RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Fixed Gear


Archive Home >> Fixed Gear


soma rush?(8 posts)

soma rush?mon t
Oct 26, 2003 12:41 PM
anybody got one of these, or ride one/check one out up close? i'm leaning toward one, with a parts bin build. would like to hear from somebody who might have experience with one - likes/dislikes/comparisons etc. thanx!

www.somafab.com
How about a Kogswell?ss-nyc
Oct 26, 2003 4:52 PM
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efdc42a

See my post below or check them out:
www.kogswell.com

$339 for frame/fork in Lugged steel
Checked out both and...Grizfan
Oct 26, 2003 5:47 PM
I looked at a kogswell frame this weekend & was impressed with the lugs and detail, cool internal cabel routing stamped dropouts smooth paint. The soma in green looked nice the black has ugly pink decals, paint was so so, decent fork. I dont know the cost comparison? Bottom line the Kogswell is nicer to look at (old school)but thats just my humble opinion. good luck...
I did too and...ss-nyc
Oct 27, 2003 4:47 AM
I bought the Kogswell. (see pic below or my earleir post which has more pics)

The Soma is $495 for the frame/fork which is 631 tubing. It is drilled for short reach brakes front and back but can only fit a 700x28 tire.

The Kogswell is $339 for the frame/fork which is " ECO brand Cro-Mo" tubing which I think is just a variation of 4130. It uses long reach brakes, drilled for front and rear, has top tube internal brake cable routing, can fit 700x32s and maybe even with fenders, and has rack and fender mounts. It rides like a dream so far but I am just about finnished with building it.
Do you have the Kogsell hubs?gpsser
Oct 27, 2003 1:31 PM
and if so, what do you think of them.
Yes I do...ss-nyc
Oct 27, 2003 5:30 PM
They seemed really nice but I am not an expert so I can only pass along what my LBS stated. Just for reference, they are not your average bike shop that might see one track bike a year, they are the BEST shop in NYC that caters to everything track and fixed gear: BikeWorks http://www.bikecult.com/works/

Anyway, the owner of the shop and head mechanic said on first glance that they are much nicer than the Van Dessel hubs and look almost identical to the Surly rear hub. After building the wheelset which was no more difficult than the Surly hubs he did state that they seemed to be real smooth and were finished nicely. He was also impressed that the front came with a Q/R but that was probably marketing on Kogswell's part since their average customer is not going to use them on the track and will probably never lock the bike up so security of the front wheel is not an issue.

The hubs are 135mm which is why he only compared them to other 135mm offerings like Surly and Van Dessel. These are not nearly as nice as Phils but they seem to match the quality of Surly hubs.

For me it was an easy decision, Surly Steamroller for $399 and hubs for $125 or Kogswell Fixed for $339 and hubs for $80. It just did not seem to be worth the extra money for Surly when the Kogswell had more features on the frame that were important to me.

The only issue is the frame/hub is 135mm spaced with a 52mm chainline. This can easily be resolved by using a Shimano Double crank with a larger BB and putting the ring in the outer position or just use a Shimano triple road crank with the ring in the outer position which is a 50mm and only 2mm off the chainline of the hubs. If you want to be perfect you can install some spacers and push the ring out the other 2mm or just use a Shimano mountain bike crank that already has the outer ring position at 52mm.

Hope this all helps.
i've got onetrackmike
Oct 28, 2003 4:29 PM
i got a soma last year and it's been great so far. the frame is a great design, steep angles, quick handling. the bike is very light for a steel bike, i'd put it up against any other steel track bike and it is probably the lightest (except for maybe a gunnar, or some custom job)

the paint is solid, its held up for a year so far, the color i got was the black and it has dark purple logos not PINK like somebody else reported.

i also got the soma seat post, and the soma stem which i would reccomend beause i'm pretty sure they just took a profile stem and put a soma logo on it, and the seat post was also really nice.

your going to pay a little bit more for it, but for what i wanted to do it was the best deal. (ride around town/go to the velodrome a couple times a year) i've ridden surly steamrollers before, around town and at the velodrome and they just aren't designed well for riding on the track.

the only thing i don't like about is that it's really new school looking, if i could do it over again i would like to get a lugged mercian, or an old cinelli or de rosa.

hands down when you get your soma out of the box it's going to bring you smiles. it's a gorgeous frame, and you'll probably be the only guy in town with one.
Hey Mike, We're having a fixed SS ride in HoustonDave Hickey
Oct 30, 2003 12:09 PM
MXL02, Tig and I are getting together for a SS/fixed ride on Dec 14. We'll probably meet in the NASA area