RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cycling Culture(9 posts)

Cycling Culturecaldwell-cougar
Mar 8, 2001 2:21 PM
OK, so here's the story. I have been assigned a 10 page paper (freshman in college) for my Cultural Anthropology class. I've chosen to write about cycling. However I need places and or names that would sell books or web-sites to research this.

Talking about the culture of the sport both in Europe and in the US. Any can help?

-Thanks
re: Cycling CultureAkirasho
Mar 8, 2001 3:01 PM
... try entering "cycling culture" or some such in a google search.

http://www.google.com/search?q=cycling+culture

You've got a broad topic there... you might want to narrow it to a specific subculture... racing, touring, type of bike, commuting, etc.

Be the bike.
a few links:Dog
Mar 8, 2001 3:23 PM
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/harris/index.html

http://www.uci.ch/english/index.htm

http://www.usacycling.org/

http://www.bsn.com/Cycling/

http://www.waltsbikeshop.com/walts/links.htm
a few links:caldwell-cougar
Mar 8, 2001 4:30 PM
Thank you all for the information. Anyone else? Please feel free to ad.
re: Cycling CultureBill J. Pappas
Mar 8, 2001 5:51 PM
On of the best ways to absorb the "Cycling" culture is to get on your bike, and join up with a group of riders, and see from their point of view, on what it is about cycling that they enjoy. This "Cultural immersion" should give you a good insight into the cycling circle. If there are time constraints,then perhaps post a question on this and other forums and see the responses you receive. Also check out these websites:
www.cyclingnews.com www.eurocyclingnews.com roadbikereview.com cyclingforum.com velonews.com Magazines such as Cycle Sport,Pro Cycling, Cycling Weekly, Cycling plus give a very good perspective on the European point of view towards cycling!
Good Luck with your paper!
re: Cycling Culturetommyb
Mar 9, 2001 3:35 AM
Read the book "The Giro d'Italia: Coppi vs. Bartali at the 1949 Tour of Italy" by Dino Buzatti (available through amazon.com and others). This will give a great insight into the euro cycling culture.

I would be very interested in reading your paper, either in draft form or the final submitted product. If you can, post a link to it. I'm sure you would get lots of 'editorial help' from many of us, some good, some bad, but it would make for interesting reading.

Best of luck, and happy research.
Sigh --TomQ
Mar 9, 2001 6:01 AM
Remember the good 'ol days when you did your own research?
Sigh --caldwell-cougar
Mar 9, 2001 11:36 AM
I will be sure to post it.

I really can't do my own research. The paper is under pretty strict guidelines. You can't just hope on a bike and write about the joy of cycling.

I plan to discuss, MTB, Track, Road and Cyc-cross.

It's not due until May but I'm starting now so I can get some indepth reviews, ideas and experiences. Tyler Hamilton has already said he will send me a small blurb for a quote.
Farther Out There...Greg Taylor
Mar 9, 2001 1:01 PM
Some of my favorites:

http://www.carsrcoffins.com (a punk single-speeders view)

http://Sheldonbrown.com (bike guru, bon vivant, and cool guy)

http://DCCourier.com (bike courier culture)

http://cyclingnews.com (racing -- my favorite news source)

http://members.aol.com/JohnDorsey/usa.html (a co-worker who rode his bike across the USA. An epic tale humorously told)