RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Fixed Gear


Archive Home >> Fixed Gear


Looking for fixed(13 posts)

Looking for fixedOverhill
Dec 25, 2002 8:12 AM
Haven't ridden fixed gear in over 20 years, but reading this forum has whetted my interest. Don't want to spend too much initially, and don't have time or parts to build. I want fixed for road use-training. I have seen some e-bay listings for a seller named cino59. He has sold a couple of bikes and has 2 more listed. They are rebuilt road bikes, and sell for fairly low prices. He now has a Bianchi and a Windsor, both close to the right size. Anybody have experience with this seller as to fixed gear? Is this a reasonable approach for my purposes?
Any suggestions?
Thanks. I enjoy these forums.
re: Looking for fixeddesmo
Dec 25, 2002 9:51 AM
Although I have not delt personally with this seller, I have seen his auctions as they always show up when doing a search for "track". My personal opinion is that those are pretty junkie bikes thrown together with whatever parts are laying around the shop. Ok, that's not a bad way to put a fixie together and one of mine is just like that. But a bike like that should cost about $50 tops, and I see his going for $200 plus all the time. Plus he charges $35 packing on top of the shipping fee which I feel is excessive. If you're going to put in some "real" miles on a fixed gear bike, including out of the saddle sprints, and 30 mph descents you need to have a well built, SAFE bike. I think in the long run it would be a better value to buy a new Bianchi Pista, KHS, or Fuji entry level track bike. Add a front brake and go. If it's not for you the resale will be better than a cino59 or similar clunker.
re: Looking for fixedSteve_0
Dec 26, 2002 5:47 AM
i agree 200 bucks for an old converstion seems excessive.

I take exception, though, to the concept that a track bike is inherintly better 'built' or 'safer' than a conversion (actually, specifically for descents, a converted road bike is MORE ideally suited than a track bike). Thats not to say that cino59's conversions are actually safe (or arent), but I know mine is.

Also, I personally believe a road frame is more appropriate for most riders who are putting on 'real' miles.
re: Yes, but..fixedgearhead
Dec 26, 2002 7:40 AM
Road frames are more relaxed riding on the street. Track frames are more "skittish".
Sometimes you want relaxed.
Sometimes you want shittish.
All are "real miles".
I do 50-75 miles daily year round with 100 miles once a month on both types. You pays your money and takes your choice.

fixedgearhead
I was not implying thatdesmo
Dec 26, 2002 7:55 AM
track frames were safer or better built. A well built conversion from a quality road bike frame is ideal. But the original poster stated that he did not want to build a bike. I suggested a new entry level track bike because they are pretty much ready to ride, and you know what you are getting. A better alternative in my opinion than taking a chance on a ebay "fixie mill" bike.
I was not implying thatfixedgearhead
Dec 26, 2002 9:10 AM
I agree with you on that. I don't know anything about the seller on e-bay so I won't comment. I also think that for a newby to aquire a ready made bike it is a safer bet to buy one from a reputable dealer either local or online as they see fit. I was only relating to the statement "real Miles". I guess I had to much Christmas candy.

fixedgearhead
Yes, but ...Humma Hah
Dec 25, 2002 6:24 PM
... the conversions are not that hard, especially on older bikes. A few lines down, you'll see my entry about an old Peugeot I rescued from the trash. I was just looking it over, and think I could make a ridable fixie out of it for about $35 and one afternoon.

If you live anywhere around Northern Virginia, can ride a 60 cm frame, and want to give it a try, I'll give it to you, just to save it from a fate it does not deserve.
Yes, but ...OverStuffed
Dec 26, 2002 11:06 PM
I'm currently riding an 80's Peugeot multi. I've been considering converting iit to fixed--especially since my front derailleur crapped out. Living in DC and interestred in saving bikes worth saving.
Yes, but ...fixedgearhead
Dec 27, 2002 5:49 AM
Contact Sheldon Brown at Harris Cyclery. He is the best sorce for knoledgeable information and parts pertaining to the conversion of, or maintaing of, French Bicycles. I ride a Peugeot PX-10, converted to fixed gear, and it is my favorite bike of all. C'est la Vie!

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/harris

fixedgearhead
Here's a dozen from seller "applecart2"Tig
Dec 26, 2002 9:16 AM
http://cgi6.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewSellersOtherItems&userid=applecart2&include=0&since=-1&sort=3&rows=25

Most will sell tonight, Dec. 26th. Some look decent and are priced well. I can't comment on the seller or his bikes since I have never dealt with him, but the very few negative ratings (he has 504 positives) appeared to not be justified. All the bikes need are your favorite pedals and a better seat.
Um, his 42 x 14 gearing may be a little high for fixed road, good for track. -nmTig
Dec 26, 2002 9:20 AM
re: Looking for fixedOverhill
Dec 27, 2002 9:58 AM
Thanks everybody for the comments. I enjoyed the references to the old French bikes. My circa 1978 track bike was a Lejuene[sp], and about that time I rode with a small Midwest Puegot[sp] team. The PX-10 was the ultimate, but expensive[about $300-350, with sewups] racing bike.
I'll keep looking for a fixed, and thanks again.
What size bike?look271
Dec 29, 2002 5:20 PM
I will have a Bianchi Sport EX fixie for sale as soon as I fix the Gitane I recently purchased. Since I don't want to piss anyone off by not listing it in the classifieds, e-mail me if you're interested: look271@comcast.net