RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


psi rating on wheel rims(9 posts)

psi rating on wheel rimsGary
Mar 6, 2001 5:29 PM
I have been thinking of using a clincher tire that has a higher psi rating, like Vredestein's (145 psig). But a friend told me that he remembered that his rims came with a psi rating, although he can't find the documentation any longer.

My rims are Rigida DP18 and I did have trouble with Continental Grand Prix 3000s. I run a 120 psi tire now and always have used such. So do rims actually have a psi rating?
Thanks!
re: psi rating on wheel rimsfuzzybunnies
Mar 6, 2001 5:58 PM
Some rims do , I belive mavic rates thiers to 140psi and I doubt you'll find to many companies willing to go much higher than that. While you can usually exceed the tire rating by 10psi I wouldn't attempt to go above the rim ratings. TTFN
re: psi rating on wheel rimsHap
Mar 7, 2001 5:37 AM
I have used Conti GP's @ 120 psi for a long time. I just bought Conti Supersonics mail order thinking I could save a few grams of rotational weight. When I got them, I found out they were rated at 145 psi. I assumed that running them at a lower psi would lead to premature tire wear. It never occured to my that my rims might have a max psi rating. I'm using mavic open pros. Should I run the tires at 140 psi?

Thanks. Hap.
re: psi rating on wheel rimsDustin
Mar 7, 2001 11:33 AM
I would run them no higher than 140psi. I checked the mavic website and that rim does have a 140 max. I just wouldn't want to risk blowing out a rim because of too high of pressure.
re: psi rating on wheel rimsfuzzybunnies
Mar 7, 2001 4:04 PM
If your rims are worn and have a brake groove in them you might want to run a little lower, I they're new you should have no problem with the 140psi rating. TTFN
MavicsHap
Mar 8, 2001 5:31 AM
I'm suprised that Mavics are only rated to 140 psi (I also checked their website) when alot of tires are now rated to 145 psi. The thought of a rim blowout gives me goose bumps. My rims do have some brake grooves. Maybe it's time for new rims (or a set of Ks's).

Has anyone here experienced a rim "blowout"?

Hap
MavicsDustin
Mar 8, 2001 6:59 AM
I have on my mountainbike. Never on a road. I was just riding along and all of a sudden it sounded like a shotgun. Got off my bike and noticed about a foot of my rim(braking surface) was gone. Scared the piss out of me.
Blow offsSpoke Wrench
Mar 8, 2001 7:21 AM
I have personally seen two examples of tire blow offs, both on new bikes. When it happens, the tire just blows off of the rim and I was not able to find any damage to either tire or rim. So which is the problem? is it the tire or the rim? I don't know how to tell.

Most people change tire brands because that's cheaper and easier to do. I'm inclined to think the flanges on the rims are bending outward slightly due to the internal air pressure.

Peraonally, I'm not as confident as I used to be right after I mount new tires on my bike. It takes a couple of hundred miles for a new tire and rim combination to "prove" themselves to my satisfaction.
re: psi rating on wheel rimsGary
Mar 7, 2001 2:27 PM
Thanks for the help! I appreciate your information...learn something new every day...