RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Finished my CX race!!!!!(12 posts)

Finished my CX race!!!!!arctic hawk
Nov 17, 2003 5:34 AM
I finally did it yesterday. I finished my race, dead last! My 2nd race ever too! It was loads of fun & I received nice words of encouragement from my teammates & a few of the leaders too, who lapped me at least twice.
We raced at Upper Canada Village in eastern Ontario, Canada. The venue was beautiful as the sun was shining out over the lake. The warmup lap was rather jittery as the ground was quite frozen (in the 20's the night before & race temp was around 30 or so), crunching over grass & accumulated water. Mind you, the warm up was enough for me to remove my jacket & stay in my sweatshirt.
It was a nice wide open course with room for passing, or in my case, to get out of the way (very appreciated by the leaders as I recieved some "thank you" calls). The barrier were for the most part, going up a hill forcing dismounts & some hard running (eventually turned into hard walking for me) between barriers & one set on the flat areas (in my opinion, too high to bunny hop & too close as well, not that I am actually capable of doing a bunny hop)
There was the one & only hill which we climbed 3 times (2 of them paved) per lap. The decents were nice as they gave time to relax & recover from the climbing efforts before doing it again & again. On the top, there was a nice turn onto a off camber section, rode very high on that one & dead slow too, nervous of toppling over.
The balance of the course was paved road sections, gravel parking lots (slipped twice badly on the turns but did not fall), & rolling grasslands which turned to not-so-rolling marshland as the sun came up & the volume of riders going over the same piece of terrain.
Had a great time!!!!
Artic Hawk
Excellent! I saw you out there. Glad you had fun and finished. (nm)SS_MB-7
Nov 17, 2003 6:02 AM
Excellent! I saw you out there. Glad you had fun and finished. (nm)arctic hawk
Nov 17, 2003 6:43 AM
Were you the single speed Seven rider?
Yep. (nm)SS_MB-7
Nov 17, 2003 6:55 AM
Yep. (nm)arctic hawk
Nov 17, 2003 7:10 AM
I remember you! Did you have a chain hop off on the course at one point too? Are you attached to OBC? Do you know if they will be posting pics?

A-Hawk
No....no....not sure....SS_MB-7
Nov 17, 2003 7:19 AM
No, I didn't have a chain pop-off, but I did go down hard on the 2nd lap on that gravel hair-pin (right where the mini-van and car were parked). As a result, my left brake lever bent inwards on the handlebar. I had to stop (lost 5-6 positions) to bash it back straight because it was causing the front brake to rub excessively. Also, as a result of the crash, I warped my front wheel which, despite the fixed lever, still rubbbed. Argh!

And, to make matters worse, I started to hear some strange drivetrain noises...especially during out-of-the-saddle efforts. I also noticed that my rear wheel was constantly rubbing. At the end of the race, I noticed my rear wheel was very loose in the dropouts....ooops.

So, it was a very frustrating race for me. But, I did manage to finish and caught a few racers in front of me.

No, I'm not affiliated with the OBC. They'll likely have the pics posted within the week, but I'm not entirely sure. They certainly aren't as fast as Joe Elliot (MTBKanata.com).

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
http://www.one-speed.com
Oops!arctic hawk
Nov 17, 2003 7:42 AM
Oops! Wrong guy!
I do know what you mean about that gravel turn, as I nearly fell over there once & nearly plowed into the van at a later lap! I know that I wasn't the only one who came close to bashing the van!
Thanks for the web site for the pics!

A-Hawk!
Watch OBC's photo gallery, and wait. Who else was takingSpunout
Nov 17, 2003 8:10 AM
pictures there? I think I saw another photographer.
Good ride. I said Hi! to you up the climb (Heineken jersey). nmSpunout
Nov 17, 2003 7:04 AM
Thank You All for the kind words of encourgement!arctic hawk
Nov 17, 2003 7:16 AM
I think I remember that too! Everyone was really polite & there was encourgement from many riders, passing me, of course!
To all,
Thank You Very Much!

from a very appreciative & tired soul (during the race)
I hope to make it to Nov 30th race
A-Hawk
Race Organizersarctic hawk
Nov 17, 2003 7:21 AM
I almost forgot! The race organizers, Mr. Bob Woods, were an excellent group! Very kind words of encouragement from him as well to the beginners, even remembered my name on every lap!

I love this sport!
A-Hawk!
Bob (and his wife Cheryl) rock! (nm)SS_MB-7
Nov 17, 2003 7:48 AM