RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Fixed Gear


Archive Home >> Fixed Gear


Favorite fixed gear tires(16 posts)

Favorite fixed gear tiresfixedgearhead
Dec 8, 2002 7:51 AM
Just wondering about favorite fixed gear tires. What with the ability to reverse the rear wheel, some of the tires that have rotational arrows seem inapropriate.
My votes :
Michelin Axial Pro / single sided fixed
Michelin Axial Kevlar / fixed/fixed or fixed/free
Conti Tour 3000/ single sided fixed
Vittoria Twin Tread kevlar /for off road
Avocet cross/ for rough off road
I sometimes buy something that is on sale for blowout prices in an off brand name but the above are my regular purchases.
I have heard some good things about the Tufo Clincher tubular. Does anybody have any info?
What are the recomendations of the group?

Fixedgearhead
Specialized armadillostronracer
Dec 8, 2002 8:48 AM
They're a rough ride, but I don't care...I've never flatted on them.
Armadilloes are the best in my book...Djudd
Dec 8, 2002 9:36 AM
I have no problem with the ride and love the toughness
Why can't you reverse the Axial Pro?LC
Dec 8, 2002 9:35 AM
I never saw anything directional about the Axial Pro.

My usual end up riding in the rain. I like to ride a 25 or 26mm wide tire for the rear for better traction when you stomp on the gas. I use a 23 on the front just because it fits under the fenders. I don't really care about the brand, but I do like the way a fairly lightweight tire will spin up easier.
Why can't you reverse the Axial Pro?fixedgearhead
Dec 8, 2002 1:07 PM
Axial pro's don't have a directional arrow so they should be reversable. On the other hand, I have a set of IRC paperlites with a directional arrow and a cut tread pattern. I suppose that the tread patern is to channel water away from the center of the tire. If you reversed it then you would channel water toward the center of the tire, "in theory", and that may cause some hydroplaning.
It probably dosen't matter but it is interesting that they put the notation on the tire, in the rubber casing. I use the theory that if there is no directional patern then it is reversable. As to the Armadillo's I hate the way they ride. That is worth the chance of flating to not get that buzz. I am just carefull where I ride. No flats for 1-1/2 years and counting. Give me a nice smooth tread anytime.

fixedgearhead
Michelin Axial Carbonmadstork
Dec 9, 2002 5:36 AM
I've had good luck with these on my fixed and geared bikes. I run a 23 now, but I've seen a 25 on aebike.com that I'll probably go for next time on the fixed for a bit more rough road protection.

I like Conti GP3000 also because I don't experience sidewall cuts. Other Contis are another story, especially the low cost ones. I seem to always get sidewall cuts. I may try the GP 4 season tire in the future if I can find it at a good price. It has the Duraskin sidewalls. Anyone with experience on those?

Fixedgearhead, you use the Vittoria Twin Tread kevlar off road. What's your opinion of those for the road?
Michelin Axial Carbonfixedgearhead
Dec 9, 2002 6:06 AM
The twin tread is bulletbroof on the road. Not the fastest tire what with the thicker tread. It is quiet, which I like. I have a bike that is set up as a town bike for riding on debris strewn road sides and some slight dirt road in one particular area and they work great. Not race quality but for the price"cheap"; in the wire bead model good enough.

fixedgearhead
thanks fixedgearhead, I'll try those soon (nm)madstork
Dec 9, 2002 6:23 AM
Conti Ultra 2000Tig
Dec 9, 2002 12:38 PM
I've had good luck with these on several bikes. I put a 25 (at 130 lbs I usually ride 23's) on the rear of the fixte and like the secure cornering and comfort. They have minimal water spraying tread grooves, which is nice when riding in wet, cold conditions. Besides, I get them for only $16.80 using my team's discount at the LBS, so I can replace them without going broke. I run 100-105 psi in the back, 95-100 psi in the front. I'll try a Conti 1000 for the front 27" wheel. I love the Conti Grand Prix 3000's for EVERYTHING except they wear out quickly and cost too much.
Wide enough to soak up the holes I can't float over.Alex-in-Evanston
Dec 10, 2002 12:16 PM
I like 28's for the fixie. It feels a little sluggish, but I'm not riding this bike to set personal bests.

Alex
re: Favorite fixed gear [rain] tiresLars46
Dec 11, 2002 3:05 PM
Check this out vis-a-vis tires in the rain:

http://yarchive.net/bike/slicks.html

Lars in Canada.
re: Favorite fixed gear [rain] tiresfixedgearhead
Dec 11, 2002 4:32 PM
Sounds good at face value. The only trouble is that I seem to remember a comercial showing car tires shot from underneath a glass or polycarb roadbed operating in a wet environment and it clearly showed the tire causing water to be expelled by the tread patern. I know that photography can be made to lie but it is interesting that what was shown is the opposite of "Jobst's theory". His theory may be true, but the picture is interesting none the less.

fixedgearhead
His theory is consistent with the commercialsDad Man Walking
Dec 12, 2002 5:32 PM
Jobst's comments specifically address your concern. The automobile tire has a broad flat contact patch. The bike tire has a contact patch that starts out narrow in front, then broadens a bit in the middle. He said that this shape effectively squeezes the water out from the road-tire interface, and hence the tread is not needed.

My personal experience is that I rode slicks (Specialized Turbos) for years without incident, except in those places where, tread or no tread, you are going down (paint strips and the like). After a several year hiatus (explained in my post name), I returned to the sport and started using Conti GP3000's for no reason other than my LBS recommended them. Can't say that I have noticed any difference in traction one way or the other.
His theory is consistent with the commercialsfixedgearhead
Dec 13, 2002 6:42 AM
I reread his comments and you are correct. The only thing I wonder about is the obvious feeling of lack of stability I get from slick as opposed to treaded bike tires when riding in the rain. I realise this is subjective on my part that might be due to different grip on the bars caused by increased tension due to the feelings of apprehention, but I don't believe everything he says is gospel truth. There are probably any number of factors at work that contribute to adhesion of tires. Soft rubber compound being one of them. His anology of racing tires being slick does not address the soft rubber type of construction that they use.
I doubt that tires of that type would be acceptable as everyday tires due to their short lifespan due to increased wear. I had a set of Vittoria open corsa TT racing clinchers that were great tires to race on but they lasted about 700 miles. Wear factor on them was excessive for everyday use. They can get away with slick treads as they use fast wearing rubber compounds that are meant to last only one race or even part of a race and have maximum sticking power. Witness the often multiple tire changes in the Indy 500. Just because he says so, isn't reason to get in line and jump over the cliff like a lemming. I would need to see some further proof before I accepted his theory totally. Sometimes he comes off as rather doctrinaire. As if, because he said it , it "Must be so.

fixedgearhead
Consistant with my experience, too.look271
Dec 16, 2002 7:00 AM
The best tires that I have ever used in the rain are slicks-Vredestein Tri-comps. I rode a century on those, mostly in the rain, and down some long descents, never fearing for lack of grip. Now if they would just last longer......
Consistant with my experience, too.fixedgearhead
Dec 16, 2002 4:23 PM
That is what I mean about his not addressing the soft compound of "racing" tires as opposed to "normal" tires. It really dosen't matter if you have tread if your tires are so soft that they will adhere to ice while they wear away mass due to adhesive stiction. Anything will stick under those conditions.

fixedgearhead