RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Fixed Gear


Archive Home >> Fixed Gear


lockring(9 posts)

lockringmon t
Nov 24, 2003 3:32 PM
I have a question regarding lockrings. I have a really nice rear freewheel style wheel I would like to redish and use on my fixie. How big of a deal is it to use such a wheel, along with a bb lockring on the freewheel threads - as opposed to a track set-up with the reverse lockring threads?

Is this really a Bad Thing? Or is it just a coolness type deal??

I will have a rear brake, as I will be using the bike in events that require them. Thanx !!!
re: lockringukiahb
Nov 24, 2003 7:46 PM
opinions and experiences vary on this...though many people have used freewheel hubs successfully (myself included FWIW...w/o a lockring)....for an excellent write-up on the pros and cons of the various types of hubs and lockrings see Sheldon Brown's page at
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/fixed-conversion.html
re: lockringmr_e
Nov 25, 2003 12:11 AM
BAD THING....

Maybe this is just subjective, but if you are going fixed, you might as well ride a fixed gear. Part of that is using the rear wheel to control speed. I've seenkids blow cogs WITH a reverse thread lock ring in skids, why risk it without? Loctite seems to be a poor substitute for proper equipment, ant with cheap Surly, Kogswell etc hubs, its not that much money for a new rear wheel ($100?!). Why risk it if you need the rear wheel?
moremon t
Nov 25, 2003 6:10 AM
hey thanks mr e. but, here is the deal - i HAVE the standard freewheel hub/wheel. i have a bb lockring to use as a lockring on the freewheel hub. it costs me nothing. yeah, a hundie is not too much to spend but then again it is a set of new tires and a chain for my daughter's race bike or a weekend of entry fees for the family. what i am wondering is if the bb lockring and some locktite will R-E-A-L-L-Y be a problem for my use or if it is just a Thing Fixie Guys Think Is Proper. my intended use for the bike is fix riding thru the country side ( we have like 6 stop and go lights in the entire county . . . . . .) and the odd triathlon leg here and there culminating in an ironman next year. i am not gonna be riding around courier style skidding and stuff, and will have a rear brake on there also. i can see where a cog threaded on with no bb lockring and just some locktite might be a problem, but i also can't see where the cog would actually unscrew WITH a bb lockring on the standard hub. an i missing something ??? thanx again!!
Use it as it is.eddie m
Nov 25, 2003 8:13 AM
It takes a long time to develop the skill to apply a lot of of back pressure, and skidding like a bike messenger is a costly way to stop. If you have a front brake you will always have control of the bike even in the unlikely event the cog unscrews. If you like the fixed gear, you can switch to a track hub when you need to rebuild the wheel.
I'm on my third road wheel with no problems.
Not the whole story ..Steve Young
Nov 25, 2003 8:58 AM
I haven't got enough experience to make a recommendation either way with respect to using a fixed or a free hub. (I wouldn't take the chance on what I regard as a safety factor but that's one of those individual choice things :)

However, I have to question "If you have a front brake you will always have control of the bike even in the unlikely event the cog unscrews"

It's not a sure thing that you would maintain control of your bike if the cog undoes, the whole drivechain tangles in the back wheel and locks up solid. Again, with no experience I would think this is the more likely outcome than slowing gently to a stop using the front brake. In the case of unscrewing, you stand a good chance of wrecking one or more of the cog, the chain and possible the chainstays. in which case we may be talking false economy.. (if it happens)

Steve
Not the whole story ..mr_e
Nov 25, 2003 9:44 AM
I'm not talking messenger style, long distance, mandoilookcool stops either, but normal, rear wheel backpressure to control speed in short, speed check type movments. I know you already have the parts, but you were asking for opinion. My opinion is that spending the $100 for your safety is better then spending it on a chain. Ods are your daughter will appreciate having a dad in good health more then a dad who bought her a chain (I think, I've never had a daughter =). I don't think a hundred bucks is much to keep my teeth in my head an prevent injury. Maybe if you only pedal up hill, but even on the flats approaching wide open stops a little bit of negative resiistance is a good thing to slow you down. Multiply that by 6 stop lights and one emergancy skid when that car pulls out in front of you, and you have no rear cog attachment. I'm spending the money, but maybe thats just me. Stay safe either way!
Not the whole story ..eddie m
Nov 25, 2003 10:43 AM
As long as I have a working front brake, I think the risk of unscrewing a fixed cog is pretty small. First of all, it's never happened in the 10 years or so that I've been riding fixed. Second, if it did I think it would be about as dangerous as dropping a derailer chain, which happens frequently but doesn't often cause much damage. In any event, even a track hub will sometimes fail and unscrew its cog.
By far the greater risk of riding fixed is scraping a pedal, or catching a shoelace or pants cuff in the chain.
re: lockringRoundabout
Nov 25, 2003 2:09 PM
I did my conversion a few months ago and have had no problems with my regular hub/locktite/lockring setup. I use backpressure to slow down but I also have both front and back brakes and I use them when I need to.