RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Stan's No tubes in cross tyres(11 posts)

Stan's No tubes in cross tyresboing
Oct 22, 2003 6:36 AM
Has anyone tried liquid latex in cyclocross tyres. Would it work with the higher pressures / smaller air volume of cross tyres? In a one hour race where a flat (unless you have a spare bike or wheels) will mean the end of the race, it would seem an ideal solution. I know Tufo have the sealant for there tubs but what about clincher users?
re: Stan's No tubes in cross tyresclimbo
Oct 22, 2003 6:56 AM
stan says yes it works. I've done it on a road tyre so I know it can handle the pressure up to 100 psi. It would probably work fine but you always run the risk of it failing at the wrong time. It might be worth a try.
re: Stan's No tubes in cross tyrestriangleforge
Oct 22, 2003 6:57 AM
I remember an early review of the Stan's in VeloNews, and the reviewer tried to make it work for road tires -- with spectacularly messy, unsuccessful results. Come to think of it, I don't know what he would have been using for the Stan's rubber rim strips back then, since the company didn't make them for 700c wheels then. When they started listing rim strips for 29'ers not so long ago, I started thinking exactly the same thoughts you're entertaining. Ultimately, I don't think I'll go that route, for a couple of reasons.

You could probably it make it work, but I wouldn't want to get the pressures up to high -- you'd be building them as a dedicated 35 psi or less wheelset.

I use Stan's in one set of MTB tires and like it quite a bit, but to be honest, it's a whole lot more hassle to set up than gluing tubular tires, so I see no compelling reason to try it for CX tires. And I'll probably stop using it on my MTB as soon as Tufo stops teasing us with prototype tubular-clincher MTB tires and moves those suckers into production.

Cheers!
re: Stan's No tubes in cross tyrescxking
Oct 22, 2003 7:35 AM
I have been using the Stan's tubeless on my cross bike this season which mixed results. I weigh 193 and run 50 psi in my tires. As far as thorns and pinch flats I have had none. However on 2 occasions the tire has completly blown off the rim while riding. I know several people that are using this system and have reported the same thing. I am not using the Stans rim strip and I don't know if that is a contributing factor or not. The system does have a lot of potential. Our first race (Utah)was thorn city. I pulled over 30 out after the race and they all sealed. I have decided to go back to tubes that I fill with Stan's for the time being. I just don't want a front tire to blow off in a high speed situation.
re: Stan's No tubes in cross tyresboing
Oct 22, 2003 7:58 AM
How do you empty the sealant into the tubes? Remove the valve core somehow?
re: Stan's No tubes in cross tyrescxking
Oct 22, 2003 8:18 AM
some tubes have a removable core but most do not. I use the Michelin cross tubes which do not have a removable core so I cut a small hole in the tube to put the Stans in and then patch it. It is much lighter and in my experience more reliable than the pre slimed factory tubes.
Another Methodtriangleforge
Oct 22, 2003 9:05 AM
I've put the Tufo stuff into innertubes without a removeable core before -- here's how I did it:

1) The tip of the threaded valve stem is mushroomed over ever so slightly to keep the little locknut from unscrewing completely off. File the tip flat until the locknut comes off. Don't lose it.

2) The valve core will now drop down into the tire -- use your finger to make sure that the core doesn't get loose inside the tube.

3) Insert the Tufo goo in there just as you would with a regular removeable core tire.

4) Here's the somewhat tricky, usually messy part: let as much of the latex drain out of the valve stem into the tube as possible, then shake the core back into place. The core will be covered with the stuff & some will get back out. Do not be afraid.

5) Thread the locknut back onto the stem.

6) The easiest way I've found to restore the mushrooming that keeps the locknut in place is to install the stem in a wheel, make sure the little Presta lockring is in place and open the locknut to the point where just a tiny bit of the stem is sticking above it. Tap that end with a hammer lightly until the locknut no longer unscrews off. It's soft brass so you don't have to hit it hard at all, but make sure you're not resting the rim on the tube as I suppose you could induce pinch flatting if you hit it hard enough.
I am not afraidrichpierce
Oct 22, 2003 12:02 PM
That was awesome. I will try it!
Save the money you have to spend...Roger2
Oct 22, 2003 7:48 AM
to by Stan's rim strips etc. and instead pop for a set of Tufo Clincher/Tubulars. The difference between a nice set of clincher CX tires and a set of Tufo clincher tubulars is about the price of a complete Stan's kit. Now just pick up either Tufo's sealant or a quart of Stan's sealant and put the necessary amount in the Tufo's.

I run the Stan's on my mtb and love the set up, but the thought of rolling a CX tire scares the crap out of me, especially since I'm currently recovering from a shoulder injury. I have the Tufo clincher/tubulars and they work great.
It's so easy, www.tubelesskit.com for safe CX latex tubelessJan Gerrit Klok
Oct 25, 2003 2:58 AM
I have the Mavic X317 kit, and use it on my Open Pro wheel. Streched, so it fits the bigger yet narrower rim. A 29" tire has been holding air for over a month. An Eclipse strip is much more bombproof that Stan's, IMO, because of the smart grooves. Air-up was totally mess-free for me.

Frischknecht has won CX races with dedicated Eclipse strips, and I think my method really works!
It's so easy, www.tubelesskit.com for safe CX latex tubelesscxking
Oct 27, 2003 12:38 PM
sounds good but I went to the site and could not find any info on how to buy. I tried the contact page and kept getting an error.