RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Steelman 525(9 posts)

Steelman 525T.
Mar 5, 2001 5:20 PM
A follow-up to a post I made 2 weeks ago (that was eaten in the crash). Now that I've discovereed that there are light, stiff steel frames out there I wanted to know if any of you had any experience with this particular one. No reviews posted, and I would expect some difference from the model that uses 853 tubing. Price is right, expecially if I buy it through Gary Hobbs. I was leaning toward aluminum, but steal is back in the frame (so to speak). Superior handling, especially on downhills is my prime consideration (see related thread) as even if a bike climbs great, who wants a squirrely ride going down.

T.
re: Steelman 525Frank
Mar 5, 2001 8:04 PM
I was looking at the Steelman 525 and sent a note to Brent Steelman. He said the difference in weight between the 525 and SR was a few ounces (maybe 4, I don't remember exactly) and that the 525 was indeed a great handling and riding bike.

I ended up buying something else from GVHBikes but have sure been tempted to grab a Steelman when I have seen some available.

BTW, if you buy from GVHBikes you are making a wise decision. I have bought 3 complete bikes form Gary and had 2 more built up. Great prices, huge selection, and wonderful to work with.
yupHank
Mar 5, 2001 9:47 PM
the difference is a few ounces. And a bit sturdier for heavier riders, too--or people who like to mash the pedals. Great bike for the money.
re: Steelman 525Eames
Mar 6, 2001 6:42 AM
'Tis my primary ride. I went with the 525 over the 853 as it is a little stiffer, especially when you get into the larger frame sizes. I ride a 63cm and therefore the extrax stiffness helps. Truly told I don't notice the weight. You can always make the weight up elsewhere with the money you save. I bought mine from an LBS for $999 the 853 was about ~$400-$500 more.

Great bike. I'd buy another one without even thinking about it.
re: Steelman 525T.
Mar 6, 2001 8:52 AM
Thanks for the responses. Eames, why don't you post a review? People such a myself could use the help. Now I need to contact Gary and see if either the 54cm or 56cm he has will work. With my luck I'll need a 55cm! I know this isn't a big size, but considering the terrain in my area (hilly) stiffness is a must. Further, hard as I try, I have trouble getting below 190lbs.
The fact that Steelmans are made @1hour drive south of me is also a major point of consideration (+).

T.
re: Steelman 525Eames
Mar 6, 2001 10:48 AM
Sound like all good reasons but if you live a hour away I'd go try and talk to the man himself. Either way I'll bet you are happy with a Steelman SR.

I've posted a review at: http://www.roadbikereview.com/reviews/Frame/product_46210.asp
re: Steelman 525T.
Mar 7, 2001 6:38 AM
Eames:
First off thatnks for the review.

Now for a laugh, I think you road with my cousin this past weekend! He lives in Bellevue and told me he went riding with a guy who owns a Steelman. How many of them can there be there?

T.
re: Steelman 525Eames
Mar 8, 2001 10:17 AM
Naw, I was out sick on Saturday. Then I rode with only my wife on Sunday. There are a few other Steelman's around here but it wasn't me.

Nothing worse than not feeling well when it is sunny and dry in Seattle.
re: Steelman 525T.
Mar 8, 2001 10:57 AM
You guys have had less rain than we have this year! Hasn't really been too bad here to be honest, but down south...wow.

Cheers, and thanks for the help.
T.