RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Fixed Gear


Archive Home >> Fixed Gear


Share your favorite fixed/single speed links(9 posts)

Share your favorite fixed/single speed linksTig
Nov 13, 2002 12:31 PM
Here's my growing list starting with the obvious new one, RoadBikeREVIEW.com - Fixed Gear: http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.efbc183

Fixed Gear Conversions - Sheldon Brown: http://www.sheldonbrown.org/fixed-conversion.html

Harris Cyclery -- Your Fixed-Gear Bicycle Headquarters!: http://www.sheldonbrown.com/harris/fixed.html

Excel single speed parts: http://www.excelsports.com/new.asp?page=7&major=8&minor=3

SingleSpeeds Anonymous SingleSpeed Links: http://www.singlespeedsanonymous.com/links.html

I have others that aren't good enough to post.
For parts......................Dave Hickey
Nov 13, 2002 12:40 PM
http://www.bikecult.com/works/parts.html

http://www.businesscycles.com/

http://www.cyclinggoods.com/new_02trackcomp.htm

http://www.billronbikes.com/trackbicycles.htm

http://www.fixedgearfever.com/market/market.htm
Don't forget...Alex-in-Evanston
Nov 13, 2002 1:47 PM
webcyclery.com

Nice folks. Very good selection of single speed, cross, and fixie stuff.

Alex
MTBReview.com's Singlespeed forum ...Humma Hah
Nov 13, 2002 1:18 PM
... used to be the place I hung out the most.

Sheldon Brown's site, above, is first-rate.
re: Share your favorite fixed/single speed linksJS Haiku Shop
Nov 13, 2002 1:20 PM
http://tc-homes.com/bike/forum/fg-bikes/
forgot these really good onesJS Haiku Shop
Nov 13, 2002 1:27 PM
http://music.dartmouth.edu/~kov/links/maltLiquor.html

http://www.40ozmaltliquor.com/collection.html

http://www.geocities.com/NapaValley/3108/

http://www.pabst.com/flashsite/index.htm

(PBR me ASAP)

and, most importantly:

http://zapatopi.net/afdb.html#1
the best fixed gallery, check it out....Djudd
Nov 13, 2002 5:20 PM
www.tc-homes.com/bike/forum/fg-bikes/
Late additionmadstork
Nov 14, 2002 7:20 AM
www.63xc.com

This is a site for off-road FG, which scares me in a big way, but check out the Fixed Gear 101. Applies to any FG style. Helped me out before my first ride, as I had no help from my clubmates who think fixed gear is crazy. I need to remind them about Lance.
Good one! Here's his "fixed gear Zen" siteTig
Nov 14, 2002 11:28 AM
http://nonduality.com/900gg.htm

Any web page with these quotes can't be bad!

Riding a track bike is a totally Zen-like experience. You are in total contact with the bike, the road, and everything around you. A track bike is cycling stripped down to its barest essentials.
--Brian Dorfmann, Programmer at a large Manhattan law firm

A "fixed" is the best kind of bike. You're always pedalling so your concentration is, like, really there.
--Doug, track cyclist, habitue of Central Park

I have so much fun riding the track bike that it is frustrating that I can't convince riders to spend more time on a fixed gear. The fixed gear builds a wonderful sense of oneness with the bike that can't be duplicated with a freewheel bike. I am absolutely convinced that the fixed gear is better than a freewheel, not only in developing and maintaining the pedal stroke, but also in developing strength and power.
--Steve Cox

It's probably all in my head, but it does seem that I'm more aware of the pedals moving in circles, and to what extent my legs are with them.
--Dennis Cotcamp

This is riding. This is a bicycle that teaches me something every time I ride it, that makes me more by virtue of it's being less. It's the bike I ride until the street lights come on and sometimes even longer. It's the bike I put away sadly and take out joyfully. It's the bike that never forgets why we ride.
--Kent Peterson