheelset w/ Continental Competition 21 mm
Deda Newton stem and bars
Reynolds Ouzo Pro carbon fork
Slle Italia SLR saddle
Use Alien carbon seatpost
Speedplay X1 titanium pedals
Titanium crank from Russia with TA chainrings
American Classic Titanium bottom bracket
Shimano Dura Ace shifters (rear STI, front downtube)
Dia-Comp BRS 200SL brakeset
King titanium water bottle holder

All in all it came out to 14.75 pounds.
re: How much does your bike weigh? (nm)Woof the dog
Mar 25, 2001 9:48 PM
Tell me more about that Russian titanium crank please. Where, how, and what. Thanx.
19lb. for one--22lb. the other.--TNCTNC
Mar 24, 2001 8:42 PM
My fairly conventional Specialized '00 Allez Comp is 19lb.--the Profile Air Stryke aero bar adds a little non-stock weight. My Trek Y-Foil is 22lb. with a RS Ruby SL suspension fork and the same Profile aero bar. The Y-Foil is always my bike of choice for any long ride.
re: How much does your bike weigh? (nm)ginsiengice
Mar 24, 2001 10:32 PM
trek 5900 52cm 15.4 lb
colnago 52 superisimo ultegra 21.4
GT Track pursit 1996 (Yamaguchi) 16.8
Trek 8500 2000 17.5 23.7
1921 Mead 22' with wood rims and horn about 61.00
Oregon made utility bike (with out beer) 45.7 (with beer and ice) 127.0
Just weighed mine...Kreeger
Mar 25, 2001 5:25 AM
My Aeroblade Cabon:

Frame 1380 gm
Fork 365 gm
Seatpost 160 gm
Full Ultegra
Spinergy Xaero Wheelset 1600 gm
Deda Newton bar 215 gm
"" "" stem 135 gm
Selle It. SLR saddle 135 gm
Continental Supersonic tires 160 gm ea(reg.Torelli tubes)
Mavic brakeset 295gm
Speedplay pedals 220 gm

16.4 pounds
tiredredneck
Mar 25, 2001 7:18 AM
of seeing this picture posted every chance you get... take this pos to the gallery and give it a rest already!
Accurate...Kreeger
Mar 25, 2001 1:58 PM
...name you've given yourself, buddy. It IS in the gallery... If you don't like to look at it, then don't. BTW, let's see a pic of your..uh.. 4 wheeler..er..whatever.
Accurate...Ha ha
Mar 26, 2001 8:15 AM
Kreeger thinks he has a hot bike- good one! That's better than Jeff's lame joke.
Cheater cheater!Red
Mar 26, 2001 7:45 AM
You have to count the cleat mechanism in the weight of those frogs too, they cheated by having the mechanicals stuck to your shoe to lower the claimed weight of the pedal. :)

Nice bike otherwise, but I can't say the seat looks comfortable. Ouch.
Cleats aren't heavierDog
Mar 26, 2001 2:50 PM
Cleat weights:

MAKE & MODEL MASS,g CLAIMED COMMENTS
Speedplay Frog cleats 47 46 without bolts
Speedplay slim-line X- cleats 50 fits 4 bolt Time pattern
Shimano Dura-Ace SPD cleats 72 with bolts
Keywin CRM 74 http://www.keywin.com/
Sampson Stratics cleats 80 with bolts
Time adapter plates 94 for non-Time shoes, with bolts
Look cleats 95 with bolts
Speedplay slim-line X- cleats 96 fits 3 bolt Look pattern
Time cleats 113 without adapter plates

http://www.damonrinard.com/weights.htm#pedals

Say what you want about Speedplays, but the whole pedal/cleat system is lighter than anything else.

Doug
Hey Kreegeream
Mar 26, 2001 8:07 AM
Hey, how do you like this frame/fork. I'm considering one, but would like some feedback from owners. Is there a review of this frame on this site? Thanks for any info.
I reviewed it...Kreeger
Mar 26, 2001 1:57 PM
...here and on their site as well. This thing rocks. I'm not just saying that, either. I have a Serotta Concours (Ti), A Masi Team 3v (steel), and this one, and I truthfully think the bike feels better on climbs as well as all around (even hard sprints) than the others. It feels solid. This bike's forte' is definitely climbing and flats, though. Can't find a bad thing to say about it.
Judging from the bathroom scales...E3
Mar 25, 2001 6:05 AM
...between 17-19 lbs. including seat pack with 3 CO2 cartridges, inflator, tube, levers, mini tool, patches, and mini air pump.

PedalForce ZX carbon 56cm frame & fork
Ultegra 9 w/ DA STI
Open Pro/Ult wheels
Forte Pro tires
Speedplay X2
Profile H2O stem 13cm (need an 11)
Am Classic post

I have a much lighter Speeddream wheelset and a lighter saddle that I'll put on someday. Then I'll weigh the bike, without the seatpack, on some real scales. Maybe then I can really brag. :)
21 lbs. Specialized Allez Elite size 60Bruno S
Mar 25, 2001 2:17 PM
Wheels are pretty light.

I consider 21 lbs pretty light for recreational cycling. For racing you can be at a disadvantage since the guy next to you can be on a 16-17 lbs bike. For the moment its easier for me to loose 5 pounds from myself than to upgrade the bike.
42.5 pounds ...Humma Hah
Mar 26, 2001 7:06 AM
... sure does give a smooth, stable ride, though. Yes, its a pain to climb with, but I didn't take up cycling because I want to get from point A to B effortlessly.

And I am shopping for a lighter bike for those double-century and longer efforts, or climbing serious mountains.
holly macrocyclopathic
Mar 26, 2001 9:09 AM
and you planning to do 300km PPTC brevet on it? they got 10-15% several mile long climbs.
Its supposed to be a challenge, right?Humma Hah
Mar 26, 2001 5:20 PM
I did some looking up of the Potomac Peddlers brevet series. Looks like their 200k climbs about 6900 ft. I survived 104 miles and 5900 ft of climbing a couple of weeks ago, which included about a 9 mile climb, so I guess, by next spring, I could be ready for the next step, and should reasonably expect to complete a 200.

The 300, if I can do it, will be a stretch, but I think that's the idea, right? I'm absolutely sure I can't complete a 300 without lights, and I'll probably need to slow down considerably, probably claw along at 10 mph for the last 20-30 miles.

I'm almost positive that would be my limit on anything other than a flat Kansas run with the wind at my back.
Yeah, but not for the mentally challenged...grz mnky
Mar 27, 2001 2:25 PM
HH-

Sorry for the jab, but I couldn't resist. I'm flogging myself with my mouse chord for violating the pact as I type (one handed) ;-)

Not to put you down, but the Solvang century a few weeks ago was a total cake walk compared to what things can really be like. Minimal wind and hills, lots of water and aid stops and lots of friendly people to draft and cool temps. That 9 mile climb was a total snoozer. It isn't the total vertical, but rather the % grade of the pitches that will get you. Otherwise the Terrible Two would be easier than the Death Ride. Not. Some of the stuff up around the Bay Area looks fine on paper, but is a bit appaling when it comes time to ride it.

BTW - The elevation change from one end of Kansas to the other is 4,000' - it's flat, but it's like a pool table jacked up on one end.

I admire your willingness to suffer and ride a heavy single speed -- are you British?
re: How much does your bike weigh? (nm)Secondchance
Mar 26, 2001 8:10 AM
19lb. Could probably get a pound off without too much trouble, but it's not worth it to me.
(56cm Mongoose Pro ti road frame
2001 Record hubs,headset,derailleurs,bb,crankset,cassette (ti/steel), pedals, brakes, levers, Ergobrain
TTT Forma bar (WAY heavy)
TTT Mutant stem (medium heavy)
Kinesis Carbon fork (too heavy, but feels good for my weight & riding)
American Classic seatpost
Campy Moskva rims
DT 14/15 spokes
Vittoria Open Corsa CX clinchers
Koobi Tri saddle)
23lbs and about 40..doug in co
Mar 26, 2001 8:38 AM
1988 Japanese steel w/aerobars, 23lbs
1976 Schwinn Continental, about 35-40lbs I think. That's after taking off the light, dynamo, and chain guard..
My kind of bike!Humma Hah
Mar 26, 2001 5:22 PM
PLEASE tell me you occasionally let the Continental stretch its legs a little!
17.4 lbs giant tcr team small, topline, c-dale wheels, ti stem,scrublover
Mar 26, 2001 9:08 PM
action tec ti bb, thomson post, flite seat. d-ace and ultegra mix, ritchey pedals, scott lite flite bars, many ti and alloy bolts. pieced together for way cheaper than buying a stock bike this weight; rides the way i like it, too! helps that i only weigh 140.
+/- 205 lbs with me on it. (nm)shmoo
Mar 27, 2001 11:15 AM
.