RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Reviews/Feelings on VooDoo Limba frame(12 posts)

Reviews/Feelings on VooDoo Limba framedonkekus
Sep 23, 2003 1:14 PM
I am thinking about picking up a VooDoo Limba frameset and I was curious if anyone had ridden one and what they thought...

Pros? Cons? Anything will help!
Thanks!
two frames...reed
Sep 23, 2003 1:26 PM
I've had two limba frames, found them light, responsive, comfortable on and off road but not very durable. Scandium bikes really ride like a dream. Are you planning to race cross on it or use it as a do-all type bike? It is a great CX race bike but would probably not last as a do-all bike.

I broke two frames, one crumpled in a crash the replacement cracked at the drive-side chain stay (after not quite a year of do-all use). Too bad, since I loved the way it rode...
two frames...donkekus
Sep 23, 2003 1:38 PM
I don't ride hard at all. It will be primarily a "road" bike. But I am buying it used, should I be wary? Any problem areas?

I guess it will be a do-all bike, but again I don't ride hard at all and I weigh a buck 40 soaking wet.

Now that they have somewhat "gone under" what would the warranty be like? Replacement? But how? Hmm....

If you don't mind me asking, how much did you pay for the frameset?
VooDoo Adieutriangleforge
Sep 24, 2003 7:06 AM
They've more than somewhat gone under, VooDoo is no more -- though I think someone has bought the name and was (at least for a while) paying the bill to keep the website up, though that's now gone as well.

Which means that the original owner's warranty is long since disappeared into the ether, and yours as a second (or more) owner is even more nonexistent than before VooDoo Cycles disappeared, if that's possible.

That's not to say don't do it -- I love my VooDoo Wazoo, and wouldn't mind adding a Limba -- but be sure to take that into account in the purchase. Look it over thoroughly in advance, make certain you can get your money back if you're buying it via Ebay or elsewise, or if neither is possible, don't spend more than you can justify for a maybe great, maybe unrideable bike frame.

VooDoo's disappearance cuts both ways on the purchase price -- no vendor support at any cost should push the price down, but the cachet of a great bike they're not making any more will push it back up again.

Cheers & Good Luck!
VooDoo Adieudonkekus
Sep 24, 2003 7:20 AM
How does $500 sound for an almost complete (need wheels, cranks, brakes), barely ridden, Limba?
VooDoo bubbles to the surface again...Chicago_Steve
Sep 24, 2003 8:11 AM
The recently made a showing at Eurobike and supposedly plan to go on sale in 2004



Joe Murray is still associated


Not sure if they will honor old warranties but news is starting to come out of Europe on them... (see post below from MTBR

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.efcc9d2
Ahhhh, let it be true...The Walrus
Sep 24, 2003 8:44 AM
I seem to recall rumors like this about a year ago, but this looks like something might actually come of it. Now, if only they'll go back to using 853 for the Wazoo, and bring back the generous, sloping top tube. My dream bike!
VooDoo Adieu-couldn't have said it betterreed
Sep 24, 2003 9:07 AM
my thoughts exactly... now if only they would come back in 2004 and warranty my cracked frame.
VooDoo's comebackJan Gerrit Klok
Sep 24, 2003 12:07 PM
I'm in talks with VooDoo, running for a distributorship here in Europe. Surpise!! The brand never disappeared in Asia, just the Western world where the VooDoo management had no control. They didn't go bankrupt, just seiced to exist.
I'm a total sucker their new model, the Dambala. A glitter green 29" frame out of Reynolds 853 with Kona Unit '04 style sliding (disc) dropouts. For singlespeed, geared riding or simply chainstaylength adjustment. Me wanna so baaad!
Cloxxi~did you get a photo of that????unclefuzzy_ss
Sep 24, 2003 12:26 PM
Or your compatriot that is? All those other pics, and NO Dambala! 'supwitdat?!

martini
I suk, Ididn't carry a cameraJan Gerrit Klok
Sep 24, 2003 1:30 PM
and my colleagues (my bearded idol is in those pics) didn't notice or didn't care. It's basically a Bizango style frame with Kona dropouts. Must be the same factory.
Photos from Eurobike.hummu
Sep 24, 2003 6:49 PM
Posted on . Navigate to the Shows page.

The dark blue frame on the bottom seems to be a cross frame. I really like the head badges.