RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Fixed Gear


Archive Home >> Fixed Gear


How much can I get for this?(23 posts)

How much can I get for this?dovid
Apr 1, 2003 11:44 AM
I'm trying to fund a new Bianch Pista by selling my Trek 320 road bike. I was thinking of converting it but the weight of the frame changed my mind. It's in very good condition. It was purchased for $599, is asking for $200 fair? It has a new saddle and tires.
weight schmeightSteve_0
Apr 2, 2003 8:46 AM
first off, I dont think 200 is fair at all. I doubt my carbon 2000 is worth much more than that; mint condition unridden for 7 years.

Anyway, why let the weight bother you? Firstly, weight is only an issue for climbs. Even then, you'd be suprised at just how small the weight penalty is under most circumstances.

Forget the pista, save your money, and convert the trek. IMO, FGs are MEANT to be converted; not purchased new.
weight schmeightFixie-ated
Apr 2, 2003 9:40 AM
Second that. Unless you are planning on a velodrome career, recycle that cycle.

My Fuji and my Bianchi were doomed until I converted them. Now they are favorites instead of outdated anchors.
Indeed ...Humma Hah
Apr 2, 2003 10:33 AM
... there's something of a tradition in fixed-gear and singlespeeding of rescuing old bikes for the purpose. They work as well or better than most new ones, and the satisfaction of experiencing the rebirth of a marginally-adequate gearie into a spunky fixie that renews your joy in riding is something I wish all cyclists would experience.
Humma's right...OverStuffed
Apr 2, 2003 2:55 PM
I converted a 20 year old Peugeot, cut 5 lbs off the total weight and it's "only" 25 lbs. Still, I've gotten much more satisfaction out of doing the work, making adjustments, and I've never had more fun on a bike than I have on this one. When you put even a little bit of yourself in the bike, you won't let it die and you'll have fun riding.
OK! But...dovid
Apr 2, 2003 4:46 PM
I built a high end mtn bike from the frame up. I know the feeling you get when you do it yourself. Please don't think I'm a rookie at this. But I am serious about getting a Track bike. I'm still thinking about converting. Can somebody point me to a website where I can get those same wheels that come with Bianchi Pista? and a nice crank and a bb? My budget for conversion would be around $350-$400. Thank you for all your replies, I appreciate everyone's input.
Parts and such...Lone Gunman
Apr 2, 2003 5:01 PM
Unsure what wheels are on the Pista but you could lace up a set of Velocity Aerohead rims to a DA or Suzue Pro or Phil Wood hubs and get more DA stuff (crank, bb), use some BMX stuff, IT WILL NOT LOOK "COBBLED" TOGETHER, and then you have the heart and soul of a great fixie. Shop around for a unique frame that might come a long and snipe it.

Saw a message on this board for a cool fixie site with links to SS stuff. Or you could shop Excelsports.com or Harris cycle (Sheldon Brown). You save money with using the BMX stuff, at least I did.
Mavic CXP22 32 hole db spokes to Bianchi hf hubs(nm)Mariowannabe
Apr 7, 2003 11:51 AM
I can attest to the other posters opinions...Lone Gunman
Apr 2, 2003 4:49 PM
My perspective was before I was going to spend any loot on a fixed gear bike it had to meet 2 criteria; unique and cheaply purchased.

Went to the LBS and inquired about used bikes he had in his shop that he wanted to unload cheaply, maybe something Italian or full chrome, as I had been hunting around for a semi unique quality frameset in my size and had not had any luck so far. He pointed me in the direction of his sidewalk sale stuff and there I spied the full chrome Schwinn Voyageur 11.8. Very dirty, unmaintained, etc. Still full chrome. Unique. It screamed fixie project. Took some measurements, the top tube was my size. Took a greater interest and came home and did some inquiries on the net. Seems the bike had some value to it, Japanese made Schwinn and the chrome of that vintage was very solid stuff, although at first glance it appeared to be rusted and pitted heavily in the bb area. The shop offer was $65.

Came home and thought about it and went back the next day and snagged it, brought it home and started stripping off parts until I had it down to the frame and scrubbed and polished and rubbed some more. It was like I was coaxing the genie out of the bottle. When I was done with the frame there was not a spec of rust, what I thought was rust was a yellow film from lubrication and the only damage to the frame was 2 dings in the top tube. Stunning full chrome frame. Started cleaning up parts and the bb, hs, crank, pedals, derailers, rims, brakeset were all good parts and I had a good rebuilt front hi flange hub to use.

The hunt for the parts I needed was as fun as the polishing and the rebuild. Got some BMX parts to finish the job and scored a 110 stem for the odd ball fork/hs to replace the 80 that was original parts. Got the bike up and running and have been having fun with it ever since.

If your Trek frame fits you and you have most of the parts there to finish the job, get some BMX parts (cogs, ring bolts, rings, chain) and some nice wheels laced up and have a blast with the Trek. Budget about $300 to complete the job, it will probably be less, depends on wheels price you go with. Your frame does not weigh too much, not after you strip off the heavy parts.
I can attest to the other posters opinions...dovid
Apr 2, 2003 5:03 PM
the bike weighs around 26 pounds. the frame is chromoly. it's heavy!. i want to finish this project before May 4th, the date of Bike Tour NY.
That's not so bad ...Humma Hah
Apr 2, 2003 5:15 PM
... my singlespeed century bike weighs 42. If it weighs 26 pounds with a der, you'll probably lose about 4 going to singlespeed, and that's what my fixed Paramount is going to weigh.

Yeah, you can build a 16-pound fixie if you're racing. But that chro-mo frame's gonna be nearly indestructable. The whole philosophy of singlespeed and fixed is that you don't obsess over the small stuff, just ride! You'll hardly notice the weight, in fact a really heavy singlespeed happens to make a uniquely satisfying ride.
That was the weight of the Schwinn...Lone Gunman
Apr 2, 2003 5:16 PM
Heavy wheels, tires, tubes, brakes with safety levers, heavy seat, it probably is under 20# at this point.

I just checked the site I mentioned oldskoolbikes.com or something like that listed down below, single posting, mentions something about "cool site I found". If you can't find what you need there in the links section well, I don't know what to say. The swap board I looked at was flooded with parts and track bikes and wheelsets. And that was only one board, there were several plus websites of mfgers and retailers!!
The cost of converting...dovid
Apr 2, 2003 7:20 PM
if I spend $300-400(on wheels, crank, bb, freewheel, pedals, chain, bar tape) on converting, i might as well get a Pista for $500. I can sell the Trek for at least $100 which would make up the difference. as much as i like messing around with my bikes and like the idea of making something old shiny again, it's not economical.
The cost of converting...Fixie-ated
Apr 3, 2003 5:28 AM
Sounds like your mind is made up on the Pista. It looks like an awesome bike, though I don't know much about the geometry, especially if you are planning on riding it in a lengthy tour.

I also think the $300.00 to $400.00 estimate is way high. All I did for my two bikes was re-dish a couple of thread on rear wheels (no cost) bought a 14 cog and a 16 cog (combined cost of $28.00)and a couple of chains (combined cost of $30.00). That was my only cost of conversion, roughly $30.00 per bike.

I used standard road cranks (170) and everything else that I needed from the original set up.

Enjoy your new Pista, but keep the Trek around for the rainy days.
Right ...Humma Hah
Apr 3, 2003 7:55 AM
... for a basically functional bike as a starting point, the conversion should be limited to stripping off useless parts and screwing on a freewheel or fixed cog, assuming its an older wheel originally equipped with a 5-7 speed freewheel. If not, just scrounge a nice old wheel of this type and work from there.

$30-ish bucks is a credible conversion cost.
CostLone Gunman
Apr 3, 2003 6:10 PM
Actually, my cost or estimation of cost was from my experience on the Schwinn. I had about $170? in a wheelset [hub, build, rims, cog&FR,lockring, tubes, strips,tires] and another $30-$50 to finish. Also included in my $300 was the original frame purchase $65.
huh?Steve_0
Apr 3, 2003 6:36 AM
doesnt your trek already have wheels, cranks, pedals, chain, tape, etc ? I'd imagine so if you hope to get 200 for it.

A fixie should cost between 12 bucks and 100 bucks to convert, depending upon the current rear wheel. Maybe a tiny bit more if you have STI and you want (dont need) aerolevers.

Do what you want; but for the record, it's very satisfying to ride a 15 year old 'junker' (which cost 12 bucks to convert circa 1990) past out-of-the-box, dime-a-dozen 'go fast' 'modern' machines. And you dont look the the rest of the bandwagoneers.

my 2cents.
What about a used one?dzrider
Apr 3, 2003 7:02 AM
I got a Look 96 for $267.50. I couldn't get the seat post tight in the tube - now fixed (literally) with epoxy. The rear axle was broken - fixed for a $12.00 part, bearings, and some grease. Me and the 14 year old smile every time we ride it.
yeadovid
Apr 6, 2003 8:22 AM
i understand what you guys are saying. but none of you have seen my bike. the wheels on the Trek are unusable. i wouldn't trust them on high speed manuevers(about $150-200 right there on new wheels). the chain rings are worn out, bb creaks, and those crank arms are not usable for high stress purposes(around $150 for these new parts). the pedals are platforms that hurt my toes after 20 min. it was a nice beginner bike and i'm happy with every ride i had on it. but it's time for a change. i'm more interested in hearing about the geometry of Pista. is it suitable for 50 mile rides with a backpack? thank you.
this might sound like an urban legend....tatter
Apr 7, 2003 8:10 AM
but my friend rode his bianchi pista from st. louis to chicago. with no sleep stops. yup, that's 320 miles (using a messenger bag) on a fixie with no brakes.

so. in answer to your question. as long as it fits correctly, it's suitable for 50 miles rids.

-tatter
Hey, my mom's friend's cousin did that, too! nm.Steve_0
Apr 7, 2003 9:41 AM
Sounds like a new bike will make you happy ...Humma Hah
Apr 7, 2003 10:27 AM
... and so that's what you should get. The Pista's not very expensive compared to most new roadbikes.

Also sounds like you like the Trek just like it is, and it would be a good rainy-day beater.
Sounds like a new bike will make you happy ...dovid
Apr 7, 2003 4:14 PM
it's a nice bike. been riding it for 5 years. but i still want to sell it. heading to a very expensive grad school in the fall after 3 years of college, need cheddah to fund the Pista. i think i can get at least $100 for it. the idea of getting a new bike does sound good. here's a link to me on the Trek:

http://gallery.consumerreview.com/roadbike/gallery/files/ParkRide.asp