RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Fixed Gear


Archive Home >> Fixed Gear


What kind of pedals?(11 posts)

What kind of pedals?redglobal
Oct 22, 2003 7:06 AM
I am new to the fixed gear thing. The guy at the bike shop is saying I should go with the Time Mtb pedals for how easy they are to get in and out. I'm thinking platform because I have never tried fixed and want easy bailout if I need to. Thanks for any help.
straps or clipless...cmgauch
Oct 22, 2003 7:47 AM
I've been riding a fixed gear for about three months now. Initially I used cages & straps, which I made as tight as possible about 3 miles into the 1st ride. By the third ride I was using a pair of Time pedals borrowed from my ‘cross bike.

I've given my opinion on platforms here before. They're useless: you're basically helpless to slow down since you can only apply resistance on the upstroke. This just jacks you out of the saddle. For braking power, resisting the down stroke is where it's at.

You'll see, bailing out won't really be an issue. Just plan your rides carefully and think a move or two further ahead than you would on a geared/brake bike. When you get a death grip on the bars, rock your body back. and stop that crank from going down you'll know you got it, Then you'll want the most solid connection to the pedals you can get.

You'll have no choice but to bail out if you run platforms w/no brakes.
Suggestion...jtferraro
Oct 22, 2003 8:02 AM
My bike came w/clip & strap pedals. Since I really don't like clips & straps, I removed them right away. I then tooled around my apt. parking lot and up and down my street w/these pedals - just to get used to not being able to coast. It is nice to be able to quickly remove your feet from the pedals if you accidentally try coasting down a small hill, etc. However, there are major limitations to not being locked to the pedals on a fixie, as you can use the pedals/cranks to slow yourself down, too. I just installed a set of Shimano mtb SPD's but have yet to ride them. I agree w/your LBS in that it's nice to have a set of double sided (easy in/out) pedals on the fixie. Good Luck!

-Jeff
re: What kind of pedals?Roundabout
Oct 22, 2003 11:48 AM
I am also new to fixie riding (about a month) and cannot imagine riding the bike with platform pedals. You need a very firm attachment to the bike to be able to spin at high speeds or to wrestle a big gear up a hill. Although it is hilly around here, I have never "bailed," just braked on steep downhills and I do that less and less.

I use Speedplay Frogs. They are 2-sided and you cannot detach from them without rotating your heels outward.

Good luck.
re: What kind of pedals?Trevo
Oct 22, 2003 12:33 PM
I liked Toe cages when I had them. I tried the clip-in mountain pedals that were just lying around MY apartment. I like the clip-in pedals, but Iam only using them cause the Converse All stars I used to ride with my toe-cages got ripped in half when my lace got caught in the crank arms rotation:(
I'd go clips if you know how to use them, but if not try and find some of the older Shimano 105 toe-cage pedals They are sweet! The ones pictured are the Dura-Ace version.
I have a pair of the 105 clip pedals.... moregspot
Oct 22, 2003 1:46 PM
I just found a pair that i had from some project in my basement. i knever even knew that i had them??
talk about bad memory. so do you have any info on them as i want to find more about them...
thanks
I'm a frog lover...wolfereeno
Oct 22, 2003 9:32 PM
and thinking about getting a fixed gear. Do you find the Frogs give you a secure enough connection to the bike? I love my frogs but wonder about their application on a fixed gear because they are easier to pop out of than other pedals.
I used platforms for the same reason...pauly
Oct 23, 2003 5:38 AM
...it lasted about 7 minutes. If you are used to clipless, use them on the FG. I love my Time ATACS.
I use Looks.dzrider
Oct 23, 2003 9:55 AM
I am used to them to the point where they're easiest in and out for me. The pedal is big enough to feel comfortable when I ride them around the city at lunch time. When I do, I find myself using the front brake more, which might be a problem if you don't have one.
I have never popped out of Frogs. (nm)Roundabout
Oct 23, 2003 10:59 AM
Time ATACOverStuffed
Oct 23, 2003 2:16 PM
I used cages and toe clips for about a minute before switching to the ATACs. In the 8 months since then, I haven't reconsidered for a minute.

--Kevin