RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


CX, 10 Speed drivetrains, and Shimano incompatiblity?(10 posts)

CX, 10 Speed drivetrains, and Shimano incompatiblity?Bianchi4Me
Oct 27, 2003 4:59 AM
Curious if anyone has run the new DA in the mud yet. When they went to 9 speed on MTBs, a lot of 8 speed riders complained that the shifting in muddy conditions deteriorated versus 8 speed set-ups. Due to the tight clearance between cogs I guess their wasn't as much margin for gunk infestation.

Which leads me to wonder if the new 10-speed DA will be the same story, only worse.

Shimano cleverly designed the new, much lighter Dura-Ace rear hub to be 10 speed only. So if you want to run that hub you'll have to replace the rest of your drivetrain. Man those guys irritate me when they do their "planned obsolescence" stuff, but that's a different topic.
re: CX, 10 Speed drivetrains, and Shimano incompatiblity?flyweight
Oct 27, 2003 9:38 AM
Guys in Europe have been running Campy 10 for a couple of years now with no major complaints.

The new rear hub isn't "much lighter". It's only 48g ligher and there's no way you will notice that little weight on your bike.
The guys in Europe have sponsors and spare bikes...matt friedman
Oct 27, 2003 6:06 PM
Besides, I remember looking closely at a picture of Mario de Clerq in 2002 and noticing that his right Campy Record lever said "9 speed."
The guys in Europe have sponsors and spare bikes...flyweight
Oct 28, 2003 9:24 AM
That whole sponsorship thing isn't what you think it is. Contrary to popular mythology pro racers don't get unlimited free stuff. I wrenched for Erwin Vervecken when he was in the States a few weeks ago and can tell you for a fact that he pays for some of his stuff out of his own pocket and receives very little in the way of free parts. Most teams are given a budget at the start of the year with which to purchase parts. They don't just get an unlimited supply.

The real reason they can run 10 speed with no problem is because they take good care of their equipment. Vervevken's bike was probably the cleanest bike on the start line. He keeps his bikes clean and in perfect working order and no, he doesn't have a mechanic do it for him. He only has mechanics at the races and then only at major races.
Gullickson's bike....snwbdrhoon
Oct 28, 2003 7:21 AM
Check VeloNews issue with Heras on the cover. Inside they review Mark Gullickson's new Redline. Specifically they say that he has the option to run DA 10, but chooses DA 9 for mud reasons.

FYI - never had a problem with 9 and mud on my mtb. Stick with the 9 for 'cross. 10 is asking for trouble
re: CX, 10 Speed drivetrains, and Shimano incompatiblity?rawket
Oct 28, 2003 10:53 AM
Gave 10-sp Campy a shot a couple of years ago, and it was not a fun attempt. I run 9-sp Campy on both of my bikes and it is acceptable, although in all honesty I think that 8-sp would be optimal.

I am sure that in 5 years all of us 'crossers will be forced to 10-speed if we want new equipment or just sent to the dark recesses of the swap meet digging through old boxes...
you forget to addatpjunkie
Oct 28, 2003 7:34 PM
the breakage increase in Shimano 9 speed chains. It's why most MTBers I know running 9 use Sachs chains.
I feel 10 will be more of this, plus the clogging issues etc.... I'll stick to the swap bins, 8 is great...just like chocolate cake. Have 9 on one rig and am contemplating down gearing. Luddite and proud! besides I love the 11 or 12-30 8sp cassette you can get in 8. 9 goes 11-21,11-23,11-25, 11-27 Road 11-32, 11-34 MTB, nothing in between.
re: CX, 10 Speed drivetrains, and Shimano incompatiblity?boing
Oct 29, 2003 7:23 AM
I guess MTB gears will stay 9spd so you can always use a mtb rear mech. So this leaves the Shifters. I wonder if this could lead to more people reverting to Bar Cons as with they have less to go wrong they will out live the 9 spd Sti shifters.
i don't think you'reb going to see 10-sp ultegra any time soon..matt friedman
Oct 29, 2003 7:42 AM
part of the 10-speed thing is to create a clear differentiation between da and ultegra. my guess is that ultegra will be 9sp for five more years...
Nope.flyweight
Oct 29, 2003 9:21 AM
According to Shimano Ultegra goes 10 next year. Ultegra will also receive a XTR/DA/Bullseye style integrated crank/bottom bracket system. It only took one year for the new XTR features to trickle down to XT so it's really not much of a surprise.