RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Daytona vs. Ultegra(10 posts)

Daytona vs. UltegraErik W
Mar 15, 2001 5:19 PM
I'm trying to figure out which group to put on my new ride and can get both these groups (Daytona or Ultegra) for the exact same price. My questions. Are they comperable groups? Are they equal/similar in quality/durability or is one better then the other? Which group weighs more? Which group, based on your experience, will most likely last longer? I appreciate your input and whatever other helpful comments you might have.
re: Daytona vs. UltegraSpoke Wrench
Mar 15, 2001 5:33 PM
Ultegra can be shifted more easily from the drops. Daytona hides theshift cables under the bar tape and looks a little cleaner. Ultegra shifters are not easily repairable and are expensive to replace. I'm told that repair parts are available for Daytona.

Peraonally, I think that Ultegra shifts a little more smoothly, but I'm sure there are people who will disagree with me on that. I also prefer the way the Shimano brake quick releases work.
RE: Daytona All DayBill Bove
Mar 15, 2001 6:00 PM
I run a bike shop here in Florida where bikes are ridden all year long, I see more problems with Ultegra parts wearing out than I think is acceptable for a group that is so popular.
I ride Campy on my bikes and recomend it to everyone, the old adage is true; Campy wears in, Shimano wears out.
I think the best bet is, if you want a group that will last a long time, is easy to repair when it does brake, as opposed to replacing (crashes do happen) and looks great you gotta go with Campy and Daytona will not disapoint even the hardcore Italphile.
re: Daytona vs. UltegraDG
Mar 15, 2001 10:15 PM
You can't go wrong with either. I ride a Daytona equipped Cannondale. The shifting is smooth, I love the thumb lever (easy to reach from hoods or drops), 10-speed, lasts longer, looks good, etc.

Today I just test-rode a Ultegra equipped Kestrel. I really like the Ultegra hoods to my campy hoods, they are more comfortable. I didn't really care for the integrated brake/gear lever. Although, the Ultegra shifts very smoothly (may be smoother than Daytona) I've had some problems with the brake/gear lever while shifting--I engaged the brake as I was downshifting! Maybe it's my lack of experience on Shimano, but it isn't reassuring to have the gear lever also serve as a brake lever.
re: Daytona vs. UltegraBrit Racer
Mar 16, 2001 1:20 AM
I recently moved from Ultegra to Chorus 10.

Chorus 10 is slightly lighter than Ultegra but in terms of function it's more of what you prefer than any great mechanical difference.

I found that I prefer the more clunky but more definite Campag shifting and the ergo levers.

Neither will make you go faster than the other and they do all wear at around the same rate (Though Campag tends to keep looking nice for longer). The wear in / wear out theory is in my experience not true - if properly set up, both wear out.

Make your choice on which you prefer the feel of (For the record, I found Ergo levers pretty weird when I first swapped over. I imagine that your problems with STI were exactly the same and once you're used to it, will have no problems)
re: Daytona vs. Ultegragrandemamou
Mar 16, 2001 3:38 AM
I test rode two bikes with Ultegra. I found the shifting very sloppy. I have several friends who ride Shimano and several of them switched to Dur-ace shifters and they claim a remarkable improvement in shifting.

Campy just feels more solid. It takes more effort to shift but the shifts feel more precise. The finish on C is also much better.

You will find that most people have strong opinions about C&S. My advice is try em both and decide for yourself. Your opinion is the only one that really matters.
Shimano vs. Campypmf
Mar 16, 2001 5:09 AM
What is better? That's your real question and that's what responses you'll get. They're both good groups, take your pick on which levers you like better.
Glad to be new to all this.Erik W
Mar 16, 2001 3:31 PM
Thanks for your input guys. I know the Campy vs. Shimano issue is one which everyone has an oppinion on. I'm enjoying being new to road riding (I've been a mountain biker for many years). It's been interesting to question friends and LBS employees, from my position of unbiased ignorance, on what they like and why. Their are so many different oppinions on the same products. Their do seem to be some reoccuring themes though, like the rattle in Ultegra STI shifters (the older 6500/01 shifters not the new 6510 shifters), or many peoples oppinion that Campy groups tend to have more problems after initial setup, but these get worked out over time. I don't plan to purchase my new ride until the end of May so I'll have plenty of time to make up my mind on which group I want. . . and then change it again. . . and again.
Get CampySpeedracer
Mar 19, 2001 1:57 PM
I personally would go with the Campy Daytona. I have the 10 speed on my rig and absolutly love it. I admit though I have no first hand knowledge of Ultegra. I haven't had any problem's with the brake in period of my Daytona like you said you had heard.
Tried both . . .RichardBG
Mar 19, 2001 8:57 PM
I've tried both Daytona and Ultegra (not the new STI levers though). I liked the quality of both but found the Shimano hoods to be a little bit more comfortable. I do have the rattle in my right STI lever though. It seems to take a little less effort to shift with Shimano though by no means is the Campy hard. I don't think you can go wrong with either and if you can get them at the same price it probobly comes down to which you like the feel of or even what looks good to you. I think there are minor down sides to both groups but no glaring failures in either group. Enjoy making up your mind!