RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Pegoretti frames(14 posts)

Pegoretti framesbill
Mar 5, 2001 1:51 PM
I posted this in the racing forum, but I'd like a wider audience. I'm interested in cool steel. For reasons still unclear to me, I've been drawn to the Pegoretti frame -- the workmanship looks excellent, the bike seems to mix old and new in a way that seems to suit me. I've not even seen one of these babies in 3D, but the pictures look great. I've obviously not ridden one. The geometry looks very similar to my Litespeed, with a slightly shorter (and presumably stiffer) chainstay, which I think would suit me, as well.
I'm mostly a recreational/sport rider, and, although I'm old and fat (you know, relative to a twenty-year old), I'm fairly aggressive within my modest abilities. In other words, I'll probably not race, but I kind of like to go as fast as my little legs will carry me (after a 25 mi run, my computer usually shows an average speed of 17 mph, give or take -- I'm typically at 20-22 in the flats, you get the idea). And I like nice stuff. I'm 42, 5'8"", 175 lbs. I like to go maybe 20-40 on the avg weekend ride, occasional longer distances. I want a bike for the long haul, both in terms of distance and my life.
re: Pegoretti framesthom
Mar 5, 2001 3:35 PM
Bill, you need to get a hold of the Mar/Apr 2000 issue of procycling magazine. Robert Millar gives a good review and some good photos of the bike and the makers in the Dolomites of Italy. He hints at some of the big names (like Indurian) as riding this name under disguise. I have never ridden one but have seen them in 3-D, they are beautiful and i think you would like a Pegoretti (imported by Gita).
re: Pegoretti framesDarragh
Mar 5, 2001 6:13 PM
Check out www.tiramisu.co.uk

Mine should arrive this week (Marcelo). These guys have been great to deal with. They said my custom frame would take 3 months to build, and 3 months later they sent me a picture of my new frame. They are a group of English guys based in Italy. I would highly recommend them. I keep on hearing horror stories from people in the US going through their LBS or Gitabike and being told it'll take 6 weeks for their custom to be built, and then 6 months later they are still waiting!
re: Pegoretti framesthom
Mar 5, 2001 8:02 PM
I agree with Darragh, go the most direct route and use the guys in Italy, the prices are better and the service is better. The import tax is small enough that it will not matter on the total price. I went the direct route in purchasing my pinarello and am very happy. Also, if you go this route, you will be most likely be able to choose your color more freely. The importers choose one or two colors and act like the other colors are not available, not true. I only mentioned Gita in case you are in a hurry. I purchased a bike from Gita several years back and it was a bad experience to say the least.
re: Pegoretti ReviewsSteveS
Mar 5, 2001 8:42 PM
I read the Millar review and one in "Bicycling" and both were very positive and of course, I gave Millar much more credence. Fine looking bikes, I say go snag it, you have something that is different from all the gang and a fine ride at that. Then post a picture in the gallery here and write a review.

I have to control my incessant bike lust but this is a way to enjoy it vicariously. Have fun.
re: Pegoretti framesPatrick
Mar 7, 2001 4:52 AM
I bought a Duende through Tiramisu which arrived in November last year. It took slightly longer than 4 months from order to delivery, but the wait was woth it. It's a fantastic bike - finish and craftsmanship superb; would highly recommend. Also, the price is reasonable - you pay more for a top steel Pinarello for example.
re: Pegoretti framesbartali
Mar 6, 2001 4:39 AM
If you go to this site: http://www.cyclingnews.com/tech/2000/milan.shtml
you will see that this Pegoretti won Best In Show at the Fiera in Milan, Italy this past September.

For a similar bike, scroll down to the Masi. Notice that both Masi and Pegoretti have the LONG "freuler" style head tube for increased stiffness and to accomodate the shorter steerers due to the A-headset.

Masi and Pegoretti are fine examples of Italian "artigiani".
re: headtubeSteveS
Mar 6, 2001 8:24 AM
Thanks for the word "freuler", not sure how its pronounced, but thats what I have on a my new Spectrum, a very long extended headtube. "Freuler" any idea what it means? Extended headtube, right?
re: headtubebartali
Mar 6, 2001 8:31 AM
Beats me. I speak Italian fluently and I have never heard of the word. But if I had to guess what it means, I WOULD say "extended" or "extended head tube."
Thanks for the good info. nmbill
Mar 6, 2001 7:35 AM
nm
what's wrong with the Litespeed?ET
Mar 7, 2001 5:40 AM
Can I ask what kind of Litespeed do you have and what you want to do with the Pegoretti that you feel you can't with the Litespeed? Or is it just that time of the year again when everyone gets that new bike itch?
what's wrong with the Litespeed?bartali
Mar 7, 2001 8:41 AM
It's not Italian. :o)
what's wrong with the Litespeed?bill
Mar 7, 2001 11:34 AM
I have a 1998 Litespeed Natchez. It's their intro frame. I basically stole it for $1300, built up with a 105 triple.
As for what the Pegoretti would do for me, I think that our friend Bartali may be as correct as anyone, but I'll attempt a considered response. It all started when I rode a friend's mid-eighties Masi last summer. I rode the bike only a couple of miles, but, you know, dammit, it felt great. The bike just seemed to want to go. The bike did not fit (he'd be happy to sell it, btw; I think it's a 53 cm -- too small for me at 5'8" -- in those days, people had different ideas about fit), but, despite my Litespeed's weight advantage, newer components, and trick wheels, the Masi felt faster. Why? I think that the Masi was stiffer, I think that the geometry was slightly more aggressive, and I think that there just may be something to this balanced, tuned steel thing. My Litespeed is fine. I think that I'll keep it, even if I do get another bike, but, you know. I also wouldn't mind a little color, which is clearly just an Italian thing.
Masibartali
Mar 8, 2001 4:18 AM
bill - Go this site: http://www.sheldonbrown.com/vrbn-g-n.html#masi

You can read up on the Masi myth.

I visited Alberto Masi at the Vigorelli Velodrome in Milano, Italy in May 1999. He has his "laboratory" there. One can barely notice it, as he has a "Masi" sticker on the glass out front and nothing else.

Inside one will find a MUSEUM of cycling history: many photos of all the greats who rode Masi (either his dad's work or his): Coppi, Anquetil, Merckx just to name a few. Alberto showed me the wheels his father Faliero built for Fausto Coppi when he set the hour record on a Masi with "Legnano" stickers in 1942. He also showed me the prototype that Faliero built for Fausto Coppi that Bianchi used to build Coppi's bikes (Coppi would go to Faliero Masi to be sized).

All in all, I spent one hour with a delightful, confident and proud man. He would not stop talking. I can't tell you what a pleasure it was.

We talked about cycling today ("Miguel Indurain, one of the all time greats?), his innovations ("they literally laughed at me when I created the 3V with oversized tubes and now they are ALL copying me") and of course Eddy Merckx ("the greatest athlete of all time") and Fausto Coppi ("As a little boy I used to sign his autographs for fans").

I did not buy a frame from him as I did not have my cycling shoes to be properly measured (all Masi frames are made to order). But I shall return as I travel to Italy at least once per year.