RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


What do you know about Rock Lobster cross frames?(8 posts)

What do you know about Rock Lobster cross frames?SGG2
Dec 18, 2003 3:12 PM
Well, the cross season has ended, and I am already thinking about next year, in particular a new frame/fork.

Do any of you West Coast racers know anything (good or bad) about Rock Lobster frames? I would be looking at the steel version, Team Tig SL, and will probably use an Alpha Q fork with it.

Thanks.

Steve
I like mine.....Mitch2
Dec 18, 2003 8:30 PM
Great frameset! I love it! I just wished I got something other than the Dedacciai Zero tubing I currently have because it flexes when I hammer out of the saddle. Also paint chips easily. I use mine mostly for trail riding.
excellent reputationlaffeaux
Dec 19, 2003 10:16 PM
They're made in Santa Cruz and you see a few at cross races. They're not as popular with the locals as Hunter frames, but still have a good reputation.
excellent reputationseamus
Dec 29, 2003 2:28 PM
Excellent bikes, I LOVE mine. Paul Sadoff has been building frames for 20+ years, and few framebuilders are as experienced with cyclocross frames as him. My Lobster is custom geometry, custom tubing, and exactly what I wanted. I got to see a few of his frames before they were powdercoated, and his welds are flawless. I decided to go with the Lobster on the advice of a coworker, who's raced Rock Lobster bikes for many years and never had a problem with one, and won the Surf City Cross Series overall on one.

I'd respectfully disagree with the earlier statement about Hunter's popularity vs. Lobster; I've done 12 cross races in the SF bay area this year, and I think there's an even mix of Lobsters, Hunters and Steelman's out here.

And think about this: Lobster's have won national titles under the brothers Jacques-Maynes, and the frame is still running strong. Also, Paul himself races cross, as does Rick Hunter and Brent Steelman.
do you have the steel or Al version?SGG2
Dec 29, 2003 2:40 PM
Also, what tubing did you use, and is it comfortable?

Steve
do you have the steel or Al version?seamus
Dec 30, 2003 3:34 PM
Mine is steel, Paul's own blend of new old stock Tange Prestige tubing and Reynolds 853. I weigh 150, race B's and ride my cross bike everywhere all year long, and I told Paul that durability/ride quality was more important to me than weight but the bike still ended up pretty light, under 20 lbs with Ultegra components and a steel Lobster fork.

For ride quality, it's very comfortable, and the handling is great. I had the opportunity to stop by his shop and get fitted and talk with him a little. He's a really good guy. I wouldn't change a thing and would buy my frame all over again in a second, and I'm comparing this bike to a heap of high-end steel I've had over the years, including IF, Steelman, Ibis, Ritchey, Waterford (also very cool), LandShark and a bunch of Italian stuff. Rock Lobster may not be as flashy as some other brands, but the bike he built me is the one I'd drag out with me if my house was on fire.

I hear his aluminum bikes are really nice too, and that's what Paul and a bunch of the fast Santa Cruz racers are riding now. I'm considering getting one as a race bike for next year.
Rock Lobster Reviewedtafkasrp
Jan 2, 2004 11:31 AM
A mountain biking friend of mine tells me that the Rock Lobster steel mtb frame is reviewed in this month's Dirt Rag.
Rock Lobster Reviewedtafkasrp
Jan 3, 2004 6:02 PM
Let me correct myself:

The Rock Lobster aluminum cross frame is reviewed in Dirt Rag - the 2004 preview issue (last issue of 2003 - I couldn't find a month identified on the magazine).