RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


my first CC race from behind the clipboard (x-post)(9 posts)

my first CC race from behind the clipboard (x-post)JS Haiku Shop
Dec 7, 2003 12:52 PM
get 'em while they're hot:

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?10@@.ee7b55e
stoopid me, click this link instead..............JS Haiku Shop
Dec 7, 2003 12:59 PM
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efdfe62
sorry, the other ones are both bad. this one's right. d'oh!!!!!!JS Haiku Shop
Dec 7, 2003 1:03 PM
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efdfe61

note to self: D'OH! mmmm...beer!
I am furious....lanpope
Dec 7, 2003 2:04 PM
...that I missed this one. The small races seem like they are the most fun. We are right in the middle of law school exams, and there was no real way to get away for THIS race. Actually, I am in the library right now. But do not worry, I will be there next week for sure, wearing the wife's best (if you know what I mean!).

Keep up the great work!

Lance Pope
You got that right!triangleforge
Dec 7, 2003 3:11 PM
I learned another important race promoter lesson this weekend: that it's almost as hard to NOT run a race as it is to run one.

Snow this weekend cancelled the race we'd geared up for; once you've got everything moving in the right direction, it's not a simple matter to just hit the off switch! As much work as we put in, it's nice to know we'll get the payoff of running the postponed race two weeks from now.

Still, this experience (and the race we did without a hitch three weeks ago, MY first as a race director) re-affirms what you said. It is, emphatically, worth the effort. And a huge part of what makes it worthwhile is how much you have to rely on your friends and teammates to pull it off -- and how incredibly they come through!

Cheers!
If you're talking about Kingston, it was the right callpitt83
Dec 9, 2003 5:41 AM
Thanks. You nailed it when you said it wasn't worth an accident en route to the race. We can all predict and deal with bike accidents, but getting to and from the race safely is never predictable. That was the smart decision. I'm looking forward to 12/20 and having a fun day at the races.
re: my first CC race from behind the clipboard (x-post)climbo
Dec 7, 2003 6:19 PM
very cool, keep up the good work. We put on a race today ourselves, one of many we do but it is very low key. It's the NJ State Championship race and we had a decent turnout in the snow (about 40 riders). We've done CX races since 1999 and are at the point of taking on a UCI race next year.

After the last race we did I said to my teammate, "WOW, putting on races is even more fun than racing them !!", it's really true though, the satisfaction of seeing people with a huge grin saying "I LOVED that course, that was so much fun" is worth it in the end. The complainers are a small portion of the riders and although it sucks to hear them whine about insignificant things, the other 99% of people make it very worthwhile.

Keep up the good work !!
applause for organizers!buffalosorrow
Dec 9, 2003 6:46 PM
A special thanks to climbo and NJ champs organizers!

My friend and I had great ride. Wish I could have stuck around, but my friend had an appointment in the early afternoon.

Keep up the scene and much appreciation.
Eric
re: my first CC race from behind the clipboard (x-post)J2
Dec 8, 2003 9:48 AM
my perspective of J's first race pretty much breaks down like this, for those that missed it, you missed an awesome race!! yes it was cold that morning when i got there (still below freezing), my bike was getting covered white from the frost when i was checking out the course, but the sun came out, the temps got in the mid 40's, the course was beautiful (complete with a 4-5" deep mud pit that turned into a mud bog by about the 3rd lap), there was lap prems, there were tunes blaring at two spots on the course, there was vittles on the grill, there were very nice door prizes, and lastly, there was a great group of folks show up! it really doesn't get any better! yes, the turn out was a little low, but i think when the word gets out about this one, the turn out will be good to great for the rest of the series.
oh yeah, the race report. the course was hard, period. not the actual course itself, but because mother nature stepped in with about 3" of rain three days before the race and made it hard. it made for soft ground when the sun came out and melted the frost that was a real thigh burner, and two sets of 4 barrier runs (one uphill and one downhill) within 100 yards of each other spelled PAIN (ok, that part of the course would have been very hard rain or no rain)! oh yeah, the was a fast gravel section that a had a tight turn right at the lake, so if you came in too hot you would go right into the lake - sweet! i was toast after the 'b' race. but i think just about everyone that finished was toast, i mean guys just falling over when they came across the finish, even the 'a' racers were wiped out when they finished, but it was a blast! i personally heard nothing was compliments from all that i talked to. what a good day, the kind of day when you sit back with a cold coctail and smile cause you know it was a major sucess! (oh yeah, we did that in your driveway after the races)