RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


diacompe 287v's(7 posts)

diacompe 287v'sctisevn
Sep 29, 2003 11:40 AM
I switched from ergos to barcons a week ago and threw the only pair of aero levers I had on in place of the ergos. after riding a couple times I noticed the levers felt like crap. so..not seeing a model # on them, I poked around online to see what they were and it appears theyre 287v's. they came off a redline I had with mini v's so I guess that makes sense. my problem is, I use avid shortys. is there any kind of adjustment that can be done to make them pull the right amount of cable? or should I just replce them?
re: diacompe 287v'sTWD
Sep 29, 2003 1:38 PM
I'm not sure if there is any ways to change the cable pull on those levers. Seems like most people are trying to change their leverage in the opposite direction.

The first question I would ask is...are you sure you like the Avid Shortys? They howl like friggin' mad unless you are one of the lucky few that has come up with a do it yourself remedy to shut them up.

If it was my bike, I would keep the 287V levers, and ditch the shortys for some V-Brakes. Of course, I'm a bigger guy and ride my cx bike almost exclusively in really wet conditions, so the added power and decreased modulation of the V brakes aren't an issue for me.

My $0.02
v'sctisevn
Sep 29, 2003 1:47 PM
yeah, I thought about that. not for very long though. I havent had a problem with my shortys making noise, sometimes the front but only after its been through water. I don't like vees anyways, Ive got no practical or functional reason for my opinion, I just prefer cantis. Ill probly just replace them (suggestions?) and try and unload the 287s in the marketplace or something. more spending and wrenching...dammit!
Brake suggestions?TWD
Sep 29, 2003 2:13 PM
I've heard lots of people on this board recomend Paul's Canti's. Not a cheap options, but supposed to work pretty well.

I've got some opinions regarding brakes, but the conditions I subject my cx bike to are probably far outside of the norm of what most riders do. So, my opinions aren't very useful to many people.

My first pick would be Disc brakes. No disc moutns on my bike, so that is out. Dang, they stop good wet or dry. A little extra weight won't kill me.

Second choice would be Magura HS-66 hydraulic rim brakes. Good modulation (well on my tandem at least), the most power you'll get out of any rim brake. Not light, not cheap, the levers are ugly, and you can't run STI or Ergo.

Third Choice. V-brakes and travel Agents. Had these in the parts bin (off of my road tandem which now has HS-66s). They work. Finicky, but work much better than canti's in the wet.

Fourth Choice - Old XTR canti's. Look nice, fairly light, and free (from the parts bin). Don't stop me very well (i.e. at all in the wet)

Fifth and Final Choice - Avid Shorty's that came with my bike. Seem to work, but the howling was so bad that I found myself not using my brakes rather than listening to the racket. Not safe for commuting.

Function over form always, and low cost whenever possible.
I meant lever suggestionsctisevn
Sep 29, 2003 2:30 PM
Im not planning on replacing the shortys anytime soon, if I do itll be with some mr grumpys or if I stumble across a bag of gold doubloons some empellas or pauls.
what I meant was lever suggestions, as the ones Ive got wont appear to work. Ive got no shimano bits on the bike yet and Id hate to ruin that by throwing shimano levers on.
I agree wholeheartedly with the function over form creed, thus my desire to stay with the cantis. guess Ive just had better luck with them than most.
I meant lever suggestionskilgoretrout
Sep 29, 2003 8:49 PM
I slapped a set of Shimano R400's on my recent budget build, and they seem to work really well with the Avid Shorty 4's. My only gripe would be when they rattle whenever the going gets rough. 1-800-BIKEMAN (no relation or affiliation) seems to have the best price. Here is the link: http://www.bikeman.com/miva/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=BR4850&Category_Code=COMPBRKLEVRD
re: diacompe 287v'sarctic hawk
Sep 29, 2003 2:26 PM
I cheated by pulling the cable to the spot I liked & then tightening the nut on the brake to that particular point. If I ever break the 287s, I have a new pair of 105 SLRs at home just waiting in the wings

Arctic Hawk