RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Fixed Gear


Archive Home >> Fixed Gear


Gonna to get fixed, have some questions about frames and Geo(13 posts)

Gonna to get fixed, have some questions about frames and GeoSwat Dawg
May 13, 2003 7:38 PM
I am looking to get into this fixed gearitis that I see rampant on this board, and have a few questions about the bikes and geometry. I have been trying to decide whether I want to go with a true track frame bike, a roadish track bike like the Bianchi Pista, or whether to go with the something from the Surly line like the crosscheck or steamroller. On behalf of the Crosscheck I would be able to race Cyclocross on it this Winter fixed or free, and I would have lots of space for big tires if I wanted to go off-roadin'. I am concerned about the bikes geometry causing the bike to steer like a boat when I'm on the road though. In the case of the steamroller, I lose the wintertime cross-ability and I hate 1" threaded headsets (Flexy and ugly to me, basically personal preference). The benefits would more track geometry and still clearance for big tires. The Bianchi is a really cool bike, and fits what I want, is cheap, out the box ready to ride. A true track bike would be really cool, just cause. I mean they are just cool. I would also be able to race it at the velodrome in Lehigh this summer. So which do you think would be the best option to buy right now. I would like to think I would have the money to get another fixie later in the year, but it is doubtful, so this one is probably it for a while. Throw out some options, let me hear what you think.

Thanks
advice:Steve_0
May 14, 2003 3:41 AM
never buy a bike simply because it's 'really cool'. Go over to the general discussion forum and look at all the money and time spent by people on 'really cool' bikes looking to get comfortable and maintain the latest technology.

Even though I (usually) advocate multiple uses for a single bike, your criteria is tough...cyclocross racing AND velodrome racing might warrant a few bikes. Certainly, neither is preferrable for the other activity.

Personally, I'd prioritize and select whichever will give you the most use, and decide later if you really have the time/energy/desire to pursue the other activies. Steamroller is a good middle ground, IMO.
When in doubt, go cheap.dzrider
May 14, 2003 5:18 AM
In my life it's been difficult to foretell what I'm going to like. It sounds like you're not real sure either. Get a beater and see what kind of riding you're spirit moves you to try and get a bike that makes it possible to do that.
re: Gonna to get fixed, have some questions about frames and GeoD_man
May 14, 2003 6:25 AM
According to the Surly website, the 2003 Steamrollers use a 1" "threadedless" headset.
What's the difference between 1" threadedless and threaded? (NM)Swat Dawg
May 14, 2003 7:15 AM
What's the difference between 1" threadedless and threaded? (NM)Steve_0
May 14, 2003 8:02 AM
threaded (quill) stems are the traditional stems that have been used on bikes for about a century (you know, single bolt in-line with the stem).

'Threadless' stems are those 'modern' stems which clamp around the steerer. No measurable benefit over quill (in fact, less versatile than quill); Little more than a marketing concept.
Surly Typo...ss-nyc
May 14, 2003 11:13 AM
see my answer to your post in the components discussion.
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efcd1f7

I emailed Surly and they are going to fix the typo on thier website. There is no such thing as "thread-ED-less". Thier 2003 grey model is "1 inch threadless" which replaces the 2002 brown model which was "1 inch threaded".

hope this helps.
Surly Typo...D_man
May 14, 2003 12:29 PM
Dang man! Just a typo? I thought Surly was making some kind of bold innovation in bicycle technology! ;)
Surly Lite! 50% less threads! Tastes Great! Less Filling! -nmSnowBlind
May 15, 2003 7:36 AM
Options...ss-nyc
May 14, 2003 10:19 AM
I have had the same problem in the past few weeks deciding on what I may want to get and here is what I have found:

Surly -
Unless you have some of the parts this could be more expensive than purchasing a pre-built fixed/track-style bike. Steel, very smooth ride, nice room for big tires, drilled for front brake, can accommodate rear brake. 1" threadless fork.

Bianchi -
Steel, very nice ride, drilled for front brake, not drilled for rear brake, very little clearance for tires...maybe a 700x25 at best, more aggressive geometry than the Surly, 1" threadless fork.

Fuji -
Steel, very smooth ride, drilled for front and rear brakes, very little clearance for tires...maybe a 700x25 at best, the most "road-like" geometry, MORE SIZES than other manufacturers which could mean a better fit depending on your size. Better components than the 2002 model, 1" threadless fork.

KHS -
Overpriced for what you get. The Fuji and Bianchi are much better bikes for about $100 less than this piece of garbage.

Since you mentioned Cross you may want to look at the Van Dessel Country Road BOB. It is an aluminum frame with a carbon fork and can be found new on eBay for very cheap prices for a frame, can be purchased direct from their website, or look for a local dealer. Those that own one and have posted here and on the singlespeed board at mtbr.com seem to love the versatility of this frame or bike.
http://www.vandesselsports.com/
http://www.vandesselsports.com/b_cntryBob.shtml

hope this helps.
Thanks, thats exactly the type of info I've been looking for! nmSwat Dawg
May 14, 2003 1:06 PM
No problem...and some more information...ss-nyc
May 14, 2003 2:15 PM
I should have mentioned earlier that I have ridden all of the bikes so what I gave you was "my opinion" and not those I have found on discussion boards.

In NYC, I am lucky to be able to go to a few different shops to try things out since this market really caters to messengers and people that just do laps on a fixie in Central Park so local stores have been stocking a great deal of fixed/track/single-speed stuff in the past few years.

I should also mention that in terms of "metals"...
- I hate alumnium becasue I think it is too harsh
- I love steel becasue it almost always rides smoooooooooth
- I love Titanium becasue it rides like steel, gives you some extra "cush", does not rust like steel but is too expensive for a fixie in my opinion since a fixie is supposed to be a low maintenenace fun bike

Oh yeah, and I owned a KHS fixie from a few years ago and sold it within months because it just plain sucked a$$. I rode the new model just to give it another chance and it still felt like a piece of garbage...So in my opinion, why is it more expensive than the Bianchi and Fuji which are superior bikes? I wish someone could explain it to me.

Anyway, good like on your decision and just make sure to post pictures when you have built and/or purchased something.
I'll definitely post when I get it, I think its between...Swat Dawg
May 14, 2003 4:46 PM
the fuji and the steamroller. I work at a shop and get stuff at cost so either one will be a good deal for me. I have tried to ask the guys at the shop what they think, but they aren't all that up on the Fixed stuff, so I come here and get good answers. I like the steamroller (now that whole threadedless crap is figured out) most because it has a geometry I like, and lots of space for big wheels and fenders when I'm out this winter. I like the Fuji because it come in the box ready to go, and would ultimately be cheaper. I mean, there is something for ease of setup. The Road Bob was a thought, but I think I will be happier get a specific road fixie now, and then looking to get a CX bike, maybe setup SS, in the Fall/early Winter. In terms of taking it off-road, I might just try to borrow a mtb SS for the summer from one of the guys at the shop. So depending on cost, I think it will be the steamroller. I'll definitely post pics. Look out for some more questions about components as I get into the process of building. Thanks again for the help.