RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is the Mongoose Cypressa the best deal for $1500?(8 posts)

Is the Mongoose Cypressa the best deal for $1500?Stephan
Mar 9, 2001 12:09 PM
Hello Guys,

What do you think about the new Mongoose Cypressa for $1500: Ti frame (I know not the top of the line, but...), Profile carbon fork, 105 drivetrain with Ultegra rear der., Ritchey Logic Pro wheels, Speedplay pedals,... Any other ideas for $1500 or less?

Thank you and have nice rides,

Stephan
There's a ton of nice bikes in that range.Silverback
Mar 9, 2001 12:37 PM
I don't know that you can say one is "best," but there are 105/Ultegra bikes by the dozens in that range. Don't be blinded by the titanium frame--aluminum and steel can be just as good, and in that range probably are.
if you go for Alcyclopathic
Mar 9, 2001 4:53 PM
opt for carbon fork and seatpost to make ride softer.
Depends on the sizing but Giant TCR (full Ultegra ~1500$) with compact frame and long exposed carbon seatpost feels almost steel like, until you stand up and put pwr down, then it's as stiff as any Al bike.
nopecampy dropouts
Mar 9, 2001 2:06 PM
IMO, the Masi 3V (Columbus EL-OS) with full Ultegra.
nopeJo Routens
Mar 9, 2001 3:11 PM
At $1500 for a whole bike, stick with steel or aluminum, especially
steel. I'd downspec on the parts--105, non-geek wheels--and go for the best steel frame possible and get whatever parts fit into the price. If you shop right you can have a lifetime frame or close to it in this range. Try GVH Bikes, he sells lots of things like this mail order from southern Oregon. At this price point for a whole bike any ti frame will be low quality. IMHO it takes double the price of a given steel frame to equal the quality of construction in titanium--at least. And in aluminum, stick with a builder that doesn't use anything else. There's good reasons for there being zillions of Cannondales and scores of Kleins on rides and at races.
But steel will be the most bang for the buck around the price range you're talking. Excel Sports is another good deal source.
Could be!MikeC
Mar 9, 2001 5:38 PM
I bought last year's Mongoose RX10.5 titanium, which is probably pretty close to what you're looking at. It also had the 105 spec, with Ultegra rear derailleur.
It's a VERY nice frame for anyone weighing under 190lb or so, except for seriously hard-core sprinters or climbers with quads like a gorilla. It's very comfortable, nice and lively, and good looking once you strip the Mongoose decals off.
I've been riding for 25 years, and have done it all from steel to aluminum to composite, and I'm perfectly happy with my frame doing a fast fifty or a double-century.
I got a used (250 miles) Caad3 C-dale w/ full Dura-Ace 9 speed,scabby
Mar 11, 2001 8:06 PM
DA SPD-R pedals, slightly used top of the line Shimano road shoes, King headset, Look HSC fork, Ti Flite seat, Ti seatpost, Cinelli Alter stem, Eubios bars, Mavic Classics Pro wheels, Hutchinson tires for $1300. Not a scratch on the frame.
re: bestsSteveS
Mar 12, 2001 8:30 AM
I don't really care for the concept of "bests" but if the bike fits you and you like it, then it could be a good deal. If you read very carefully the reviews of owners of titanium (high and low priced), there is a pretty clear cut pattern of satisfaction, so don't be concerned that it's quality is somehow inferior to steel. However, make sure that it is built for whatever useage you plan to put it to, racing, recreational, touring or whatever.

Steel can be quite nice if you know what you are looking for.

Aluminum I have had two examples of and ridden a fairly high end version of in the last couple of years and it still didn't win my heart. I would have to be given a satisfaction guarantee before I would ever consider aluminum again. However, if racing critieriums is your thing, then disposable aluminum is a good choice. Just read the reviews carefully and see how the owners of these frames describe the ride.