RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Fixed Gear


Archive Home >> Fixed Gear


ENO hub review/new fix(9 posts)

ENO hub review/new fixscrublover
Jan 20, 2004 9:20 AM
Picked up my rear wheel built on a White Industries ENO eccentric axle flip flop hub yesterday.

Meant for an old Giant TCR Team frame (a 2000, I think) that I've been able to run a 42x16 on fixed, just by getting lucky.

Bad detail on some of these; sorry. Got tired of taking the flipflop wheel of my Crosscheck to use on this, and finally plunked the $$ down on it. 18T freewheel is soon to go on this side.

While I'm running a 17 cog on this one. 44 on the front. Threads where tight, but everything went on nice and easy.
Big fat fixing bolts. Parking lot testing, including some good stops with backpressure indicate no slippage so far....

Great chainline, right out of the box; front ring on the outer spot, with a 107mm spindle, and a Ritchey crank.

Faaaaaast ride, even tooling around just a little. A real ride to follow later today!

If'n you have an old vert drop frame, this is a great way to go! Only wish they had a fixed/fixed version! Oh well.
Nice photos...PdxMark
Jan 20, 2004 10:30 AM
That puts me in a mind to convert a hardtail mtn bike that's just hanging in my basement. It's an old black CAAD2 Canny & looks a bit like your Giant.
Nice photos...scrublover
Jan 20, 2004 10:50 AM
go for it. the mtb guys over on the SS board have nothing bad to say about it offroad so far. i think it's a great option, rather than a chain tensioner. though it ain't cheap. the hub runs $120-140. not to bad, if it revitalizes an old bike, though. a decent fixie wheel would've run me only a bit less than what i paid for this, and i can use it on any road vert drop frame i have in the future, too.
re: ENO hub review/new fixblownpupil
Jan 20, 2004 11:59 AM
cool bike, scrublover. i'd been waiting for an eno review before taking the plunge.
by the way, what does your bike's head tube have written on it?
re: ENO hub review/new fixgspot
Jan 20, 2004 12:46 PM
the head tube says 'single speed outlaw' and cars r coffins. these are stickers...
also, your front brake housing looks roo long??
nice bike..
yep.....fixscrublover
Jan 20, 2004 1:32 PM
left it a bit longer than needed. a "reall" nitto moustache bar is showing up tomorrow (love UPS tracking) and i may also go a bit shorter on my stem. left it long until i decide my final front end setup, than i'll trim it down. i think the nitto bars are longer in the reach than these van dessel bars.
about those dessel stach' bars...gspot
Jan 20, 2004 3:23 PM
want to unload them, seeing that the real bars are coming...??

e me @ gspotbike84@hotmail.com to discuss...

thanks
Question about the bb...SenorPedro
Jan 21, 2004 7:22 AM
So, is this bike originally spec'd with a 68 (or 73) x 110 bb, which you replaced for a 107 and then moved the ring to the outside? Using a standard road double crank? Thanks a lot, the bike looks great and I especially like the ring on the outside of the crank.

-Pedro
Question about the bb...scrublover
Jan 22, 2004 4:21 PM
don't know the original spindle length, as i bought the frame off e-bay a few years ago. 68mm shell, though. yep, standard ritchey road crank. i've got a few differents spindle lengths for the action-tec bb. eyeballed the 107 first, looked like it'd work, and it did just fine. didn't even remotely measure anything. my front could move in jsut a tiney bit, or the rear out a bit i suppose. like a .5mm difference, maybe. i'll throw a spacer under the cog next time i fiddle around with the gearing.