RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


TO Gregg the ADMINISTRATOR(11 posts)

TO Gregg the ADMINISTRATORET
Mar 7, 2001 8:37 AM
About half the time I try to post, I get an error message saying I did not include a screen name even though I did. I then click the back button twice and then re-submit and then it goes through. Just thought I'd let you know.
tried registering and logging in? (nm)Dog
Mar 7, 2001 9:07 AM
Doug
thanks; just did, and one more thingET
Mar 7, 2001 9:25 AM
We'll see id that helps. Not sure what that has to do with it, though.

Also (to Doug, Administrator, or whomever): is there a way to bypass the previewing-your-post stage? Sure, previewing is good, but if it's only a few words, it becomes a drag to have to load twice.
OK, now that I did, I have a new problemET
Mar 7, 2001 10:52 AM
Every time I click Post to post a new thread-starting message, I immediately get an Internet Explorer script error showing on my panel. When I click No, it disappears, and then if I continue to post as usual, it works, but it's annoying. This didn't happen until I registered. Now it's too late to go back and I'm sunk and in a funk. Unless Gregg comes through again. Or else I might have to subject you all (groan) to the return of Sir (Steel Is Real!). :-)
It's YOUR browserBipedZed
Mar 7, 2001 11:14 AM
When you register, the site tries to store information about you on your computer (cookie). I'm not sure exactly how your browser is configured, but you may want to check if it allows cookies.
It does allow cookiesET
Mar 7, 2001 11:34 AM
Works on other sites; no error messages there. And clearing the disk cache didn't help for this.
and one more thingET
Mar 7, 2001 9:11 AM
Many of the already-visited (purple) link colors keep returning to the unvisited (blue) colors, which is frustrating. Any way to avoid this? Thanks.
yikes! yet another!ET
Mar 7, 2001 11:56 AM
When I get out of this site, even when I close the Internet entirely, and then get back in, I still get an earlier version of the Board than I last had and have to re-load (refresh) to bring it up to date. I hope there are more choices here than just 1) this is normal and you'll just have to live with it, and 2) you and your computer are weird. :-)
no such problems hereDog
Mar 7, 2001 12:12 PM
I'd buy a new computer if I were you. It's freakin' out. It works just fine from here, now actually faster than the previous board.

Seriously, have you rebooted? (magical cure for all computer ailments).

Doug
Not just you.Hap
Mar 7, 2001 12:40 PM
When I enter the "new" board, it recognizes my cookie so I don't have to log in, but sometimes when I enter, I get an older version of the board. When I read a post, the blue header stays blue. When I leave and come back or refresh the board, then the posts I've read appear in purple. So it's not just you. But it is faster than the old board and hopefully more stable.

Hap
"Back Button"PsyDoc
Mar 8, 2001 3:45 AM
Hi Greg or whoever can help me with this.

When I am finished reading a message and hit the "Back" button or the "Return to Message Board" link, I am hardly ever taken back to the spot on the board where I started. Sometimes I am taken back to the top (well above where I started) or I am taken much further down the board. I am using Netscape Communicator 4.7.

Thanks in advance.