RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


anyone have pics from Surf City #4 Santa Cruz last w/e? (nm)(8 posts)

anyone have pics from Surf City #4 Santa Cruz last w/e? (nm)PmbH
Nov 25, 2003 4:30 PM
re: anyone have pics from Surf City #4 Santa Cruz last w/e? (nm)dlbcx
Nov 26, 2003 7:40 AM
Haven't seen them either. Check with Sabine at Velo Bella. I do remember somebody taking pix while I was racing but at that time, I was hurting too much to care.
abbiorca will have them but they're fricking SLOWseamus
Nov 26, 2003 9:22 AM
www.abbiorca.com has pics from most of the SF bay area races, but they're a bit incompetent. It takes them forever to post images (come on! I've done similar stuff professionally and it doesn't take a WEEK). And once they're up, you'll often find that there's 140 pics of the C's, a pathetic 25 pictures of the same six B's riders, and some nonsense shots of somebody's dog.

I swear...if this keeps up I'm going to start doing the same thing they're doing, only do it right.
Thanks for the link!laffeaux
Nov 26, 2003 11:18 AM
I found a couple of pics of me - I didn't know who the photographers were before now.

Here's what I look like after getting my butt kicked at cross:

http://www.abbiorca.com/bike/cross/cross2003/guadalupe-canyon-10-19-03/c/source/guadalupe_03_n_099.html
You should demand a refund!!Sabine
Nov 26, 2003 12:09 PM
Oh, thats right, you didn't pay them to be out there.

Its a thankless task they are doing. Very few people actually buy the pictures. Everyone just wants to look at them and then asks for free use of them. They are out there because they love the sport and photography.

They have paying jobs during the week, so I understand if they need to triage the posting of pictures for work that actually pays the bills.

Let them know that you are interested in purchasing a print, and they will take plenty of pictures of you or of what you are interested in. Or, since you seem to be so professionally inclined, give up your weekends of racing and riding and hang out and take pictures and post them.

They are both excellent photographers and awfully nice people. Calling them incompetent, without knowing all the facts, is rude. I also take pictures and know what a time consuming task it is. And Nancy will be a bella next year, and I'll be damned if I am going to allow people to be rude to my bellas! And that was my dog!

I also have some Surf City pictures up, but just Masters, Men As and Women. If you have any complaints about them, direct them to Alan, by personal complaint department.
http://www.pbase.com/sdukes/surf_city_2003

Sabine
www.velobella.org
AMEN!reed
Nov 26, 2003 6:01 PM
Well put- could not have said it better myself. Russ and Nancy at abbiorca are super nice, great photographers and excellent bike riders. Is it that much to cut them a little slack if it takes a few days to sort through the several hundred photos they take each day of often two-day race weekends to post them on the web for basically free?
You should demand a refund!!Hansk
Dec 9, 2003 10:59 AM
Well said Sabine!

Russ and Nancy are incredibly nice people. Both are racers. And they give something back to the cycling community.

They work their tails off taking these photos and posting them. They take hundreds of photos. Not all posted, as they indicate on their site. If asked, they will look for more shots specifically of a racer.

Have you ever purchased any of their photos? I have and have been very happy with their quality and service.

Instead of whining, put your money where your mouth is.

- Hans
YEAH !!!! Sabine rocks.cycloscott
Dec 9, 2003 10:01 PM
I couldn't agree more. Nancy bust her butt in the early races. And as soon as Russ finishes his race in the Master A's, he cleans up and starts taking shots of the rest of the races.

Then they go home, organize the shots by category, and post them. (unlike another group that just posts thousands of out of focus shots with no rhyme or reason)

Or hey, here's an idea. Do it yourself or quit your damned b!tchin.

Hee hee, I wanna see this guy complain to Alan. I'll be sure to have MY camera ready for that conversation.