RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


New CX Bike Opinion (Jamis and Redline)(8 posts)

New CX Bike Opinion (Jamis and Redline)lexington476
Oct 21, 2003 5:47 AM
Anyone use/race a Jamis Nova or Redline Conquest (any subtype)? I am looking at getting a CX bike, there is a Jamis dealer in town now (metro Detroit), and several Redline dealers. I am still looking at all brands in the $800-$1,200 range. I am selling the frame and am just going to buy a whole bike (the eBay like for the frame is several posts below).
Jamis Nova report...Spunout
Oct 21, 2003 9:59 AM
I have a 2003 Jamis Nova. I have been riding it three weeks and raced last weekend. Good steel frame, nice welds, build quality is good (I might have a funky canti boss, but that will be replaced). Paint is very deep.

Great wheels, cranks, and tires. I've changed the bars to non-anatomic, saddle to a flite ti (Fizik Pavé much too soft for me), and have just wrecked the Ritchey pro seatpost: it slips. I'll replace that with a Thomson probably. I have eggbeaters, but the Ritcheys would probably work very well.

I don't know why there is an aluminum fork on this, but it is serviceable. All mounts and braze-ons for racks, fenders, bottles, pump. Very serviceable. Stable geometry in larger sizes, the small ones are a bit steep (IMHO). I have the 55, and can fire down a root-strewn singletrack no problems. Stiff BB, no problems with the steel.
How did you like Almonte?SS_MB-7
Oct 22, 2003 7:13 AM
So, how did you like the new Jamis at the Almonte races (TT and mass-start)? Pretty technical little course, eh? I found it to be more technical than Fortune, which was pretty technical compared to Britannia and Brockville.

I'm not looking forward to Upper Canada...too much goose crap, too windy and a not-so-fun course. But, I'll be there anyway.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
http://www.one-speed.com
Super-technical with the roots, singletrack...Spunout
Oct 22, 2003 8:16 AM
but a well balanced course (I think, IMHE) with the track and some faster parts(where a roadie like me can recover). I lost time in the barriers, but made up alot just riding real hard elsewhere. Improved alot, I will add that you did not lap me this race! :-P

The bike was pretty cool over the rough stuff: The last singletrack section I dropped down a few gears and hammered over the roots no problem. Some fast downhills also. I fell only once, an off-camber hairpin going back up the hill where I lost my rear wheel. Handling those parts are a mystery to me, maybe I'll tail some more experienced riders to see how they do it sometime.

I'll be at Upper Canada with 'TransAlp Nick' (he missed Almonte) and will look out for you.

Cheers,

Michael.
Ya, I went down on that turn too for the TT, but nailed it...SS_MB-7
Oct 22, 2003 9:11 AM
Ya, I know the hairpin you are talking about....very slick and tricky. I went down there during the TT, but nailed it beautifully for every lap of the mass-start.

I was able to pick-out a pretty good line though the rooty sections that helped me gain some time over the others who were being bounced all over.

I was reeling-in "Kiwi" Mike and Paul on the last lap, but cramped on the rock stairs. I think if I had 1 more lap, I could have caught them...that would have made things very interesting.

See you at Upper Canada.

M.
BTW, still no results posted at cyclocross.org :-(....nmSpunout
Oct 22, 2003 8:20 AM
Check back on Friday/Saturday....SS_MB-7
Oct 22, 2003 9:15 AM
Unfortunately, results are typically slow to be posted...typically Friday or Saturday.

The results from Fortune are all whacky. They have me listed as first in Vet B, but I was actually 4th in Vet A? Also, the overall results missed 10th (which I think was Colin Campbell) and then missed 16-19. Not sure what happened. I emailed Ian Austen and he forwarded my email to Bob to have them corrected.

M.
results are posted now...Spunout
Oct 22, 2003 11:05 AM
well, I could not do worse than my first outing, this was my second so 30/58 is okay for an event for which I have no goals (supposed to be just fun, but is becoming more fun, serious, intense, and expensive!).