RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Colnago C-40 vs.Bianchi EV2: a fairy tale(8 posts)

Colnago C-40 vs.Bianchi EV2: a fairy taleET
Mar 23, 2001 12:31 PM
Once upon a time, there was a popular member of this board who persistently claimed that frame material made little difference in ride, that it had everything to do with extraneous things such as tires, tire pressure, fork, etc. To prove his point, he could easily do a century on his aluminum EV2 without getting that beat-up feeling, but some attributed such accomplishments to his being an other-worldly superior bike being.

Then one day, this board seemed to be down forever, so he visited another board. There he confessed that the ride of the carbon C-40 "feels wonderful" compared to his EV2(s). But, alas, he never confessed this to his longtime friends here on this board. I'll allow him to continue the story. :-)
Its true --- I have evidence herepmf
Mar 23, 2001 12:48 PM
http://www.velonews.com/HyperNews/get/tech_talk/983/3.html

Just goes to show that so many people speak highly of the bike they have with no real point of reference.

Not trying to be mean Doug, I think you're the nicest guy on the board. Its just that I see many people raving about their Cannondales and wonder, have these guys ever ridden any other kind of bike for any length of time (test rides in parking lots do not count)?

Are you kicking yourself for buying two of those Bianchi EV2's? Titanium is pretty nice stuff too.
You do make a good point, though, re frame of referenceDog
Mar 23, 2001 2:29 PM
My Bianchi's always felt just fine to me. I never felt that they were holding me back or that I was getting beaten up. The carbon frame's difference is detectable only after doing a head to head comparison. I could have felt satisfied on the Bianchi's for the rest of my days, but now having seen the difference, with 2 frames and the EXACT same components, tires, and wheels, (except seatpost, headset, and fork)well, I must admit to some lack of perspective before.

But, I am definitely NOT saying that aluminum frames are bad or excessively harsh. The EV2, especially the 2000, was exceptionally light and quick, and a very fine racing bike frame. However, my plans have been changing from shorter road races, where comfort is relatively trivial (how comfortable can anyone be at 99% heartrate puking your guts out up a long hill?), to ultra-distance, where even a small increment of comfort in many situations is welcomed, especially if nothing is sacrificed to acheive it.

Yes, the point of reference point is well made. Sometimes you can be completely fine with what you have until you compare back to back. One thing I can state with authority now, though, is that I've done a very controlled test and can tell you the differences. I put around 10,000 miles in the EV2, and I'm racking up miles on the Colnago very quickly (300+ this week, for example). I'll report back after I get 10,000 on it. :-)

Doug
I've said it here, tooDog
Mar 23, 2001 1:52 PM
Yes, is does make a difference. Not hiding that. I definitely have said it here from day one following my recent acquisition. I'll see if I can find the references. In fact, check out the C40 review I did here on 2/18/01: http://www.roadbikereview.com/reviews/Bike_road/product_68302.asp

Nonetheless, I still maintain, as I always did, that tires, saddle, etc., do indeed make more of a difference than the frame material. Nonetheless, having the ability to compare both frames, but with identical components, wheels, and tires, yes, I can tell the difference. Yet, the difference is less than what I have detected between various sets of tires.

Sorry for any inconvenience.

Doug
I've said it here, too, part 2Dog
Mar 23, 2001 2:07 PM
http://www.roadbikereview.com/message/DCForumID1/6286.html#10
Lets see the whole bike.Erik W
Mar 23, 2001 2:18 PM
Doug, I like the Mediterranian paint job! You definitely won't see many of those around. Do you have a picture of the completed bike you could post?
I'll fire up the digital camera this weekend (nm)Dog
Mar 23, 2001 2:30 PM
Doug
Cool (nm)Erik W
Mar 23, 2001 2:36 PM