RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Fixed Gear


Archive Home >> Fixed Gear


At the "magical" $1 per mile ridden mark(10 posts)

At the "magical" $1 per mile ridden markTig
Nov 23, 2002 1:25 PM
It took just 3 weeks to put about 260 miles on the fixte conversion. Today's 48 miler did it. I credit the low budget cost of the bike more than my riding habits and abilities! Does this really mean anything? Not really. It's just a different way of looking at the simple and relatively cheap world of single speeds. Soon, the $ per mile will make the project a good economy on paper. All that aside, I just love riding it!
O.K. so now give us a thoughtful review.MB1
Nov 23, 2002 4:28 PM
What do you like about it , what are you going to change, what would you like to change in a perfect world.

Tell all...
O.K. so now give us a thoughtful review.Tig
Nov 23, 2002 5:52 PM
There's not much to change on such a sweet ride. To think that I've overlooked touring frames in the past! I'd like to replace the anatomic bars to some older Cinelli's, and perhaps use a 700c front wheel for a wider choice of tires. Maybe a more comfy saddle like a Rolls. A more classic Cinelli stem would do it justice as well. Oh, I guess I'm stuck with the metallic lavender paint though.

Sure, I could upgrade the cranks, brakes, and almost everything else, but there is no need. I like keeping this bike a low cost project. There is a pleasure that comes with getting such a wonderful ride on so few dollars after spending so much on high end bikes for years.

I'll consider building up a track bike with all the fine goodies some day, and make it front brake capable. I'm getting the track racing bug again. Our club has a closed track day at the local velodrome in a few weeks, so I'll see if the bug really bites! Then again, I can see myself building up to centuries on this fixed road bike thang.
hey ....Spirito
Nov 23, 2002 8:21 PM
im sure im not the only one but i think the color looks super and makes the whole bike quite distinctive.

if 'twas mine i wouldnt think that i was "stuck with" it but rather scored a color that is seldom seen nowadays and look on it as a bonus.

the whole bike looks neat and well balanced. enjoy.

ciao
You may be right. No one has complained about the color yet! -nmTig
Nov 24, 2002 12:16 PM
I like the color...are both wheels 27"?Djudd
Nov 24, 2002 7:41 PM
27" front, 700c rear. -nmTig
Nov 25, 2002 7:29 AM
O.K. so now give us a thoughtful review.VVS
Dec 3, 2002 8:48 AM
Great Photo - what's the location? Must be a pleasure to ride in such a picturesque locale.
looks can be deceiving!Tig
Dec 3, 2002 9:03 AM
Yes, Nassau Bay, TX with Clear Lake sounds nice, and even looks better from this picture. I choose this location for it's obvious beauty. However, the water is almost always muddy brown! The lake hasn't been clear since the Corps of Engineers cut a channel to Galveston Bay about 100 years ago.

Nassau Bay is a suburban town across from NASA's Johnson Space Center, south of Houston. The best views in Texas are in the countryside like the hills west of Austin, or through the tall pine forests of eastern Texas. We can find beauty in most any ride if we open our eyes enough. Sometimes even a flower on the side of the road or a hawk overhead can make a ride much more beautiful.
O.K. so now give us a thoughtful review.fixedgearhead
Dec 3, 2002 9:07 AM
I normally reserve that color for older women with grey hair to choose for their clothes. But I like it on the bike. It is unique. don't change it.

fixedgearhead