RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Here's why ebay makes me nervous.(9 posts)

Here's why ebay makes me nervous.snuz
Dec 12, 2003 2:03 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3644560365&category=22681

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3644944793&category=22681

Two Independent Fabrication cyclocross frames with same wording.

However:

-The sellers are different.
-One doesn't have recent auctions to be checked
-The other has recent auctions, but only on cheap goods that could be used to build his rating.
-one is located in CT
-The other says somewhere anywhere US
-The MSRPs seem a little out of whack.

These could very well be legit, but I'm not going to risk my money finding out.
re: Here's why ebay makes me nervous.mosovich
Dec 12, 2003 2:07 PM
I bet they got new forks and a new paint job. Notice no Reynolds tubing badge. I got mine repainted and they (IF) didn't put back on a reynolds 853 badge. I could be wrong, but makes sence.
Reason for no tubing decal...flyweight
Dec 15, 2003 5:58 PM
A lot of framebuilders don't put on tubing decals. Two big reasons are:
1) Many custom builders use tubing from several different manufacturers in the same frame.
2) Many custom framebuilders deliberately leave them off because they want to reinforce the point that the person building the frame and the design of the frame is more important than the brand of tubing used.
Very Common on eBay...ss-nyc
Dec 12, 2003 3:06 PM
It seems this person is just starting out. The fact that they used Turbo Lister to list the items makes me think they are going to try and be a large on-line seller.

I have seen many eBay sellers sell the same item for different prices under different accounts but then adjust shipping prices so they make the same amount of money on the auction. I know this for a fact because I purchased items from two different sellers but payment was made to the same PayPal account. You would think they would want to keep the illusion alive by using two PayPal accounts to match the eBay accounts.

Anyway, I just buy new items from Nashbar, Performance, or my local bike show since eBay is just not worth the hassle or the leap of faith you take with every purchase to save a few dollars. If I need something "not-current" then I have no choice but to use eBay.

Just be careful and ask lots of questions!
re: Very Common on eBay...snwbdrhoon
Dec 13, 2003 8:20 AM
Hey. I've never had a problem with eBay. I could just be lucky. I feel that the cycling section of eBay is very well built up with a good community of sellers. If you're worried, check the person's feedback. I feel that it's a very good representation of who they are and what they sell. I'm a buyer and a lite seller, and I take eBay very seriously. If someone is screwing other people, the community finds out very quickly. As said: ask a lot of questions and always ask for additional pictures. That is a great way to see if it is legit. If they sound like they don't know what they're talking about then they probably don't. And from the feedback reviews, see if they're sold bike stuff before... if not i'd be a little worried that the first thing that they're selling is a frame. If they've sold bike stuff before, then I think you're okay. OR contact old buyers (see their username) and ask them about the seller...
Tons of bike fraud on EBAYsnuz
Dec 13, 2003 11:11 AM
If I looked for an hour I could find 5 or 6 scams. Fortunately most are brazely ridiculous, like people who want to use escrow or western union from Nigeria or the Philipines. I read a good article, unfortunately I can't remember where, that said people are able to hijack the accounts of sellers with high ratings to sell their goods. Article also said that among the products with the most scams are collector dolls, snowboards and skateboards, paintball guns and mountain bikes.

That said, I've bought bikes on EBAY and will continue too. I was thinking about bidding on one of these frames, but too many red flags.
Better to be too safe than too careless.
re: Tons of bike fraud on EBAYsnwbdrhoon
Dec 16, 2003 6:52 AM
Thanks for covering my slack.

I forgot to say that when I see escrow or something outside of the US or Western Union I shy away from those auctions. And I've definitely sold snowboards, bought bikes, sold bike parts, etc. on eBay.
Feedback is meaninglessflyweight
Dec 15, 2003 5:52 PM
Feedback is a useless way to determine how legit a seller is. Last year I worked with the San Francisco PD to recover a bike stolen from our shop that was being sold on e-Bay. The seller had over 100 previous auctions, most for cycling gear. All the auctions had two things in common:
1) Positive feedback
2) Every single item sold was stolen property

So much for feedback.

Ask any burglary detective out there and they'll tell you that e-Bay has taken the place of pawn shops as the number one channel for selling stolen property. Even if you don't get busted for buying stolen property (an unlikely event) you could still have your newly purchased toys taken away from you.
I contacted the sellersnuz
Dec 13, 2003 10:39 AM
I contacted the seller of the green and yellow frame. He said he doesn't know anything about the red frame.

Who knows?