RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Salsa Las Cruces frame(10 posts)

Salsa Las Cruces frameSGG2
Dec 7, 2003 8:16 PM
Any opinions on the new Salsa cross frame? Seem to have good mud clearance, nice price, but how does it ride? I have heard reviews about the nice ride of Scandium. I am currently riding an Ibis Hakkalugi. The Salsa would be a race only bike, while the Ibis would continue as an adventure-type bike and back-up cross bike.
Another question - what does the frame cost? (nm)jtferraro
Dec 8, 2003 6:08 AM
$635 at Webcyclery.com nmDropped
Dec 8, 2003 2:23 PM
Yup, just got the sales flyer in the mail today. Thanks. (nm)jtferraro
Dec 8, 2003 7:36 PM
$630 from Bikeman and ll sizes availablepitt83
Dec 8, 2003 4:24 PM
http://www.bikeman.com/miva/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=FMSALSALC&Category_Code=CXFM

Anyone want to buy a 58cm Surly Cross Check? I'm tempted by the Salsa.
the 2004 model is w/ disc mountsclimbo
Dec 9, 2003 10:40 AM
and possibly a matching fork, you might want to hold off until it comes out.
re: Salsa Las Cruces frameHeavyhammer
Dec 8, 2003 9:20 PM
I really like my 2003 las Cruces. I just had it built up with Campy Veloce triple, Campy Scirocco wheelset and Avid 4 stoppers.
I am ex-mtb and this is my first serious road/all-purpose bike. It makes the engine feel fast and nimble :)
I was going to build around a steel frame, then saw the Salsa in person. Call me Paul I fell on my knees.

I am and will be using this as my only bike. Right now 30 mile winter rides on rolling pavement are my staple. No plans to cyclocross race. I wanted a road bike but with the extra strength of cross.

I say give the Salsa serious consideration for a race bike. Very light - < 3 lbs. and when mated with carbon fork, it is far from bone-jarring.

Good luck!

mtg
nice! (nm)jtferraro
Dec 9, 2003 8:46 AM
Very cool bike!!byker
Dec 10, 2003 12:36 PM
re: Salsa Las Cruces frameHeavyhammer
Dec 8, 2003 9:46 PM
Word of advice - I found the Las Cruces frame large. My road-fit is a 52cm and I ordered a 52cm after talking with a Salsa tech. He rides both cross and road but keeps the same frame size to standardize on cockpit. OK. :)

On a 52cm I have basically zero standover clearance. Ouch!! In the spring I will probably order in a 50cm frame and sell the 52cm.

Just in case you order one, sight unsat.

Cheers!

Hammer